Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Bees

Average Rating 4.5
( 1348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(816)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Very Good!!

I'm only eleven years old and loved the book. I got it at the library after seeing the trailer to the movie. It is a very humbling book. I don't think that kids under 13 should read it though. It has lots of cursing and is extremly descriptive in parts it shouldn't be. ...
I'm only eleven years old and loved the book. I got it at the library after seeing the trailer to the movie. It is a very humbling book. I don't think that kids under 13 should read it though. It has lots of cursing and is extremly descriptive in parts it shouldn't be. It was an awsome book though. Please read it you will love it!!!

P.S. The books i recomended are even better!!!

posted by Sarah_661 on October 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Secret Life of Bees earns a "C"

Though Ms. Kidd's writing is beautifully evocative,"Bees" needed much tighter editing in the last half of the book. For a teenage girl who had a self admittted fault of talking too much,the plot line of Lily waiting so long to ask August about her mother just did not ri...
Though Ms. Kidd's writing is beautifully evocative,"Bees" needed much tighter editing in the last half of the book. For a teenage girl who had a self admittted fault of talking too much,the plot line of Lily waiting so long to ask August about her mother just did not ring true.

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1349 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 68
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this story and its themes of mothering and friendship. It is wonderful to read a story that shows that the mothering relationship isn't always with a biological mother. This is a beautufil novel about the journey of finding ones self and family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    Haven't seen the movie

    Loved the book, loved the strong characters. Read too quickly, loved the pangs of romance - hated for it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    A Great Book!

    I loved this book...it was very hard to put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    :)

    so very very good. great chatacters. kinda felt like i was there. didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    blahhh

    I did not enjoy this book but I finished it just like I finished my vegtables from my dinner plate as a kid.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    the best book ever

    This was the most well written book I have ever read. The story was smooth and left the reader satisfied. I can not express how well written this book was. The book didn't have any boring or empty places, but it flowed like a river. This book should be used as a writers guide to creating great works of fiction. The characters were strong and very well described. One could actually feel the chip on June's shoulder from the description. I don't want to reapeat my self, but this book opened my eyes to great writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Big disappointment

    After reading the critics reviews and the readers reviews, I was excited about reading this book. Then I started reading it. I guess I read a different version from everyone else because this was not a good book. In fact, it was down right boring. It was the same stuff over and over again. And unrealistic. I don't know how much research Sue Monk Kidd put into African-American lives in the 1960s, particularly in the South, but she didn't do a very good job. Black women with a cult-like religion--maybe in Louisiana. Most Southern black people back then were deeply rooted into being Baptist or Church of God in Christ. And Lily's relationship with Zach--yeah right! As dark as she describes his skin as being, and he's riding around in South Carolina with a white girl in his truck and no one notices or is bothered! Are you kidding me!? Especially, with the racial unrest that Lily says was going on in the town. Yet, there they go a black boy and a white girl riding into town. Anyway, I would have rather the story been written in a narrative voice. The other characters could have been a lot stronger this way. And I would like to have known how June just all of a sudden came to accept her? This book was a big disappointment. I rushed through it so I could move on to something better. I hope.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    i was so dissapointed

    i chose to read this book after hearing how 'amazing it was from friends and previous girls who read it from my school. It was on my summer reading list and i decided to read it because it was recommended. I am so upset i chose this book instead of a classic like a catcher in the rye. i thought this book would be heartfelt and warm and enjoyable but i found it to actually be drawn out, depressing, unrealistic, harsh, and downright boring. I didnt enjoy this book in any way. I am so sorry i chose to read this i am almost done and i cant wait until its over. HUGE dissappointment.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Very so-so

    This wasn't bad. I read it quickly, but it kind of reminded me of the stuff I used to have to read for school. Very obvious themes and issues, and...not bad but....not especially good either. I think it is kind of overrated but I dont' regret reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    I love Honey

    I loved this book..I bought it when visiting my sister and packed it for the flight home. I was sucked in instantly. The compassion of those willing to love and the strength of women is moving..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Avoid This Book at All Costs

    This book was, for lack of a better word, bad. It was well written in parts, but the story line was terrible and somewhat exaggerated. It also seemed like the book was trying to convince readers to worship the Black Mary and that the whole chain breaking even actually occurred. I have been shocked by the remarks of my piers concerning their spiritual growth and this book. The Daughters of Mary are a made up religion from this book, the Back Mary did not really break those chains, 'this novel is a work of fiction,' and there was inaccurate information provided concerning the human Mary. How do you learn about religion from that? I find this book insulting, pointless, and boring. Sorry Sue!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    Catchy title, dreadful story

    The author of this misery seems to have been inspired by The Shipping News, adapting Proulx's device of knots to notes on the habits of bees at the beginning of every chapter. But I just couldn't get interested in the story, so I won't even bother finishing this review. I didn't finish the book, either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Page turner? I don't think so!

    I don't like to start something and not finish but I have no interest in completing this book. Too slow of a read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    My 14-year-old daughter had to read this book for school. I read it first and there is no way this is suitable reading for a teen. The book was full of bad language, violence, and racism. It was disgusting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Boring

    The beginning of the story was good and I got into it. Then it started to drag. I mean it was the same stuff over and over. Oh my dad sucks, my mom's dead, no one loves me, May's crazy, August and I need to talk. These four-five topics keep coming up in the book over and over and over again. I wish it would get to the point already! Instead of just reitierating the above in each chapter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Pricey disappointing read

    Seeing that this book was one of the bestsellers at the book store, I thought that I was in for a great read. I found the book to be slow and a bit boring. The story of a white girl being raised by African American women during that period and in the south was completely unrealistic. Not only was this book not a page turner, it was dull.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Bees Bees everywhere

    The Secret Life of Bees was just a regular book for me. I got into the book at the beginning and then I slowly lost interest. The book is about a white girl who runs away from her abusive father with a black worker from her farm who took care of her. Some events seemed to be drug out when they could have easily been written faster. However, throughout the book Lily made me yearn for my mother. My mother lives three hours away, and this book made it seem like she lived across the country. I could not even begin to imagine my life without her in it, let alone the guilt of thinking I killed her that Lily struggled with throughout the entire book. This book made me appreciate my mom more than ever, if that is even possible. I did not like how it ended. I wanted so badly for T.Ray to tell Lily that it was not she who killed her mother. I wanted her not to live with that guilt for the rest of her life. However, if he had done that, then it would be T.Ray growing soft inside, which would be out of character for him. Overall, the book for me was just another book. I am not about to run out and tell everyone to read it, but it was an okay book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    .....disappointing

    This book was highly recommended...but I found it lacking......there was great use of imagery and detailed character descriptions, the meat of the story was lacking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Be Prepared to Shed a Tear

    A moving and well written story, however sad and disturbing at times. Be prepared to shed some tears.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Moves along s l o w l y...

    This book came highly recommended to me, however, I found I was bored with the story halfway through and was glad when it ended. I enjoyed the bee 'facts' that started each chapter more than the actual mother/daughter plot. It just moved a little too slowly for me...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1349 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 68