BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Bryan

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Secret Life of Bryan

    As part of a series book this is a great book and series i enjoyed the book. i have re read this book and the others in the series twice already and i grantee i will be reading it again. Lori Foster is a great writer and you will love this book and any other that has her name as the author i know i do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    What I Liked: From the start I liked the writing and dialog. The

    What I Liked: From the start I liked the writing and dialog. There were a few times, especially in the middle, where it felt like there was a lot of author intrusion going on. But thankfully, the last 25% most of that was done. I also liked most of the side characters as well as the epilogue (if a bit drawn out to reach a word count).

    What I Didn't Like: Bryan and Shay were my least enjoyable components of this book. To say I didn't like them would be putting it mildly. Shay is way too clingy/needy, calculating and manipulative. Bryan is a self-righteous, holier-than-thou prick. The fact that they're both deceiving each other and neither being aware of the deception of the other makes them even less appealing. They're both fools, and play the part exceptionally well.

    I also didn't like that, outside of the bedroom, they had no chemistry. I just can't buy into them being a couple. And even the bedroom action started off cold and clinical at first. But that could be just how I perceived all the lies and deception between the two. A few minor issues I had were with the repetition that caused me to lose interest and get bored a few times, and the slow pace because of said repetition. Although pacing did pick up at the end preventing a lower rating.

    Final Analysis: I wanted to like this book. But it was such a pain in the butt for the most part. I was set to give a lower rating at the 30% mark, but the ending was decent. Maybe because I finally saw the end in sight and was happy just to be finishing it… I don't know, but because of that I raised the score a little bit. Also, this book can be read as a stand-alone, but I think I might have enjoyed it a touch more had I read the first in the series. Despite the somewhat negative review, I am still interested in reading the other books in this series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Lori Foster has long been known for great romances, hot sex, and delicious storylines. She delivers another scorcher with TSLOB. <BR/><BR/>For Foster fans, it's another look into the clan we were introduced to in SAY NO TO JOE? For newcomers, it's a fast, fun read into what happens when two people both pretend to be something they're not. <BR/><BR/>I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next installment in this interrelated series, WHEN BRUCE MET CYN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    The Secret Life of 'Yummy'

    Lori Foster has long been known for great romances, hot sex, and delicious storylines. She delivers another scorcher with TSLOB. For Foster fans, it's another look into the clan we were introduced to in SAY NO TO JOE? For newcomers, it's a fast, fun read into what happens when two people both pretend to be something they're not. I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next installment in this interrelated series, WHEN BRUCE MET CYN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    A Great Book as always by Lori Foster

    This time she did it again a book that is a must read book.Very entertainig and romantic, makes yu feel like your right there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    A real 'fairy tale'...

    Call me crazy but I like the type of chick lit that also seems somewhat believable. This is not it. I rolled my eye more than anything while reading this. Although it is well written and somewhat entertaining (really only near the end.) I may pick up this author again as others have said this is not quite like her normal work. If you are looking for something that is fun... romantic yet funny and entertaining (and maybe even believable), check out Janet Evanovich, Whitney Gaskell, or Beth Kendrick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    A Great Book in the Visitation Series

    The second book in the Visitation series, Secret Life of Bryan is great! Both hero and heroine are likable, believable characters whose chemistry leaps off the pages. The story is well developed with Ms. Foster obviously doing the necessary research to present the prostitutes in a realistic manner. The romance is vintage Foster - hot, adventuresome, and loving. Secret Life of Bryan works well as a stand alone book but read it as part of the entire Visitation series to get the most enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Another great book in the Visitation Series

    Secret Life of Bryan is the second book in the Visitation Series and it works well on its own but should be read as part of the whole series to fully appreciate all the characters. Ms. Foster does an excellent job in presenting two believable and lovable main characters. She obviously did the research necessary to portray the secondary prostitute characters in a realistic manner. The romance scenes are vintage Foster - hot, adventuresome, and loving. All around a great book and an excellent addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Not so good

