Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Bees (10th-Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(824)

4 Star

(333)

3 Star

(136)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Very Good!!

I'm only eleven years old and loved the book. I got it at the library after seeing the trailer to the movie. It is a very humbling book. I don't think that kids under 13 should read it though. It has lots of cursing and is extremly descriptive in parts it shouldn't be. ...
I'm only eleven years old and loved the book. I got it at the library after seeing the trailer to the movie. It is a very humbling book. I don't think that kids under 13 should read it though. It has lots of cursing and is extremly descriptive in parts it shouldn't be. It was an awsome book though. Please read it you will love it!!!

P.S. The books i recomended are even better!!!

posted by Sarah_661 on October 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Secret Life of Bees earns a "C"

Though Ms. Kidd's writing is beautifully evocative,"Bees" needed much tighter editing in the last half of the book. For a teenage girl who had a self admittted fault of talking too much,the plot line of Lily waiting so long to ask August about her mother just did not ri...
Though Ms. Kidd's writing is beautifully evocative,"Bees" needed much tighter editing in the last half of the book. For a teenage girl who had a self admittted fault of talking too much,the plot line of Lily waiting so long to ask August about her mother just did not ring true.

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1366 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 69
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Dull and disappointing

    This may be the most maudlin, manipulative, meaningless novel written since 'The Bridges of Madison County'. What horrid depictions of women as superstitious victims of their own making. The author strings together several vague themes (mermaids, bees, hats, etc) to appear profound, but merely succeeds in deluding readers who are looking for personal redemption and revelations between the lines. The characters never gain our sympathy, the plot (what plot?)fails to gain our interest and the writing fails to exceed sixth grade standards. If I could, I would award this novel -5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    I am in the minority, but....

    I think this was one of the worst books I have ever had the misfortune to waste my money on. I had heard from three friends how wonderful it was, and I bought it without reservation, thinking it would eventually offer me something in a way of a reason to finish it. I don't abandon books very often, but I gave up on this one halfway through. Perhaps because I came from a family where little to no love was demonstrated, but I found myself extremely anxious and uncomfortable for the time I did try to read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Bad TV movie stuff

    This book is the literary equivalent of a bad TV movie or a Hallmark greeting card. The situations, characters, metaphors, dialog, and everything else in this book are total cliches: coming of age in the South, helping a black person escape injustice, the wise mentor black woman, the mentally-challenged character who commits suicide--Good Lord, it already been done a hundred times. You'll be rolling your eyes every other page and saying, 'Oh, please!' Plus, the portrayal of blacks in this book is so trite that it borders on racism. Watch for the upcoming TV movie. Oprah will star in it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

     I thought the book The Secret Life of Bees, by Sue Monk Kidd wa

     I thought the book The Secret Life of Bees, by Sue Monk Kidd was a good book, but I didn't find it very believable. The main character, Lily is a 14 year old girl who thinks she knows everything and thinks she knows whats right for her. Towards the beginning of the book, Lily finally gets the guts to run away from her abusive father, T-ray. Lily meets up with her best friend/nanny, Rosaleen, and sneaks her out of the hospital after she gets in trouble with the police. Lily decides to run away to Tirbon, South Carolina after seeing it written on a picture of her dead mother. After getting to her destination, Lily knocks on the door of some bee keepers, and they gladly let her stay at their house. I didn't think this part was believable, Lily staying at a house in 1964 with three colored women. At the end of the book, Lily realizes that she doesn't need her real mother to feel like she has a family. I think that there was a lot of unneeded writing in the book and I thought it had a slow beginning that dragged on. But there were still some interesting events where you may get angry at the characters. This is why I gave the book three stars, I do recommend the book, if you don't mind a slow beginning, although it isn't very believable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    BORING AND BIZARRE Was good in the beginning but soon it just go

    BORING AND BIZARRE Was good in the beginning but soon it just got really weird and boring. Nothing exciting ever happens and she describes her fat friend Rosaline's naked body in a pool and how she watched sweat drip from her fat boobs and something about how she wants to lick milk from them or something (nothing against fat people, just thought it was really gross) and she then later talks about other awkward puberty and sexual problems...was not expecting that at all.....i usually always finish books but this one was torture to read so I had to stop about 3/4 of the way through when i realized it wasn't getting any better. WAY over rated. I'm so confused as to how it got such good ratings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Bleh

    THIIISSTUPIDSS

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Quick read

    This was a quick read and definitely not worth more than $10! The story was OK, but nothing great. The characters were very one dimensional. The book doesn't inspire me to see the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    this is a heart warming story of a girl who stuggles to forgive herself and to overcome they cruelty of sergration. Sue Monk Kidd wrote an amazing story full of love, heartbreak and an inspiration to all who read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Just as great as the movie. One of the best books that took place long ago that I've ever read.

