Customer Reviews for

The Secret Hour (Midnighters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

Jessica Day has just moved to Bixby, Oklahoma from Chicago with her family. Still trying to find her niche in the local highschool, she's noticed by a group of students who are very different from your average teens. Not to mention that her dreams at night are becoming ...
Jessica Day has just moved to Bixby, Oklahoma from Chicago with her family. Still trying to find her niche in the local highschool, she's noticed by a group of students who are very different from your average teens. Not to mention that her dreams at night are becoming very, very vivid--such as the fact that for one hour at midnight, time seems to literally stand still.

Such is the life of the Midnighters, a group of teens who were born at midnight and have the ability to see the "blue time", the twenty-fifth hour of the day where time stands still for everyone else. Each of the group has a special power, both in and out of the blue time--Rex is a Seer, Dess is a Polymath, Melissa is a Mindcaster, and Jonathan is an Acrobat.

Jess is, of course, skeptical at first that time is actually standing still, and that her new rag-tag group of friends has special powers. But soon unmistakeable proof arises that the arrival of Jessica Day in Bixby is causing change--the creatures of the blue time are becoming dangerous and seem to want her dead.

Jess needs to find out her own special power before something bad happens to the town and it's midnight inhabitants. As the group struggle to keep the night creatures away, it's up to Jess to discover which power she possesses that's making everyone so nervous.

I LOVED this book! A totally original concept, Scott Westerfeld has created a series with truly interesting characters and crystal-clear visualization. I can't wait to read the next book in the series, to see where the Midnighters go from here.

Definitely a recommended read!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

3.5 Stars

I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed ou...
I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed out. I hope that Book 2 in the series provides a more robust plot-line and answers questions from this book.

posted by Annibebe on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars

    I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed out. I hope that Book 2 in the series provides a more robust plot-line and answers questions from this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    The Midnighters; The Secret Hour

    In the first book of the Midnighters, the secret hour, we are introduced to a group of teenagers in Bixby, Oklahoma. They are the only ones that can move in the secret hour of midnight, the only humans any way. There are bad guys of course, the Slithers and the Darklings. Normally they leave the Midnighters alone to go about their business but with Jessica Day in town, the new Midnighter, the Darklings get increasingly active.
    Scott Westerfeld creates a world in which total opposites have to unite. Each Midnighter has a special ability to help them fight off the ancient creatures of the secret hour. When the Seer, the Polymath, the Acrobat, and the Mindcaster come together they are nearly unbeatable. Although working as a team is no walk in the park for the five Midnighters. Agreeing to disagree is usually the only thing they all agree on.
    If you plan to step into Scott Westerfeld's world of midnight, be prepared with stainless steel, thirteen letter words, and a love for adventure and teenage romance. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat from page one of the Secret Hour, through Touching Darkness, and to the last page of Blue Noon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE SECRET HOUR

    Jessica Day moves to Bixby, Oklahoma where time freezes at midnight. Only Midnighters can see the secret hour. Each of the Midnighters has certain powers-Rex is a Seer, Melissa is a Mindcaster, Jonathan is an Acrobat, and Dess is a Polymath. New girl Jess has no idea what her powers are but the darklings that hunt the secret hour want her dead because of it. Jess and her new friends try to find Jess's power before the darklings destroy her. THE SECRET HOUR is a great Scott Westerfeld book full of action, horror, friendship, and love. Can't wait to read the rest of the series to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I read the Uglies series and thought I would give this series a

    I read the Uglies series and thought I would give this series a try. The story itself is interesting but it was not as interesting to me when I read it. It wasn't so boring or plain that I couldn't finish the book, because I did finish the book in 6 hours, but compared to other series where I laughed a lot and found the characters compelling... it just wasn't that. I think if this book were to be a movie it may be better in that form. I hope the 2nd book is better because I don't know if I can push myself through this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Soa dry

    This is a good quick read but way to many slow an dry parts kind of like a good chunk of uglies or well a chapter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good

    In the town of Bixby, OK time stops for an hour every midnight. During this time, creatures of the night known as darklings come out of their daylight hiding. But the secret hour is not just inhabited by these creatures; a select few humans have the ability to roam the still streets, they call themselves Midnighters. Each Midnighter has a special ability: Mindcaster, Polymath, Acrobat, Seer. Newcomer Jessica Day finds out with the help of 3 mysterious kids at school that she is one of them. Jessica learns of the blue world that exists at midnight and the creatures that haunt it. Unfortunately for Jessica, these creatures want her dead. Finding out for the first time of this fantastic world, Jessica does not know her own power and is unable to protect herself. Banded together, the Midnighters protect Jessica and help her discover her hidden power. A great blend of thrills, suspense, excitement, and drama Midnighters is sure to please young adults everywhere. The story is a bit shallow, writing very simple, nothing too deep, not very challenging. Characters are well-developed. Fast read, not too detailed, nothing mind-boggling to get you thinking. The math and numbers and the magic surrounding them is really intriguing though. An easy read but definitely entertaining. The best parts are at midnight, everything exciting happens then of course. The end is especially good. I would recommend this to very young readers, no one over the age of 13 though. I enjoyed it and kind of want to read the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It wasn't great, but it wasn't horrible

    This book was ok. I read really fast, but this book took almost a whole month to finish. I had trouble gettin into it. The kids' powers were a little weird. They weren't your regular powers you already know of from other books or tv shows. I wouldn't have finished this book if I didn't have a pet peeve about finishing things. Scott Westerfeld is a good author, but I just couldn't really get into this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original concept, great storytelling, but everything else just seems subpar...

    Truth be told, I went into this book with a mission to love it. I bought all three books of the trilogy together and I only do that when I think I'm really going to love the series. Now, while I can say that it held my interest--or some of it--I don't feel like the mission was truly fulfilled.

    The main plot of the book is original. The protagonist, Jessica, moves into a new town and starts to realize strange things that happens at midnight, like glimmering, liquid diamonds floating in the night air and what-not. During this lost time of midnight, she discovers that she isn't alone. Unfortunately, she has to learn the facts the hard way.

    The characters are all colorful. They serve a purpose or a label(in a very literal term, actually). Jessica is the protagonist so, for the most part, she's the sane one. Among the list of friends are as-normal-as-it-gets Dess, not-so-normal Rex, not-so-sane Melissa, and the cliched bad-boy-with-a-heart-of-gold Jonathan(who doesn't serve a purpose until halfway through the book).

    The storytelling is actually pretty decent. The pacing feels just about right and third-person is quite humorous when need be. The detail is exceptional and the atmosphere is set up right from the beginning. I honestly have no complaints.

    My problems mostly come in when I talk about relevancy. Not in the sense that I felt that certain details were irrelevant but more because I felt like I didn't know WHY some details were relevant. There are some points in the story where you'd think something will serve a purpose but it proves not to have changed anything. But, in all fairness, I've only read the first book in the trilogy. Maybe this plot holes will be filled in the one of the next two books.

    Another thing I gotta say didn't fit right with me was the massive use of math. Sometimes you'd swear you were reading a math text book. Not that it bothered me, exactly. I like learning facts when reading a book but most of it was just for show. Math, on its own, is actually a pretty huge part of the plot. Then again, "thinking" isn't exactly a favorite hobby for everyone so some people may starting turning away with their tales between their legs after getting to a certain part in the book.

    For the most part, I feel as if the book was short-handed if not exactly average. I have the other two books already lined up and I plan on getting through them very soon. Hopefully I leave a much happier review for those two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2