Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Houdini: The Making of America's First Superhero

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    A great read couldn't put it down!

    I saw another reviewer who said, "Who knew?" That was my reaction to this book. The writers did exhaustive research on Houdini and though the book is long, I could not put it down. Houdini was an amazing "magician" and an American patriot. There is so much about the man that has been hidden from the public.

    This is a great biographical work. I encourage anyone who enjoys reading about the topic of magic, historical figures, people who had an impact on the American experience to read this book.

    It's NOT your Tony Curtis version of Houdini!

    Well done! I got this book during the clearance sale for $3.99 but if I had run across it before it went on sale, it would have been worth list price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Harry Houdini did not lead a mundane life.

    This book was read in a documentary tone, painting the facts of a driven young man into a life-long passion to succeed. There was a great deal about Houdini that makes one think and wonder.

    I enjoyed this. Very informative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    Houdini the original magician and escape artist

    This book was very informative on Houdini's personal life and public life. The book is written by two authors and this causes some inconsistencies in the chronological order of events. The book is loaded with photos thru out the chapters, which is a little relief from the long chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Amazing book!

    Ths is an amazing book! This is one of the best books I have read in years! I saw this book, for the first time, on the Howard Stern Show and thought I'd check it out. I was not disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Wonderfully researched

    Some parts almost read like an exciting adventure novel. Harry Houdini truly was a dynamic and interesting character who still lives on today. The only criticism I had was that I noticed in the first 100 pages or so that the authors jumped around a lot. But as you progress, the writing style becomes easier to comprehend. On another note, when reading the book, I also was able to really feel what the environment of the early 1900's was like. All together, an enjoyable and fascinating read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    A Must Read!

    Kalush and Sloman have done the unthinkable. Eighty years (and countless bios)after Houdini's death, they have written the most compelling, comprehensive and entertaining book about the master magician. The amount of research is amazing, their theories on Houdini's escapes are fascinating, and the book reads like a thriller, especially when Sir Arthur Doyle and his fanatic Spiritualist followers come into the picture. I'm certain that the bombshell revelations in this book (Houdini as spy, Houdini in titantic struggle with Doyle's Spiritualists, Houdini's legacy (and widow!) co-opted by Doyle, will certainly shortly find their way to the silver screen. This is a must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    INCREDIBLE BOOK AMAZING MAN

    Houdini was an American Icon. Houdini was a pioneer of heavier than air flight. He was an international ambassador. An immigrant who became a great American patriot. Houdini actually destroyed and virtually eliminated a major religion. Though he didn't live to see it's destruction. The authors put forth some evidence (Not conclusive) that those same religious zealots that may have murdered Houdini. One of the very best book I've read in my 50 years!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    THOUGHT PROVOKING

    I found this to be quite an excellent read. The details revealed enlighten the reader to a side of Houdini that had never before been revealed. I found myself reading without wanting to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    The Greatest Magician and Showman Who Ever Lived

    This has got to be the best book on Houdini that ever was. It's a long book- small letters and thin pages that are so extensive. The authors really create the definative book on Harry. If he wasn't the greatest magician who ever lived, he at least set the standard over all else. The movie, while good and entertaining is pretty much a tease compared to this very accurate book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1