    THIS BOOK IS SOOOOOO GOOD! It takes place back when whites and blacks werw still goin' through that iffy period of dating and befriending each other. Lily, the main character, is just one of those people you have to love. Even though it took place a longntime ago, it wasn't boring at all. A must read for all ages and races!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Was Underwhelmed but it Wasn't Bad

    I kept being told to read this book and that it was amazing, and after I read it I was sort of disappointed. Maybe the book was too over hyped for me or perhaps it just isn't for me, but I found it just to be ok. I can see how it would be a good read for a lot of people and there is a lot of meaning and tough times behind it, but it didn't hold my attention very well and I don't find myself wanting to reread it. Overall, it was just ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So/So

    This book was recommended to me by my mother-in-law. We must have some really different taste. I know people liked it but I just wasn't one of them. Just really slow paced for me. Characters I liked but not my cup of tea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Best book I've read in a while

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat. Each time I put it down I couldn't wait to pick it back up. If you have been through anything or if you haven't you will enjoy just taking this time out with these people. Also you will not want to finish this book. I only have praise for it. I know if you read it you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    The Secret Life of Bees

    Well written fiction with several original characters, this novel is a good example of a "Coming of Age" story. I especially enjoyed the descriptive passages that appealed to all senses. Only one thing disturbed me--the swearing at the beginning of the story. It jarred, for some reason, possibly because the main character seemed so young. Good literature but not great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    A VERY GOOD BOOK

    I would recomnend this book to anyone. I thought that it was so good. It had me on the edge of my seat the whole time and it made me cry. It is a book that at some parts of it you can relate to. If you were to ask me for a book to read I would recommend this book. Right now it is one of my top 5 books. You should read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    ~Masterpiece~

    I recommend this work of art to ALL reluctant readers. When Lily Owens' mother dies, she is forced to move in with people of a different race. There, she finds the true meaning of "family". As I was reading, I, literally, was at the edge of my seat. "The Secret Life of Bees" is very compelling and it really grabs your heart. If you read it, I guarantee you'll never want to stop turning the pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Touching, uplifting story.

    The Secret Life Of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd is a very good book! It is uplifting, touching and sometimes just makes you want to cry! It also makes you want to laugh and smile! It's one of those books that seems very realistic and heartfelt. I recamend this book to everyone that wants a good read to make them happy. This book as everything; romance, drama, and more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Unexpected

    The Secret Life of Bees was an unexpected heartwarming tale of rascism in the deepsouth and how an unlikely group of people overcame differences and became a strong family. The message of the book is overpowering and downright moving, an epic story of getting over appearences. A great read alltogether.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Great first book

    Heartwarming,funny and sad; funny and sad a difficult writing combimation superbly done in this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic coming of age story

    Charming, beautiful tale of finding the truth about your past and the realization that family doesn't always involve biology. This book will make you laugh and cry and pick it up to experience the emotions again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A rather unique tale of the South forty years ago

    Sure, there have been novels written over the years dealing with the American South of the 60's and earlier. A lot of them should have never been published, but among those that have survived - and justifiably so - add Sue Monk Kidd's "The Secret Life of Bees" to the list. <BR/><BR/>Lily Owens is a teenage girl living in South Carolina in 1964 who has, to put it mildly, an extremely bad relationship with her father, known as T. Ray. This may have something to do with the fact that she accidentally killed her mother when she was four years old. From that time on, she's been under the care of Rosaleen, an African-American woman who was working as one of her daddy's farmhands until he "recruited" her to serve as his housekeeper and "substitute mother" for Lily. <BR/><BR/>But Lily's hatred for her father and the racial prejudice of the time combine to force Lily and Rosaleen to flee to Tiburon SC, where Lily hopes to find some information about her mother. What she finds is far beyond her expectations, and causes her to rethink not only the memories she has of her mother, but her whole world-view - an immense change, considering where she lives and the political and cultural climate of the times. <BR/><BR/>Kidd has written what is sure to be regarded as a classic, on the same level as "To Kill a Mockingbird".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1366 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 69