Customer Reviews for

The Secret Language of Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

review

I really liked this book. It shows the ups and downs of friendship. With some books, i read for 5 minutes then close it. With this book i can read it 4 hours!

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book about friendship

Like this book but not my favorite. If u like friendship books, this one is great for u!

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    review

    I really liked this book. It shows the ups and downs of friendship. With some books, i read for 5 minutes then close it. With this book i can read it 4 hours!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    I have read this book sooooo many times and I still love it

    This book captured me from the first paragraph. I have read it numerous times and I still love it. I would definately recommend this book to other kids. Not only is it a great book, but people can also relate to the main characters problems and issues, and they can understand the main characters thoughts and feelings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    it was a pretty good book.

    it was a pretty good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    a reviewer

    Being a sixth grader myself, I thought this book reflected nicely on the ups and downs of friendship, school, and family for someone in middle school. I thought that the characters seemed real and the dilemmas true. I felt the book to be surprisingly in line with the troubles of twelve year olds. However, throughout the book I felt that the author skipped amongst plot lines and extra characters too quickly, keeping the book interesting, but, never having a central problem that was resolved by the end of the story. She touched too lightly on potentially interesting people and sub-plots, making the book seem rushed and unorganized. So overall, I thought this book was sweet, but more of a light read. If you're expecting something pretentious or a truly touching novel, skip it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Such a great book I knew I would love it from the front cover!!!

    This is such a good book. I got this book at my 5th grade Book Sale and I didnt thinkof reading it. Then in 6th grade I actually took the time to read the back cover. The back summary was soo good I kew I would love it. This book really shows to girls that friendships will not last forever. It really relates to girls 11-14.SUCH A GOOD BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Secret Language of Girls was a really good book. I liked it because it was an interesting book, and it always kept me reading. People can relate and understand the stuff that is going in the book, because they might have been through it themselves. The book was about these girls, Kate and Marylin. They have been best friends ever since Marylin moved in on the same street as Kate when they were young. They have been through a lot together and are now going into the sixth grade. But what happens when Marylin thinks that Kate can be a bit babyish and Kate thinks that Marylin is being snobby? Can the girls put their differences aside and be friends, or are they going to let it harm their friendship? I would recommend this book to most girls between the ages of 10-13. It's a fun, and easy book to read. So if you've never read it before then pick up The Secret Language of Girls, and start reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Frances O'Roark Dowell is a great author and all of her books are good. Especially, WHERE I'D LIKE TO BE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Loved This Book

    This was one of the best books that I have ever read. It was touching and a great book about friendship, middle school and snotty girls. I read the first page and I was hooked. It was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    good girls book

    This was a very good book that definitely shows some of the trials and tribulations of the pre-teen years of a girl. The reader can easily relate to the characters as they learn that friendship isn't always the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    it really showed me what a lot of teenage girls go through

    I thought this book was really awsome cause its about to friends who have been best friends their whole lives then they go on to middle school and 1 becomes popular and forgets about her best friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Ending

    It was a great book, all the way through, but the end was very bad. Everything was going on, then it just stopped. It was like the author said, 'Okay, it's getting to long. And stop!' It ended very abruptly. Otherwise it was a very good book, it really reached you, I finished it in 3 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    no boys you wouldnt understand!

    i got this book for a book report i had to do, but, i am so glad i got it because you get so excited about the next part you cant put it down! it tought me a lot about friendship and how important it is to me and to not throw away a great friend just because you are on the cheerleading squad! i have a friend that has changed alot and so i was just thinking of not talking to her anymore because she had a changed life. but then i thought,'why do that when you can still stay friends and talk to her about how much she has changed and how you would like her to intoduce you to some of her new friends!' i think if you are having any problems with a friend or you just want to have a great friendship book, get this book it is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    A mom

    I previewed this book for my 6th grade mother/daughter bookclub. I hope they end up reading it soon. It reflects what's going on with girls this age and I think it will give us lots to talk about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1