Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Bees

Average Rating 4.5
( 1068 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(643)

4 Star

(263)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Very Good!!

I'm only eleven years old and loved the book. I got it at the library after seeing the trailer to the movie. It is a very humbling book. I don't think that kids under 13 should read it though. It has lots of cursing and is extremly descriptive in parts it shouldn't be. ...
I'm only eleven years old and loved the book. I got it at the library after seeing the trailer to the movie. It is a very humbling book. I don't think that kids under 13 should read it though. It has lots of cursing and is extremly descriptive in parts it shouldn't be. It was an awsome book though. Please read it you will love it!!!

P.S. The books i recomended are even better!!!

posted by Sarah_661 on October 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Secret Life of Bees earns a "C"

Though Ms. Kidd's writing is beautifully evocative,"Bees" needed much tighter editing in the last half of the book. For a teenage girl who had a self admittted fault of talking too much,the plot line of Lily waiting so long to ask August about her mother just did not ri...
Though Ms. Kidd's writing is beautifully evocative,"Bees" needed much tighter editing in the last half of the book. For a teenage girl who had a self admittted fault of talking too much,the plot line of Lily waiting so long to ask August about her mother just did not ring true.

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Trite

    How can a writer fit so many cliches into one short book? Gratingly predictable. A definite screenplay for a Lifetime movie.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    the worst book ever

    i thought this book was good at the begining but after getting into it i noticed that this book is way to in depth with how women act. what i mean is that lily talked way to much about her girly problems. know one want to hear about a 14 year old girl ceresing her body in front of a miror. yes there were some parts that were very good but for the most part i thought that the whole point of the story is so hard to belive. i mean do you really think that lily and rosaleen could have hitched a ride to some were they didnt even know and just end up living with three black women. it just doesnt happen.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Boring

    I think the book was boring especially during the beginning of the book. I mean boring as in sleep sounds better than reading this book. Who would want to read a book about a little girl who runs off. She only ran off just because she think her dad or 'T.Ray' didn¿t love her. So she runs off with Rosaleen. Now Rosaleen being black and during this time period. People where very raciest so Rosaleen got beat up. Lily goes to some August¿s house and ends up stay there a while. Then T.Ray shows up at the house beats lily. Then lily ends up stay there.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Dull and disappointing

    This may be the most maudlin, manipulative, meaningless novel written since 'The Bridges of Madison County'. What horrid depictions of women as superstitious victims of their own making. The author strings together several vague themes (mermaids, bees, hats, etc) to appear profound, but merely succeeds in deluding readers who are looking for personal redemption and revelations between the lines. The characters never gain our sympathy, the plot (what plot?)fails to gain our interest and the writing fails to exceed sixth grade standards. If I could, I would award this novel -5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    I am in the minority, but....

    I think this was one of the worst books I have ever had the misfortune to waste my money on. I had heard from three friends how wonderful it was, and I bought it without reservation, thinking it would eventually offer me something in a way of a reason to finish it. I don't abandon books very often, but I gave up on this one halfway through. Perhaps because I came from a family where little to no love was demonstrated, but I found myself extremely anxious and uncomfortable for the time I did try to read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Bad TV movie stuff

    This book is the literary equivalent of a bad TV movie or a Hallmark greeting card. The situations, characters, metaphors, dialog, and everything else in this book are total cliches: coming of age in the South, helping a black person escape injustice, the wise mentor black woman, the mentally-challenged character who commits suicide--Good Lord, it already been done a hundred times. You'll be rolling your eyes every other page and saying, 'Oh, please!' Plus, the portrayal of blacks in this book is so trite that it borders on racism. Watch for the upcoming TV movie. Oprah will star in it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    blahhh

    I did not enjoy this book but I finished it just like I finished my vegtables from my dinner plate as a kid.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    Catchy title, dreadful story

    The author of this misery seems to have been inspired by The Shipping News, adapting Proulx's device of knots to notes on the habits of bees at the beginning of every chapter. But I just couldn't get interested in the story, so I won't even bother finishing this review. I didn't finish the book, either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Page turner? I don't think so!

    I don't like to start something and not finish but I have no interest in completing this book. Too slow of a read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    My 14-year-old daughter had to read this book for school. I read it first and there is no way this is suitable reading for a teen. The book was full of bad language, violence, and racism. It was disgusting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Boring

    The beginning of the story was good and I got into it. Then it started to drag. I mean it was the same stuff over and over. Oh my dad sucks, my mom's dead, no one loves me, May's crazy, August and I need to talk. These four-five topics keep coming up in the book over and over and over again. I wish it would get to the point already! Instead of just reitierating the above in each chapter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    i didnt like the book i had to read it for school, and i dont really care

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Bad

    No one likes to hear about people who run away from their problems. We all have problems but that don't mean you have to run away and go work for a beekeeper and then has the nerve to lie to the beekeeper that take her in and feeds her.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2