    This was my first Lori Foster book and I must say I was very disappointed. I thought it was slow and boring. I couldn't get into it - it took me a long time to finish. I'll try another of her books and I am hoping I'll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Awesome

    Lori has written this book perfectly. She has maintained the plot well and the character intro was amazing. Bruce and Bryan mix-up was good. Shea's character was pictured well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    Secret Life of Bryan

    I really loved SECRET LIFE OF BRYAN. Bryan Kelly is impersonating his twin brother Bruce to find out who is tried to hurt him and also keep an eye on the safe house that Bruce created for former ladies of the night. Shay is hoping to open up her own safe house and when she is mistaken by Bryan as a hooker she takes the opportunity to learn as much as she can. Shay and Bryan are attracted from the start but for reasons they have are reluctant to act on it. I really loved the three hookers too, Patti, Morgana and Barb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    One of the Best

    Lori Foster does it again. Lori has a way of putting the reader right in the story. Bryan is one of the hottest Charaters around. I think it is really neat how Lori puts Bryan in a situation where he had to use restraint. I must say that if I was in Shay's shoes I would have a hard time keeping my hands off the pretend preacher, but maybe not for long. Keep up the great work Lori and I can't wait to read 'When Bruce Meets Cyn.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    HOT STUFF

    This book drew me in from the beginning. Read it in 2 days. There were several love scenes, and they were crazy hot! If you like steamy sex scenes, this is the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    Fantastic characters, excellent story!

    Bryan Kelly is a bounty hunter who is pretending to be his brother Bruce, a preacher who gets prostitutes off the streets and into safe houses. He meets Shay Sommers on the street at night in a bad neighborhood. The dress she¿s wearing is nearly transparent in the rain and Bryan assumes she is a hooker who needs help. But Shay isn¿t a prostitute at all; she¿s trying to help working girls get off the streets. She¿s instantly attracted to Bryan, who doesn¿t act like any preacher she¿s ever met. Bryan is equally attracted but he can¿t get involved with Shay, he¿s trying to help her reform! Since Bryan thinks Shay is a prostitute, she decides to stay at the safe house and see how she can help the other girls. Bryan and Shay can¿t avoid each other and they can¿t deny the chemistry between them. What will happen when their true identities are revealed? THE SECRET LIFE OF BRYAN is filled with wonderful characters, including the prickly yet warm and funny working girls at the safe house. There¿s plenty of steam, too! I loved revisiting Joe and Luna and the others from Say No to Joe? And I¿ve been waiting a long time to read about Shay, the older sister of Brandi Sommers in Fantasy! This is definitely a book for my keeper shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    It's a keeper!!!

    What would you do if you were mistaken as a prostitute, and on top of that, you felt a very strange attraction to a preacher? Well, that's exactly the mess Shay's life had turned into. And said preacher, Bryan, wasn't far behind. There was nothing he wouldn't do for his twin brother, even if it meant passing as a preacher; even if it meant having the hots for a woman ¿ a prostitute, no less. If to find out who was trying to hurt his brother he had to stand his attraction ¿ plus taking care of a bunch of prostitutes ¿ he would do it. As the continuing part of ¿Say not to Joe¿, ¿The Secret Life of Bryan¿ will keep you stuck to the seat, bed, or any place you may be reading the book on. You won't be able to take your eyes off it till you finish. It is all a mix of suspense, intrigue, friendship, love and steamy-hot scenes that will melt you down to your bones. What are you waiting for? Buy this book now! You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    A Must Read!

