BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have just discovered Diane Chamberlain and love her style of writing.

This book completely held my interest from cover to cover. I usually don't take books to work with me, but I did this one. When I finished it, a co-worker borrowed it and read it in two days!

posted by 849427 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL

Starts off with the characters in bed. Is that how you get to know someone by watching them have intercourse? I won't be reading any of her other books, either. She may be a fine writer, but her lack of respect for her readers is mind-boggling.

posted by 1426207 on June 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Definitely A Must Read

    Oh my God.....This was such a great book. This was my bookclubs BOTM and I'm so glad it was. I had never read anything from this author but I can say I will continue to explore her work.....To all who haven't read this book...please do....you won't regret it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    g Gripping

    Couldnt put this down. Couldnt wait to see what happened next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Quick Read because you can't put it down and you stay up way past your bedtime reading it! This book portrays that every decision you make has a lasting impact on your life and others. The ending wasn't really plausible to me as the rest of the book but that doesn't detract from this being a treat to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I have just discovered Diane Chamberlain and love her style of writing.

    This book completely held my interest from cover to cover. I usually don't take books to work with me, but I did this one. When I finished it, a co-worker borrowed it and read it in two days!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    One of the best books ever!

    This book is definitely in my top 3 favorite books ever! I read about a book a week and when I read something this good, everything after it is a disappointment. This was fabulous. It was the first time I had read a book by the author and have since read some of her others - none of them unfortunately come close to being this great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Fantastic suspenseful novel, another Chamberlain masterpiece. I

    Fantastic suspenseful novel, another Chamberlain masterpiece.

    I am not a fast reader but I go through Diane's books in record time. I typically finish her books in the wee hours of the night and in two sittings. This book was no exception, I simply could not put it down.

    The story chronicles the life of CeeCee. When we meet her, CeeCee is an orphaned and insecure teenager trying to make it on her own. She gets mixed up with the wrong guy and the story is filled with kidnapping, death, birth, crime, mystery and a complex web of love and lies emerges the way only Diane can tell it.

    I can relate to CeeCee in so many ways, her undying love for her family, her desire to overly protect her children and how her rheumatoid arthritis impacts her body, how she tries to hide the pain and stay strong for her loved ones even when the disease flares due to stress.  The story is also set in North Carolina, my home state, and I can just picture the story unfold in a setting that's familiar to me.

    What does CeeCee get herself into? How will she ever get out of it? Will her family forgive her for her past? I wish I could tell you but I don't want to spoil the journey, I do highly recommend this captivating book.  If you like suspenseful reads or books by Nicholas Sparks or Jodi Picoult, you'll like this book. I think it would make an interesting discussion for a book club, just check out the first question on LitLover's list of book club questions.

    Nicholas Sparks  and Diane Chamberlain are both NC authors and  I have been enjoying reading stories by NC authors or set in NC.  Diane Chamberlain is often noted as being similar in style to Jodi Picoult. While both Diane and Jodi have a way of capturing my attention, Diane's skill rests in her ability to emotionally connect me to her characters.  I form a bond with them, I agonize with them as they face their most complicated predicaments.  When the book is done, I miss them and wonder what happens next.  That's what makes Diane Chamberlain one of my favorite authors, each book leaves a lasting impression with relatable characters in unforgettable situations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    excellent

    lived this book!!! i love all of her books!! i highly reccommend it'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Unable to put down!

    This was one of the best books Ive read, and Im a very avid reader! Makes my very limited and difficult to get on top ten list. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    Captured my attention completely

    You will not want to put this book down! It made me cry and smile at the same time! Truly a good read and something you will think about for days after finishing the book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    AWFUL

    Starts off with the characters in bed. Is that how you get to know someone by watching them have intercourse? I won't be reading any of her other books, either. She may be a fine writer, but her lack of respect for her readers is mind-boggling.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for Bookclub

    This one definitely kept me wanting more so I read it fairly quickly. At first I disagreed that CeeCee was going to come forward to save Gleason but I suppose in the end it turned out alright. Poor Corinne.

    In my bookclub, these are some of the things we discussed:
    . the part about Corinne being paranoid could have either been more further explained or left out all together
    . did we feel bad for Corinne when she found out or did we want to say, "get over yourself!"? maybe a little of both
    . how stupid it was to kidnap a pregnant and headstrong woman - and leave her with a practically helpless teenage girl
    . how strange it was that Tim was sleeping with Genevieve
    . we liked Corinne's sister - she was good in the end with helping Corinne to forgive her mom
    . glad CeeCee's husband came back to her and supported her after hearing of her secrets
    . why could Tim & his brother think that they could bust Alice out when she had committed such a bad crime and was totally guilty for it?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    Another great book for Ms. Chamberlain.  Couldn't put it down an

    Another great book for Ms. Chamberlain.  Couldn't put it down and hated when I had to.  This is a sit at the edge of your seat and chew your fingernails novel, very suspenseful.  Love the authors story telling ability she has a way of wrapping you into this story and not letting you go until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    The secret life of cee cee wilkes

    Was an excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Secret of cee cee wilkes

    Loved the book......couldn't stop reading. I intend to read more of this authors books . A page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Loved the book!

    Very well written. Enjoed the characters and the story. This is the second book ive read by this author and i will certainly be reading another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    This is the second Diane Chamberlain book that I've read, the ot

    This is the second Diane Chamberlain book that I've read, the other being Necessary Lies. I enjoyed it very much. I will continue reading her books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Captivating

    I really loved this book. It kept me intrigued. While covering a 20+ yr timespan and skipping years between chaptere ,i didnt feel like i was missing anything. I liked how we can see Ceecee change from herself into her new persona and leave ceecee behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    great book

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    A great read!

    So hard to putdown. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11