Customer Reviews for

The Secret Language of Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Secret Language of Girls

This is a very good book. I was hooked just by reading the back cover. I even gave this to one of my friends as a birthday gift and she loved it as much as I do. It is a very good story about dealing with friendships and finding yourself. I highly recommend this to all ...
This is a very good book. I was hooked just by reading the back cover. I even gave this to one of my friends as a birthday gift and she loved it as much as I do. It is a very good story about dealing with friendships and finding yourself. I highly recommend this to all of the school girls out there that like a heartwarming story.

posted by Sophie_Spinnett on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book about friendship

Like this book but not my favorite. If u like friendship books, this one is great for u!

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    The Secret Language of Girls

    This is a very good book. I was hooked just by reading the back cover. I even gave this to one of my friends as a birthday gift and she loved it as much as I do. It is a very good story about dealing with friendships and finding yourself. I highly recommend this to all of the school girls out there that like a heartwarming story.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    They've been friends forever, but now they are in sixth grade and something is going wrong. <BR/><BR/>This is the story of many friendships. Anyone who has felt their best friend drifting away will appreciate THE SECRET LANGUAGE OF GIRLS. <BR/><BR/>Kate and Marylin considered each other BFFs, but as sixth grade begins, their friendship is on a downhill slide. First there's Flannery, the worldly seventh grader who moves in down the street. Flannery mysteriously chooses Marylin over Kate, and the slide begins. Marylin and Flannery refuse to speak to Kate and hurl nasty insults her way practically every day. <BR/><BR/>Eventually, Flannery starts hanging out with eighth grade girls and leaves Marylin wondering what happened. It seems like the perfect time for Kate to renew their friendship, but Marylin tries out for and makes the cheerleading squad, and those new friends are just as mean as Flannery. They claim they don't have time for Kate, who isn't allowed to use makeup and prefers basketball to cheerleading. <BR/><BR/>Below the surface of the girls' new acquaintances, both spend time puzzling over how things have gotten so out of control. They both consider confronting the difficult topic, but neither wants to risk rejection. <BR/><BR/>THE SECRET LANGUAGE OF GIRLS offers middle grade readers a chance to experience a crumbling friendship that might very well be like experiences of their very own. This book examines the idea that we often know the right thing to do, but we don't have the courage to take a step in that direction.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    review

    I really liked this book. It shows the ups and downs of friendship. With some books, i read for 5 minutes then close it. With this book i can read it 4 hours!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ahh-maazingg

    i loved this book;; i read it back in 5th gradee.. and now am buying it so i can re-read this story. absoultly amazing book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Wow

    Wow great book i couldnt stop reading it!!!!then i had to read the second one really quick!!!!oh and i like it also because i relate to it.....im the same age as the chariters!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute.....

    I remember when it first came out in 2005.....I was hooked. I finished it all in one day. It's a cute little story.But I hated how marylin and flannery gave her the silent treatment, the worst part is afterwards marylin wants to be kate's friend again and kate acted like everything was fine......They should have made kate a little more independent...It almost seems like Marylin took advantage of Kate just because she is a forgiving person...that part was very frustrating.....also the ending was very confusing...it was a horrible way to end it. But other then that it was a good story and I enjoyed it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    I have read this book sooooo many times and I still love it

    This book captured me from the first paragraph. I have read it numerous times and I still love it. I would definately recommend this book to other kids. Not only is it a great book, but people can also relate to the main characters problems and issues, and they can understand the main characters thoughts and feelings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Great book about friendship

    Like this book but not my favorite. If u like friendship books, this one is great for u!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    it was a pretty good book.

    it was a pretty good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Really cute

    Cute story. I've read only like 3 pages and I love it. You can connect with the characters. Dovey Coe did a great job working with the characters. SHe did the magic to make them interact with you. You'll love this book if you're from 9-12 years old!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    You just have to read the back of the book

    The Secret Language of Girls is the best book I have ever read. When I first saw the book I didn't think I would read it. But I said I'll try it. I was so interested by how amazing it was by the eighth page. I think people in the age group of eleven through twelve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    CHARACTERS COME ALIVE IN THIS READING

    Gifted voice performer Michele Santopietro (with credits on TV's The Sopranos) brings to her reading all the pathos, giggles, insouciance and, yes, downright meanness typical of preteen girls as they struggle to find their place among their peers. Kate and Marylin have been best friends for all of their lives - all 11 years. They live on the same block, have spent countless hours together completely happy in one another's company. Suddenly, the air has changed with the arrival of Flannery and Marylin's interest in being a part of the 'in' crowd at school. It's tough to lose a best pal, even tougher when you can't figure out what in the world has changed her. Nonetheless, Kate soldiers on eventually finding where she belongs in the ever shifting tides of pubescence. This is a story to which all young listeners can relate in one way or another. They'll see themselves and their friends in it - perhaps learning a thing or two. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Looks good

    Hfgcfgdff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Amazing book!!!:)

    I loved thus book so much! It took me right away from the beginning. It is a very interesting friendship book for all ages. But probably mkstly for 6th,7th, and 8th graders.










    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Dear Christian girl,

    First of all, i am so sorry your friend is ignoring you! Believe me, it has happened to me before and i know how awful it feels. Secondly, how long has this been going on, and do you remember doing anything that may have caused this reaction? Let me know if you make any progress. An even though you dont know me, my name is Elizabeth and i am here for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Dear elizabeth

    It started a few months ago. I dont think i did any thing wrong. She keeps acting like she is busy and it is starting to seem like she is making an excuse. And the worst part is she understood me beter than i did. Ok ok mabey that is an excageration but really we where all but sisters and then it is like " Ok i dont want to be her friend any more so i will just ignore her so i dont hurt her i can even make excuses" so a few days ago i told her this" Ok A (that is as close to her name as i get) sorry but i dont want to be your friend any more so bye" i could care less about her feelings she was (i cant belive what i am about to say) acting like a jerk ignoring me like that. Sorry about the rabaling on like that. Reply to Christian Girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Read the second book!!!

    Read the second book its called: The Kind Of Freinds We Used To Be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    To Sam

    Its 18 pages long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Anonymous

    I loved this book. It gives me a glimpse of what it will be like in middle school. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    PLZ TAP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Im geussinf that all the bad reviews are from boys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5