Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Cowboys

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    For English Class

    I feel that this book was quite refreshing.I really enjoyed the book in the end, but at first I thought it read somewhat slow. I was very suprised at the way Groneberg pulled me in by displaying such a well written description of his life. Mr. Groneberg is a strong writer who keeps my attention, displays good organization/structure, however he could do a better job of giving definitions on certain 'cowboy' terms that those from the city may not know or understand. Mr. Groneberg establishes his credibilty in this book by explaining that he has lived and worked on cattle ranches. He does a good job of giving descriptive details, personal experiences and observations, and examples and illustrations. Mr. Groneberg's book is recent and more applicable to this generation of 'wannabe' cowboys. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone interested in the cowboy way of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Secret Life of Cowboys

    So far, my favorite book of 2003. The author has a rare talent for words, and a rare courage to pursue his dream. The last few pages will bring even the toughest cowboy to watery eyes. Tom Groneberg's debut is a stunning accomplishment for both his writing style and the part of his soul he shares with readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Secret Life of Cowboys

    I read/review about 50 books a year. This one is, hands down, the best-written book I'd read in a long time, easily my favorite new author of the year. A strong man, Tom Groneberg decides to pursue his dream of being a cowboy. He realizes his emotional development and dream chasing are inextricably intertwined, and the rest is an amazing accomplishment of words, spirit and soul. This is the new voice of the American West, in my opinion, and a book for dreamchasers everywhere to devour, while comparing their own dream-chasing verocity to the author's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    A MUST READ

    Groneberg has given us all inspiration and motivation to look for the happiness we all aspire to find. I looked forward everyday to picking up this book and reading about more of his adventures, mishaps, and life lessons. I would recommend this to anyone! A fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    I didn't like it

    When I got to a point where I realized I didn't like the author, I tossed it in the trash. He seems to have compassion for horses, but not humans. And why waste four years of college to become a ranch hand?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    A Terrific Story

    Through his story, Tom Groneberg took me along for the ride. Through him I felt the freezing cold of winter, the bruises, the blisters and the heartaches. But most of all, I felt what it must be like to be a young man in search of a dream. From cover to cover, it¿s a book you can¿t put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    A terrific find!

    This is the first book in a long time that has kept me up into the wee hours of the morning simply because I did not want to put it down. I read it upon recommendation from a friend, and from the moment I opened it until reading the last paragraph, I was spellbound -- a state of mind I did not expect given my preconceived lukewarm interest in the subject matter. Tom Groneberg definitely has the gift of story-telling and the ability to pull the reader into his world. And with lyricism, grace and disarming honesty, he¿s able to transpose his observations and lessons learned on the range into potent insights into life in general. When I finished, I wanted to start over from the beginning. Everyone on my Christmas list will be getting a copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    The Secret Lives of Overzealous Writers

    While Groneberg did a fine job illustrating some of the details of ranch and 'cowboy' life in modern day Montana, the focus -the landscape, the people, the lifestyle - were lost in his all-too-frequent attempts at achieving some sort of existential enlightenment. Yes, cowboys live a hard life. Yes, the land is wonderful and beautiful, harsh and demanding. But whenever a cow pooped in a field, Groneberg tried to turn it into a powerful and moving look into his own life and why he exists. I appreciate his honesty and willingness to share intensely private feelings, but the attempts at revelations and epiphanies on nearly every page got to be too much. I did, however, enjoy the book for the portrayal of what life is like for some in the new west.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    READ THIS BOOK

    This book is easily the most enjoyable book I have read this year (and I'm a fairly avid reader). Groneberg's book is very well-written and it moves at a nice smooth pace; it's funny in places, sad in others, but honestly written and never dull. I'm certain you will enjoy reading (and maybe re-reading) this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    What a treat!

    The Secret Life of Cowboys is one of those rare books that when you finish, you're sad it's over. Groneberg's lyricism, his honesty, the beauty of the landscapes as he describes them, all combine to form a pitch-perfect telling of an incredible story. It is a book for anyone who ever had a dream, and wondered what life might be like if they had the courage to pursue it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1