Customer Reviews for

The Secret Hour (Midnighters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

Jessica Day has just moved to Bixby, Oklahoma from Chicago with her family. Still trying to find her niche in the local highschool, she's noticed by a group of students who are very different from your average teens. Not to mention that her dreams at night are becoming ...
Jessica Day has just moved to Bixby, Oklahoma from Chicago with her family. Still trying to find her niche in the local highschool, she's noticed by a group of students who are very different from your average teens. Not to mention that her dreams at night are becoming very, very vivid--such as the fact that for one hour at midnight, time seems to literally stand still.

Such is the life of the Midnighters, a group of teens who were born at midnight and have the ability to see the "blue time", the twenty-fifth hour of the day where time stands still for everyone else. Each of the group has a special power, both in and out of the blue time--Rex is a Seer, Dess is a Polymath, Melissa is a Mindcaster, and Jonathan is an Acrobat.

Jess is, of course, skeptical at first that time is actually standing still, and that her new rag-tag group of friends has special powers. But soon unmistakeable proof arises that the arrival of Jessica Day in Bixby is causing change--the creatures of the blue time are becoming dangerous and seem to want her dead.

Jess needs to find out her own special power before something bad happens to the town and it's midnight inhabitants. As the group struggle to keep the night creatures away, it's up to Jess to discover which power she possesses that's making everyone so nervous.

I LOVED this book! A totally original concept, Scott Westerfeld has created a series with truly interesting characters and crystal-clear visualization. I can't wait to read the next book in the series, to see where the Midnighters go from here.

Definitely a recommended read!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

3.5 Stars

I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed ou...
I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed out. I hope that Book 2 in the series provides a more robust plot-line and answers questions from this book.

posted by Annibebe on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Jessica Day has just moved to Bixby, Oklahoma from Chicago with her family. Still trying to find her niche in the local highschool, she's noticed by a group of students who are very different from your average teens. Not to mention that her dreams at night are becoming very, very vivid--such as the fact that for one hour at midnight, time seems to literally stand still. <BR/><BR/>Such is the life of the Midnighters, a group of teens who were born at midnight and have the ability to see the "blue time", the twenty-fifth hour of the day where time stands still for everyone else. Each of the group has a special power, both in and out of the blue time--Rex is a Seer, Dess is a Polymath, Melissa is a Mindcaster, and Jonathan is an Acrobat. <BR/><BR/>Jess is, of course, skeptical at first that time is actually standing still, and that her new rag-tag group of friends has special powers. But soon unmistakeable proof arises that the arrival of Jessica Day in Bixby is causing change--the creatures of the blue time are becoming dangerous and seem to want her dead. <BR/><BR/>Jess needs to find out her own special power before something bad happens to the town and it's midnight inhabitants. As the group struggle to keep the night creatures away, it's up to Jess to discover which power she possesses that's making everyone so nervous. <BR/><BR/>I LOVED this book! A totally original concept, Scott Westerfeld has created a series with truly interesting characters and crystal-clear visualization. I can't wait to read the next book in the series, to see where the Midnighters go from here. <BR/><BR/>Definitely a recommended read!

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SECRET HOUR

    Yet another YA science-fantasy winner from Westerfeld, with appeal well beyond the target audience, if your reviewer is a fair guide.
    "Jessica Day moves into the small town of Bixby from Chicago, and although she hits it off with the "in" crowd, she also falls in with a bunch of weirdos who don't like the daylight, wear black a lot and are covered in metal jewelry. In the middle of the night she wakes up and discovers the world asleep with the exception of her weirdo chums and weird black slithery things..."
    I know, it sounds sort of hokey and comic-booky, but actually works pretty well. The kids are fun, the action is fast & furious, and the pages turn most satisfactorily. There's even a nice touch of moral ambiguity in the wrapup volume. The story is set in Bixby, Oklahoma, now a suburb of Tulsa. I grew up about an hour away, and the problem with Westerfeld's Bixby is, it doesn't much resemble the real eastern Oklahoma. Westerfeld has numerous references to desert and salt flats, but this part of Oklahoma is pretty well-watered -- the native vegetation is a scrub-oak & pine forest. This won't affect your enjoyment of the story, really, but I have no idea why Westerfeld used a setting that would fit better in west Texas or New Mexico. Curious, seemingly pointless, and annoying. All in all a fantastic read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Decent Read

    I started reading this book right after finishing the Twilight Saga (which completely took over my life). I think that Secret Hour would have been much better for me if I would have waited a little longer to start reading it. That being said, I did enjoy the book and have found that the second book in the trilogy, Touching Darkness, is even better than the first. So if you just get through Secret Hour, you will not be disappointed with what's to come.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars

    I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed out. I hope that Book 2 in the series provides a more robust plot-line and answers questions from this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved This Book!!!

    I absolutely loved reading The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld! It is so absorbing and full of suspense and action. I did a book report on this book, and nearly EVERYBODY in my class wanted to read it. Some of them did, and they thought it was awesome, too! This is a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC!!

