Customer Reviews for

The Secret Hour

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    GREAT ENDING

    THIS IS MY FIRST LUANNE RICE BOOK. A SUSPENSEFUL STORY WELL WRITTEN. MAYBE A LITTLE LONG IN SOME WAYS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Good read

    I like Luanne Rice and enjoy her books as I did this one. It's a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    N Luanne rice is ny Luanne Rice is my new favorite

    Romance, family, suspence, fiction but yet could be non fiction. Good story a real page turner. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    fast paced mystery a good read!

    I like the author and this is a great mystery!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good story but stretches the imagination at times.

    The ending was very good and suspenseful but left a lot of "loose ends". The story line with Willa ended too abruptly---left you wondering what exactly went on and what the plans for her were. Both the children, especially Teddy, were depicted as far too mature for their ages. Other than that, I enjoyed the book. Also recommend her book "Summer Light" and almost anything by Nora Roberts or Sandra Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Be prepared to suspend your disbelief!

    I am not a frequent reader of romantic suspense, so maybe this is just characteristic of the genre, but I had a hard time with the number of coincidences upon which the plot depends. Too many people just happen to be in the critical places at the critical times for my tastes. Some serious topics are addressed, such as the role of defending guilty supects in our concepts of justice, and the impact crime has on the families of victims. These topics are handled well, if a little preachy. But the romatic angle clouds them and keeps the book firmly in the realm of lightweight entertainment fiction, in my mind. What would John's reaction to the victim's family have been if the scruffy-looking brother had sought his help instead of the attractive and available sister? Even John's pillar-of-integrity father acknowledges that John's lapse is understandable in light of how appealing the young woman is. Love, family values, and judicial integrity are important, but it seems to be sex appeal that drives the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    I Never Get Tired of Reading LuAnne Rice!

    I loved this book, and couldn't put it down. I'm a huge fan of this author, but this book was a bit different than usual, but in this case, different was great. I enjoyed the suspense between the characters John and Kate...where was their relationship heading? The community reaction to John's work...appalling! I loved the kids in all of their honesty. Kate was a wonderful character that made you believe in the human spirit and its' willingness to pursue that which is important namely family. I couldn't have asked for a better read, unless it was another one of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    Texas Reader

    FINALLY - my feeling when finished reading this book. A good storyline, good characters, but much, too much 'filler' paragraphs to 'get through' to follow the basic story!!! I will give Ms. Rice another chance to prove she continues to write exciting, interesting novels!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    ~~Great Book~~

    I have ready many books in the time I have been in school. Many good, many bad. This is one of the good ones. I couldn't figure out who the copycat killer was for my life. Def. a must read for Rice fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    Spelling Binding

    You will love this book..I did. very well written and arranged in a way that you can keep up with the story. You will be drawn into it..as I read the part where they are in the prison talking with a killer..as he is describing himself...I had to go check my doors to see if they were locked...It gave me a weird sense of unease.I guess because Kate and I have a lot in common..I connected with the story and even more since I also live on the east coast where the story takes place. Great ending. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    A Sleeper... Until the End!

    Suspenseful... but you have to work to get there. I almost set the book down for good on a number of occasions. Keep reading, the final 30 pages are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Great book

    delightful. family and finding love same time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    Suspensful

    So far Luanne Rice's best novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    excellent

    one of the most thilling stories i have read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    powerful legal romantic thriller

    In Connecticut, defense attorney John O¿Rourke struggles with his moral dilemma of defending some of society¿s worse monsters to insure they have a fair trail and the requirements of a single dad raising two youngsters by himself. The townsfolk treat John like a pariah especially with his current case, defending Greg Merrill, the Breakwater Killer. The latest incident is a brick tossed threw his kitchen window that two cops blithely write it off as if John was the criminal. Immediately following the brick incident, Kate Harris arrives at the O¿Rourke residence. She wants John to ascertain whether his infamous client killed her sister, who vanished without the body recovered. As Kate helps the O¿Rourkes heal from the loss of their mother, she falls in love with the trio. The kids welcome her into their lives, but John is reluctant as he feels guilt over his spouse¿s cheating while he overly worked on defending the dregs. THE SECRET HOUR is a powerful legal romantic thriller that is at its best when John, living up to the Dershowitz credo that a ¿good lawyer should want to take the hardest cases, the most unpopular defendants¿, must defend himself and his children from his neighbors. Readers will feel his strength from the start when John thinks back on an incident at an ice cream parlor with his young daughter involving the condemnation by a senior citizen. The story line is fast-paced yet obvious, but romantic suspense fans and legal thriller buffs will want to read this close look at the toll of defending death row convicts on the personal lives of an attorney and his family. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2