Customer Reviews for

Secret Life of Josephine: Napoleon's Bird of Paradise

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Review for The Secret Life of Josephine

    The Secret Life of Josephine proved to be a very good book! I love historical fiction, so I really enjoyed it! It is an interesting story with a good plot and colorful characters. I couldn't put it down. It's mostly a romance novel sprinkled with historical characters and an air of intrigue. Also, the author was very good at painting detailed images of both people and places. This book has passion, sadness, joy, love, heartbreak, drama, humor and suspense throughout its pages. The subject and characters of the book were obviously researched. Then, the author used her imagination to fill the gaps between all of the historical facts. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical fiction and/or romance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Good romantic HF read with just enough facts to make it comopelling but a sprinkle of romance to keep your attention.

    While this story is loosely based on facts in provides enough historical backdrop to keep it on track and keep the reader interested. Makes me want to learn more aboiut Napolean and this time period- which is what I think good historical fcition should do...pique the interest enought to want to delve further into the truths suroounding a certain period.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    A good historical entertainment!

    Enjoyed this book especially since I didn't know anything about Josephine or Napoleon. It was a good book to start with. Enjoyed her style and writing and it made me want to try some of Carrolly Erickson's other books, which I will do. Thanks for a great story! The time period is so wonderful and the descriptions of traveling around were also good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved this novel! A real page turner!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Great!!!

    Erickson never disappoints me! Just a few qualities short of the amazing "Secret Diary of Marie Antoinette", this book is exciting and dramatic. Easy read, and great book to have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Josephine's Secrets

    A great read for all those who love history, adventure, romance and biographies! This historical novel weaves well-known facts of Napolean and Josephine with a fair amount of storytelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Spin

    A good read about the life of Josephine written by Erickson, whose writing portrays Jospehine's life and voice very well. While some of it is fiction (dialogue mainly, but who can record every single thing she said?) the history in the book is rather impressive, telling of Josephine's life on Martinique and her lovers and her husbands and the life during the Terror and so on in detail that would have most likely sounded like how Josephine did. I definitely recommend this book for some historical fiction fun and a good dip for your toes into the story one of the most fascinating women of France.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Great

    I loved this book! In the past I have mostly been interested in historical fictions about Tudors or Borgia history, but this piqued my interest in Napoleonic history as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Hi Analise

    Elise

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is Josephine Gone Wild instead

    Wow Josephine. You're quite saucy. Very saucy. I found it a little hard to like her. She seemed superficial, flaky, and although I'm sure she was a good mother, there was just something about her I could not sympathize with. Perhaps she's just too much of a party animal for her own good. It annoyed me though, with her behavior towards Napoleon and when the tables turned on her she had the galls to say: "I felt a pang, for until now I believed that he had been faithful to me. I knew I had no right to expect fidelity as I had a lover of my own. Yet the thought of my husband with another woman was surprisingly hurtful to me." Whatever Josephine. It's okay if you act that way, but when someone does the same thing to you, you feel the right to whine and cry about it. Go find the next man on your list of many and move on. That is not to say that Napoleon was a saint. He was far from it and I just couldn't understand why she put up with his horrible treatment. So, I really didn't find any of the characters in the book that likable. Despite this though, I did enjoy reading this book. The history in it was well written and detailed. I liked the detailed setting of Martinique, and how it might have been back then. The descriptions on how chaotic France was during this time was good enough to give you the atmosphere and feel of the time and how horrible the Reign of Terror really was although, even then Josephine found a way to "have fun" it's like she was on very strong Viagra medication all throughout this time, and throughout the book. I'd have to say at least there wasn't much in terms of explicit scenes regarding her exploits. Otherwise I probably wouldn't have read the book from cover to cover. Regarding the "stranger" that she fell in love with on Martinique. I thought it was a little strange at first. Especially when she first meets this person. I didn't think he actually existed (apparently, she was visited by someone while sleeping and it felt like a dream) that particular sequence got me wondering why was this included and what was the point? I wondered if maybe it had to do with the spiritual theme of Martinique and what the slaves believed in. However I thought that part was just unnecessary and even silly. It just didn't need to be there. As the book progresses, the stranger is finally explained and the mystery surrounding him is lifted. It was a tolerable explanation, but at least I finally knew he actually existed. Basically it boils down to this; I liked the book because of the history surrounding Josephine and Napoleon. The writing was good and the historical setting was excellent and definitely gave the reader a good sense of the scene and the events surrounding these two important historical figures. I believe Josephine's exploits were just added to make the story more entertaining and more interesting. However that's where it fails. I think the reader would prefer reading more on Josephine's volatile relationship with Napoleon instead of her wild escapades with other men. If the reader could ignore that (hard to do, as it's mentioned a lot throughout the book) and just focus on the historical aspect of the book, you could say, that it's a decent enough book to read.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    Good Read

    I am not entirely through the book, but so far its a good read. This is my first book on Josephine so I am not sure just how accurate the historical aspect is, but it is a fun read which keeps you guessing about what is to come.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    An enjoyable read.

    I found this book to be very intesting and it held my antention though the whole thing. It is very much like her other two novels and I find her writing style to be very good. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys historical fiction. This book was also refeshing for me because I haven't come across many books about Josephine. The only problem I had with this book is that there were parts that I felt could have had more detail written in rather than just being glossed over. But all in all a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2