Customer Reviews for

The Secret Knowledge: On the Dismantling of American Culture

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A must read for all Liberals!

Wow! - What a powerful book. I have read many other books by new converts to conservatism but I think this book will really speak to liberals. It is beautifully written in a manner that will appeal to the liberal intelligentsia while at the same time preaching to the ...
Wow! - What a powerful book. I have read many other books by new converts to conservatism but I think this book will really speak to liberals. It is beautifully written in a manner that will appeal to the liberal intelligentsia while at the same time preaching to the proverbial conservative choir. I could not put it down. A great gift for any open minded liberal. Welcome aboard Mr. Mamet!

posted by cbiblioholic on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Really?

Was Mamet ever really a "liberal (th a small "l")? Mamet writes as if he were typical "first time" callled into the Rush Limbaugh show, proclaiming "I voted for Obama but now I am a rightwing conservative." Sure and I have some land in the Westbank that I want to sell...
Was Mamet ever really a "liberal (th a small "l")? Mamet writes as if he were typical "first time" callled into the Rush Limbaugh show, proclaiming "I voted for Obama but now I am a rightwing conservative." Sure and I have some land in the Westbank that I want to sell you. His unique minimialist style and subject matters for his plays and movies are all conservative. His movie "Hoffa," for example, who was supporter of Richard Nixon, scourages Kennedy, both Robert and President Kennedy (one the Right's biggest whipping boys).

The book, while well a collection of stylistically well written essays, is a bit dated in history. Using Susan Sontag, as a typical liberal, undermines the main thrust of Mamet's view that liberalism has gone too far in recent years, since Sontag was a liberal critic of the sixties and has been dead for almost a decade.

The other aspect of Mamnet's view is a typical mistake between "liberalism" with a small "l" and "Liberalism" with a big "L." Mamet should not be blamed for this, as it is a typical error of modern neo-con philosophy. He contaminates Marxism with liberal and then with Democrat Party definitions, as if they were interchangeable which they are not. For a artist such as Mamet to abuse and misuse the language as he does in this collection of essays is a bit disturbing to me a reader.

Mamet's Randian philosophy thrives better in a uncontrolled Capitalist. Yet, he wants to have closed borders but open markets. Is America more open than it was 50 years ago. Yes. It is more liberal than it was. No more than it is today.

posted by Edgarfield on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    A must read for all Liberals!

    Wow! - What a powerful book. I have read many other books by new converts to conservatism but I think this book will really speak to liberals. It is beautifully written in a manner that will appeal to the liberal intelligentsia while at the same time preaching to the proverbial conservative choir. I could not put it down. A great gift for any open minded liberal. Welcome aboard Mr. Mamet!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    NAILS IT!!

    The usual carping from Lib reviewers. That's because they can't touch the substance!! Someone has finally, in plain English, made it clear how "mindless" so many people have become. It's going to be hard work to get back to common sense and integrity after so many years of listening to politically correct drivel from the so-called "smart people". Mr. Mamet has my heartiest congratulations on work well done. Concise and effective.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Essential

    Whether you are liberal or conservative, this is an essential read. Mamet does a brilliant job of demonstrating the foundations of his conservative conversion.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inescapably and brutally honest, you will not be able to put Mamet's "The Secret Knowledge" down...

    I think Mamet has done everyone a great service with this unselfish and very brave bellringer. Every human being with a conscience and a belief in fairness hard won, will be buoyed by this work. And every person preoccupied with political correctness, the new socialism and the systematic ridicule of all things Right Wing, should they actually have the good fortune to read this, will be enlightened beyond the slightest doubt, that they are a sorry, pitiful tool. But this is where the re-education begins, as I hope and believe it will, if this book is read by the many individuals who've lost their conscience and ability to think for themselves. Bravo, Mr. Mamet. Bravo.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic book that shoots from the hip.

    Mamet is a great writer. He's done a number of great screenplays, plays and more. With "The Secret Knowledge," he expands his writing into the super-personal story of his life-changing epiphany: He's a conservative!

    The book is a fantastic read, with Mr. Mamet going through the reasons for his transformation from standard Hollywood-liberal to right-leaning man of reason. He explores the biggest differences he sees in how the left and right view the world, making sure to take stabs at the liberal establishment (media, government, Hollywood, and such) along the way.

    Mr. Mamet's change seems to be wholeheartedly organic, with influences from key people (his Rabbi, Dennis Prager, and others), and comes across so very naturally. I remember reading an early pseudo-review of the book (probably in the LA Times- not known for being centrists or conservative) complaining that the book was very light on specifics, references and data to back up Mr. Mamet's claims regarding bias, policy thoughts, and other aspects of the left he disagreed with now. If anything, the book does its best to keep the story going, with plenty of footnotes (mostly anecdotal continuations of a thought) and a very thorough bibliography at the end. Maybe we right-siders take our time to peruse the bibliography and explore other sources of information more than our left-sider counterparts, but anyway, the book is not meant to be a textbook. If this means The Secret Knowledge has less influence on liberal readers in understanding or being influenced by Mr. Mamet's writing, then that'd be a sad reflection on the reader more than the writer.

    Overall, a great book, definitely worth reading regardless of which side of the aisle you side with.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Awesome.

    Brilliantly rationale in presentation and refreshingly direct. This book opened my eyes to the incidious nature of left wing ideology and how it is destroying our culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Beautifully written - not to be missed

    If, like me, you've been longing for a highly thoughtful, intellectually based, yet commonsense defense of conservatism, this is for you. I've always enjoyed Mr. Mamet's work, and my respect for his intellect and talent has increased since reading his outstanding book. If you're conservative and have liberal family and friends who remain mystified about why you hold your beliefs, don't miss this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    A must read for conservatives, uncertain liberals, and politial agnostics

    Eviscerates the liberal "thought" process. Mamet speaks from the perspective of a reformed liberal. His conversion was based on empirical evidence that he could no longer ignore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1