    This book is very suspenseful and sure enough kept me at the edge of my seat!! After reading this book u can't help but wonder what is going to happen next!! READ THIS BOOK!! Scott Westerfeld is a brilliant writer!! if u fell in love with uglies, pretties, specials and extras then u r sure to enjoy this series!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    The Midnighters; The Secret Hour

    In the first book of the Midnighters, the secret hour, we are introduced to a group of teenagers in Bixby, Oklahoma. They are the only ones that can move in the secret hour of midnight, the only humans any way. There are bad guys of course, the Slithers and the Darklings. Normally they leave the Midnighters alone to go about their business but with Jessica Day in town, the new Midnighter, the Darklings get increasingly active.
    Scott Westerfeld creates a world in which total opposites have to unite. Each Midnighter has a special ability to help them fight off the ancient creatures of the secret hour. When the Seer, the Polymath, the Acrobat, and the Mindcaster come together they are nearly unbeatable. Although working as a team is no walk in the park for the five Midnighters. Agreeing to disagree is usually the only thing they all agree on.
    If you plan to step into Scott Westerfeld's world of midnight, be prepared with stainless steel, thirteen letter words, and a love for adventure and teenage romance. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat from page one of the Secret Hour, through Touching Darkness, and to the last page of Blue Noon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Love it

    O love this book i read uglies pretties specials and extras i loved them so i started this series and it is awesome so far it is a great read for middle schoolers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE SECRET HOUR

    Jessica Day moves to Bixby, Oklahoma where time freezes at midnight. Only Midnighters can see the secret hour. Each of the Midnighters has certain powers-Rex is a Seer, Melissa is a Mindcaster, Jonathan is an Acrobat, and Dess is a Polymath. New girl Jess has no idea what her powers are but the darklings that hunt the secret hour want her dead because of it. Jess and her new friends try to find Jess's power before the darklings destroy her. THE SECRET HOUR is a great Scott Westerfeld book full of action, horror, friendship, and love. Can't wait to read the rest of the series to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Not So Great. . .

    I started out thinking this would be a great read since I absolutely fell in love with the Uglies series, it was amazing. But once I actually started reading this book, I just have to say i was greatly disappointed. It was boring, the action was awful, i found myself getting lost and had to keep going back and seeing what happened before. The characters are extremely dull. Scott Westerfeld wrote a great series with Uglies, and he should of continued it, wrote a spin off of it or whatever, but this book was not great. The romance wasnt great either. . .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    pretty good

    the book was good for what it was but not the best westerfeld book ever i definately liked the uglies series better. I would recomend it though I just hope the rest of the series is better but I will be reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent Book

    Midnighters was an excellent book, that definitely kept up your interest. While I can't say it was the best book I've ever read, it was still very, very good and most surely worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    When I first read the reviews on this book on amazon I was worried that it would be a bit too much of a horror story. Now that I have read it though, I either like horror books or it is not at all horror. This is a wonderful story about a girl who moves to a new town and discovers that she has a special power that lets her go into a secret hour of the day. I would recommend this story to anyone who likes fantasy stories that are a bit scary.

    For other books that have the same genre try the books that I have recommended on the left.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    an interesting book

    i liked it. I love sci-fi and this was an interesting concept. The only thing i was disappointed in was that the characters werent fully developed. I didnt feel like they were described enough and fleshed out. I couldnt connect with them. Inspite of that, the story was good and fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Midnighters is one of the best books ever

    I loved this book. The Blue Hour was really cool and kind of creepy, with all the frozen people and the darklings. Dess was my favorite character, but Jonathan had the coolest powers, even if they only worked at midnight. I liked how they couldmake weapons by just giving a clean peice of steel a thirteen letter name. As a writer, I'm very jealous that Scott Westerfeld thought of this story before me, but I'm not sure I could have done it justice. The characters and the scenery were very vivid, making it really easy to see what was happening with great detail. I would definitely read this book again, which is rare for me. This was an excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    excellent book

    i am a huge fan of scott westerfeld. i started with the uglies series and every book since then has gotten better and better. this book seemed more fantasy than the uglies or peeps series but it was definatly as good as them if not better. it only took me a day to read it because i couldn't put it down. it was fast-paced, suspenseful, and addictive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    simply edgy

    bold and creative! dont start if you dont have the time to read it all! you wont be able to put it down. literally. i read it in a day! and i read it again the next day!... great composition, and an amazing narration. it brings you right to the scene with its VIVID imagery. Im hoping for a movie! IT's a MUST READ!!! Westerfeld made the list of my favorites! DONT MISS OUT! im definitely going back for the next book of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    He does it yet again!

    I have to admit I am a huge Scott westerfeld fan. He does it again with this beautifully written novel about young teenagers just trying to understand the midnight hour and its secerts. He has a wonderful way of writing. This novel is breath-taking, fast-paced with surprises around every corner, it is almost impossible to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Now this is a concept you don't hear about. This Australian auth

    Now this is a concept you don't hear about. This Australian author blew me away in junior high with this series. With time frozen at midnight, some teens fight what goes &quot;bump in the night.&quot; Westerfeld's writing is simple, but clear, effective and makes you want to read more. If you want to read a fresh take on young adult fiction, check out this series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my FAVORITE series!!! its such and interesting, creepy, e

    One of my FAVORITE series!!! its such and interesting, creepy, exciting book! w/ a ton of cool powers! &amp; a great plot You will always want to know what will happen next, if you like dystopian fiction this book is perfecto.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19