Customer Reviews for

The Secret Hour (Midnighters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

Jessica Day has just moved to Bixby, Oklahoma from Chicago with her family. Still trying to find her niche in the local highschool, she's noticed by a group of students who are very different from your average teens. Not to mention that her dreams at night are becoming ...
Jessica Day has just moved to Bixby, Oklahoma from Chicago with her family. Still trying to find her niche in the local highschool, she's noticed by a group of students who are very different from your average teens. Not to mention that her dreams at night are becoming very, very vivid--such as the fact that for one hour at midnight, time seems to literally stand still.

Such is the life of the Midnighters, a group of teens who were born at midnight and have the ability to see the "blue time", the twenty-fifth hour of the day where time stands still for everyone else. Each of the group has a special power, both in and out of the blue time--Rex is a Seer, Dess is a Polymath, Melissa is a Mindcaster, and Jonathan is an Acrobat.

Jess is, of course, skeptical at first that time is actually standing still, and that her new rag-tag group of friends has special powers. But soon unmistakeable proof arises that the arrival of Jessica Day in Bixby is causing change--the creatures of the blue time are becoming dangerous and seem to want her dead.

Jess needs to find out her own special power before something bad happens to the town and it's midnight inhabitants. As the group struggle to keep the night creatures away, it's up to Jess to discover which power she possesses that's making everyone so nervous.

I LOVED this book! A totally original concept, Scott Westerfeld has created a series with truly interesting characters and crystal-clear visualization. I can't wait to read the next book in the series, to see where the Midnighters go from here.

Definitely a recommended read!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

3.5 Stars

I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed ou...
I purchased this book because I love Scott Westerfeld's writing, and I was hoping that this series would be as good as other's of his that I have read. So far, it's not looking too good. The majority of the characters are unlikable and the plot is not fully fleshed out. I hope that Book 2 in the series provides a more robust plot-line and answers questions from this book.

posted by Annibebe on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Decent Read

    I started reading this book right after finishing the Twilight Saga (which completely took over my life). I think that Secret Hour would have been much better for me if I would have waited a little longer to start reading it. That being said, I did enjoy the book and have found that the second book in the trilogy, Touching Darkness, is even better than the first. So if you just get through Secret Hour, you will not be disappointed with what's to come.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    pretty good

    the book was good for what it was but not the best westerfeld book ever i definately liked the uglies series better. I would recomend it though I just hope the rest of the series is better but I will be reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent Book

    Midnighters was an excellent book, that definitely kept up your interest. While I can't say it was the best book I've ever read, it was still very, very good and most surely worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    When I first read the reviews on this book on amazon I was worried that it would be a bit too much of a horror story. Now that I have read it though, I either like horror books or it is not at all horror. This is a wonderful story about a girl who moves to a new town and discovers that she has a special power that lets her go into a secret hour of the day. I would recommend this story to anyone who likes fantasy stories that are a bit scary.

    For other books that have the same genre try the books that I have recommended on the left.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    an interesting book

    i liked it. I love sci-fi and this was an interesting concept. The only thing i was disappointed in was that the characters werent fully developed. I didnt feel like they were described enough and fleshed out. I couldnt connect with them. Inspite of that, the story was good and fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    The Secret Hour MIDNIGHTERS

    This entertaining thrill tide of a book is one of the best by award winning author Scott Westerfield.I highly eencourage gret and young readers to read this.This great and mysterious novel is about a coyrage youn girl thats noy your averae teen she is a midnighter. Thanks for reading this review it was only written by a twelve year old but I hop you enjoyed and van look past all my bad grammer and spelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Scott Westerfeld Fans Should Pick This Up If you're a fan of th

    Scott Westerfeld Fans Should Pick This Up

    If you're a fan of the author then this title won't disappoint. Its teenage-high school drama meets the paranormal. I know that there are a lot of titles with that premise but the "Secret Hour" stands out as not being annoying with the melodrama or overbearing with its story and characters. It's a good easy to read book that ANYONE would enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good read during the week.

    I read this book in an entire day and loved it. Some parts were a little dry but overall it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Loooooovvvveee

    This is a great read. Love all his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Secret Hour- Good Book

    This book is about a group of teenagers that can move at the hour of midnight. The first 60 or so pages, I set down the book. It got boring to me and I just couldn't stand it. Only after not being able to read any other books, did I once again opened it on my Nook. As I read more, I realized I had just not gotten to the good part. The Secret Hour is a good book and I would recommend it to almost anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    If you like supernatural high intensity action, with a few sides of love interest this book is soooo for you! Jessica and pals rocked my midnight blue world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Looooove Scott Westerfeld

    Scott must never die so he can write books forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    A Strange Story, But A Good One Nonetheless

    The Secret Hour by Scott westerfeld, the first installment of the Midnighters Series, starts out in a seemingly normal town of Bixby, Oklahoma. All seems normal, until Jessica Day, the new girl at Bixby High, starts to have strange dreams. She finds out that she is a Midnighter. A person who was born at midnight, who is able to see a special secret hour of the day, known as blue time. But everything in the blue time is not as it seems. I found this very intruiging (sorry if that last word is spelled wrong), and Scott Westerfeld is one of my favorite authors. I think that he has done it once again. He has me hooked, and I cannot wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    The Midnighters by Scott Westerfield

    My favorite read this summer was The Midnighters by Scott Westerfield. It was a science fiction novel that was recommended on the middle school summer read website so I took a chance.
    It starts when strange things happen at midnight in the town of Bixby, Oklahoma. At midnight for one our time freezes and no one and nothing can move. For that one secret hour each night, the town belongs to the dark creatures that haunt the shadows. Only a small group of people know about the secret hour - only they are free to move about the midnight time. These people call themselves Midnighters. Each one has a different power that is strongest at midnight: Seer, Mindcaster, Acrobat, Polymath. For years the Midnighters and the dark creatures have shared the secret hour, uneasily avoiding one another. All that changes when the new girl with an unmistakable midnight aura appears at Bixby High School. Jessica Day is not an outsider like the other Midnighters. She acts perfectly normal in every way. But it soon becomes clear that the dark creatures sense a hidden power in Jessica ... and they're determined to stop her before she can use it.
    It has some interesting craft that shows a suspenseful and mysterious tone, and very visually descriptive language. I rate it an 4 out of 5 stars for my list of great reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Fun Book

    Very entertaining.
    A good beginning to a very captivating series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm getting chillls...

    This book had a unique touch to it; partially due to the very unique concept, but also due to the way the story was carried out. You get the vague feeling of a somewhat disturbing dream - one of those that isn't quite a nightmare, but still just not quite right. The beginning was a bit perplexing, but it wasn't one of those books that makes you go, "What??" through the entire thing. I enjoyed this book and hope to read the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Midnighters 1

    SECRET HOUR really left me wanting more! It's a quick read - something I recomend to read on a Saturday afternoon or to kill time before school!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book was thrilling and yes, it was a slow start for me but when i got into it i really couldn't put it down :'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Midnighters Trilogy is a brilliant book. The characters are well thought out and the plot, too. Scott hasn't let us down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    A Must Read

    The Midnighters series is a perfect summer read. Once you start, you will never be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5