Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes

Average Rating 4.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have just discovered Diane Chamberlain and love her style of writing.

This book completely held my interest from cover to cover. I usually don't take books to work with me, but I did this one. When I finished it, a co-worker borrowed it and read it in two days!

posted by 849427 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL

Starts off with the characters in bed. Is that how you get to know someone by watching them have intercourse? I won't be reading any of her other books, either. She may be a fine writer, but her lack of respect for her readers is mind-boggling.

posted by 1426207 on June 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for Bookclub

    This one definitely kept me wanting more so I read it fairly quickly. At first I disagreed that CeeCee was going to come forward to save Gleason but I suppose in the end it turned out alright. Poor Corinne.

    In my bookclub, these are some of the things we discussed:
    . the part about Corinne being paranoid could have either been more further explained or left out all together
    . did we feel bad for Corinne when she found out or did we want to say, "get over yourself!"? maybe a little of both
    . how stupid it was to kidnap a pregnant and headstrong woman - and leave her with a practically helpless teenage girl
    . how strange it was that Tim was sleeping with Genevieve
    . we liked Corinne's sister - she was good in the end with helping Corinne to forgive her mom
    . glad CeeCee's husband came back to her and supported her after hearing of her secrets
    . why could Tim & his brother think that they could bust Alice out when she had committed such a bad crime and was totally guilty for it?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    This is the second Diane Chamberlain book that I've read, the ot

    This is the second Diane Chamberlain book that I've read, the other being Necessary Lies. I enjoyed it very much. I will continue reading her books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once again, Diane Chamberlain does not disappoint. I¿m sure I ha

    Once again, Diane Chamberlain does not disappoint. I’m sure I have said this before, but she is quickly moving up the ranks to my top 5 favorite authors. This book, like most of her books, takes place in two separate decades. This book takes place in the 1970’s, when CeeCee Wilkes falls for an older man who draws her into a series of decisions that will change her life forever, including creating an entirely new life for herself as Eve Bailey. The rest of the book takes place thirty years later and chronicles her new life and culminates in the decisions she must make when the past rears its ugly head.




    Unlike some of her other books, I feel like she did a better job of transitioning out characters that were no longer needed in the story. The only problem that I had was that the “new life” that CeeCee created for herself was a little bit too easy. There was no mention of her past life or of missing her old friends, which is pretty unrealistic and I think the author missed out on a chance to garner more empathy for CeeCee from the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Love

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    DEFINITE RECOMMENDATION Another could-not-put-it-down by Diane C

    DEFINITE RECOMMENDATION
    Another could-not-put-it-down by Diane Chamberlain - a new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Very interesting story....

    Something different with a lot of twists. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Fantastic...

    This book was fabulous the characters were great and I loved that the book got to a point where I literally couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    highly recommended

    Interesting story of conflict and facing life choices; with little or no guidance. Having grown into convictioos of morality. Fast read and difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!!

    I read this book as part of my book club...never heard of the author or read any of her books. I mostly read books that are on the bestsellers list or ones that friends recommend, and im glad my book club friend recommended this one. This book was suspenseful, thrilling, intense, and mysterious all rolled into one. The beginning and ending were the best...the middle part where the story tells mostly about Eve's (Cee Cee's) life and her kids growing up was a little slow at times. The book fast forwards in time every chapter from the middle of the book to the end. Its amazing to see Cee Cee live her life as someone else and yet have this horrific crime come back to haunt her. I think she showed bravery and courage in the end of the book and showed Cory the type of woman that she wants her to be. This book is great for book clubs, but would be equally great as a summer read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Good story!

    Enjoyed this one, couldn't put it down-- too anxious to see how it ended! Kept me guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book makes a great Saturday read. It's a quick read with an interesting topic, written in a rather simple style. Although not a thought provoking book, it's definitely worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Great Read

    Loved the book, I started and finished it in one day. This is the first time reading this author and I plan on reading more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    An up all night can't put it down suspensful thriller

    This book was unbelievable, Diane Chamberlain knows how to write a novel and make you feel like the people and story is real, I searched for this book for a long time and could not wait for it in paperback and I'm glad I didn't. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3