    Bounty hunter Bryan Kelly is trying to catch the person who beat up his brother. The only way to do that is to switch places with his twin brother Bruce, who is known as the 'Preacher' to the ex-prostitutes that he helps. Before long, Bryan finds himself getting more involved than he wanted to with the women who live in his brother's shelter. One woman in particular is making his heart pound and his senses heat up. Shay Sommers is only trying to help the same women that Bryan is when Bryan mistakes her for a hooker! She goes along with this mysterious and sexy 'Preacher' hoping they can start working together, but decides to keep her real identity a secret until Bryan can get to know her and like her for herself, not her public reputation. With both of them keeping secrets from eachother, will they be able to resist the attraction that they feel for one another while they find out who is threatening Bryan's brother? This is another fabulous story by Lori Foster! Ms. Foster does a wonderful job of building the suspense and sexual tension in this book. I was kept guessing as to who the bad guy was until the end. The chemistry between Bryan and Shay was so hot I had to make sure there was a cold drink nearby to cool down with! The cast of secondary characters added to the fun and I got to revisit with a few of the author's past characters as well, which I always enjoy. Go out and buy this book! I highly recommend it if you are looking for a sensual read that warms your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Definitely A Keeper!

    BE prepared to make room on your keeper shelf,you'll need it for The Secret Life Of Bryan. Bryan Kelly intrigued me from the first in Say No To Joe?,I couldn't wait to read more.Lori Foster more than comes through,I couldn't put this book down.You'll get to revisit Joe,Luna,and yes that unexplainable but yummy sounding Jamie Creed. Add to that Bruce Kelly(Bryan's twin),3 hilarious 'ladies' of the night and it all equals another amazing read by Lori Foster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    The Secret Life of Bryan

    The Secret Life Of Bryan totally rocks!! I wish I could rate it higher then 5 stars. Bryan Kelly has assumed his twin brother Bruce's identity to find out who tried to kill him. Living like Bruce certainly isnt easy. For one thing Bruce is a preacher and Bryan is a bounty hunter, Bruce tries to save people and Bruce hunts them down and throws their butts in jail. While impersonating Bruce, Bryan oversees the safe house Bruce has set up for ex-hookers who are trying to get out of the life, only someone wants the girls to keep working the streets. Shay Sommers is known as the Crown Princess, when she meets Bryan she doesn't realize he isnt Bruce and she doesn't tell him who she really is, since he seems to have a grudge against wealthy people. Shay moves in to the safe house to find out first hand how to run one, and before she knows it, she is giving fashion lessons and setting up jobs for the women in the house. Bryan and Shay set fires whenever they are in a room. Will the fire be put out when they realize who the other one really is? All I have to say is GET THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Another scorcher from Foster!

    Lori Foster always gets my attention with her books. Secret Life of Bryan is no exception. Once again Lori manages to let the reader be inside the head of her characters and experience their feelings. Lori is a master at allowing us inside the mind of a man and his thought process. In Secret, we are treated to the story of a man who struggles with what he is 'supposed' to be as compared to what he truly is. He's out to help protect his brother and in doing so must become his brother. This is extremely difficult for Bryan as his brother is a preacher! How does a carnal man like Bryan pretend to be a more moral man like his brother? And on top of that, he meets Shay, the woman who can truly push all his buttons. I highly recommend this book for a rollicking good time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    Another Foster winner

    Lori Foster brings back a memorable character from Say No To Joe?, bounty hunter Bryan Kelly. Bryan has agreed to switch places with his twin brother Preacher Bruce Kelly. Bruce runs a charity organization for former prostitutes, when Bruce gets attacked Bryan takes his place to find out who wants to hurt his family. Pretending to be the ¿Preacher¿ Bryan meets Shay Sommers and assumes she is one of the local working girls. He takes her back to a safe house but doesn¿t realize at first that Shay isn¿t what she appears to be and he is greatly disturbed by his strong attraction to this woman. Shay Sommers has never met a preacher like Bryan Kelly. He is full of contradictions and is sexy as all get out. While Bryan at first thinks she is a hooker, Shay decides this is a golden opportunity to see those she helps in her charity work up close. While trying to get to the bottom of the growing attacks on the safe house, Bryan and Shay act on the intense attraction for each other. The Secret Life of Bryan is a funny, sexy and intriguing book. Bryan and Shay¿s connection will make you fan yourself. The three hookers will touch your heart and make you laugh yourself silly. Lori Foster has written another keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3