Customer Reviews for

Secret Life of a Vampire (Love at Stake Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Sparks urban fantasy tale is an exiting investigative thriller

    Anyone with Casanova's blood flowing through his head should be a great lover. Alas the incredible paramour's son Giacomo de Venezia must have somehow skipped the seduction gene. Known as Jack, instead of scoring with any woman he wants with the sophistication of his sire, he cannot get to the plate to swing the bat let alone hit a home run unless he uses his vampire skills to propel the female.

    At a bachelor party, Jack and human police officer Lara Boucher meet when she sees blood all over the rug. He considers telling her the truth that what she sees is Bliskey, synthetic blood used by vampires like him, but decides it sounds too far-fetched so he turns to his vampiric magnetism to make her forget. Instead she ignores his power stunning him as humans always "obey". Instead he tries his dormant Casanova DNA to persuade the cop he is attracted to that he killed no one. When a college coed goes missing, the evidence points to Jack. With Lara believing in him, they investigate together. As they fall in love, they realize there have been other recent similar disappearances.

    The latest Sparks urban fantasy tale is an exiting investigative thriller starring a likable but flawed vampire and the courageous mortal who proves his equal. Readers will know Jack as he struggles to be a chip off the old block until he meets the suspicious Lara. Together they make a formable team as they investigate the vanishings with Malcontents sightings. With a super late twist, Kerrelyn Sparks will take a large bout out of her fans sleep with this enjoyable in a one sitting thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Excellent series

    Hope the series never ends. These are great easy to read books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Not as good as the others

    This starts out good but somewhere in the middle it gets cheesy and boring. I liked jacks character and initally liked lara but i found myself frustrated with her. Like another review mentioned i found myself skipping a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Paranormal Fun

    Always enjoy Kerrelyn's books, but these situations always seem to make me laugh out loud when I'm reading. Very enjoyable and quick reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great series!!

    Vampires hoping for love! Ongoing twists! Couldn't put it down!! Needed more!! Don't read out of order, you'll spoil the story & not understand part of the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Once I began the series I couldn't stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Loved this book

    My favorite so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Couldn't put down!

    Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    This was bad

    OK, I almost did not read this book but once I start a series I feel obligated to give it a shot. I have never skimmed over so much material. This was so poorly written that I just wanted to cry. It was really written for the preteen or illiterate. No real plot and the female ,Lara, was a real drag. The author has a formula and she does not stray very far. It's really to bad she has an opportunity to develop each character but it just does not work for her. I think she should reconsider writing. I am not reading any more from this series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    This whole series is great. Check it out.

    Since How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire, the saga continues about Vamps vs malcontents and the interactions between Vamps and humans. Love is a central theme throughout and it does conquer all. Kerrelyn Sparks' writing flows smoothly and her works are easy reads that provide a welcome respite to dealing with everyday pressures and problems. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Good read

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    An absolute delight-highly recommended!

    Kerrelyn Sparks is awesome. I love her Love At Stake series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    another excellant read!

    kerrelyn sparks' 'love at stake' series never disappoints! once again the malcontents are causing trouble, however their leader was disposed of in the last story, and the new leader is even nastier! in the course of the battle between good and evil, romance flourishes once again. when you open the book and start to read, your attention will be captured until the story ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I really love this series. Its funny, smart, sexy, and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Wonderful story line...

    Let me start by saying I love Jack! The story in this book is wonderfully designed. Kudos again, Kerrelyn, for another mind blowing book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Dare you not to love Giacomo after this book

    Giacomo / Jack is the most interesting vamp back story of how he came to be a vamp in our dear series. Youu can not help but adore him and his playful ways. Lara is so far my favorite lady of the book series. She was no push over and she was smart while still being sassy. Grazie for Giacomo!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    One of my favorites

    This series is great and secret life of a vampire is one of my favorited. Alot of humor and Jack is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    another good one

    another good read in the series. an enjoyable, quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Great for a rainy day or if in NY at this time...a snowy day!

    You gotta love the pic of the guy on the cover, he's so cute...worth reading and picturing Jack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    GREAT!!!!

    I loved this book! It starts off hilarious,come on a vamp bachelor party inluding vanna dolls thats just funny. once you start this book you won't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16