Customer Reviews for

Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bridget's Review

Harry and his wife have separated and living next door to the DILF (Dad I'd Like to F---) is Lyssa Harper. Harry is struggling with the new lifestyle change and there just doesn't seem to be enough hours in the day. He's juggling his job, raising his kids and dealing wi...
Harry and his wife have separated and living next door to the DILF (Dad I'd Like to F---) is Lyssa Harper. Harry is struggling with the new lifestyle change and there just doesn't seem to be enough hours in the day. He's juggling his job, raising his kids and dealing with the fact that his marriage is over. Lyssa decides that the proper thing to do is introduce Harry to the Paradise Heights Women's League Board so that it's members can help Harry with this difficult transition. Soon, he is inundated with help. Help that keeps women flocking to his door. Harry appreciates help but this is all way too much for him which leads him to do the logical thing. He is on the Women's League crap list. The only friend that understand is the Lyssa and pretty soon she starts looking at Harry in a whole new light. She begins to question her own union and wonders which path she wants to take at this new fork in the road called life.

WOW! I don't even really know what to say. This was an amazing book that kept me entertained from page one until the end. If you like "Desperate Housewives" you will absolutely adore this book. I would even venture to say that it's better than the TV show. Gasp! I know, I didn't expect that either!

posted by bridget3420 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to the neighborhood

3.5 Stars

Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives introduces the reader to the wealthy stay-at-home mothers. Or as I referred to them as the "mean mommies". Meet Lyssa, our protagonist. Immediately I liked her. Yes, at times she came across as a bit naive, however I didn'...
3.5 Stars

Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives introduces the reader to the wealthy stay-at-home mothers. Or as I referred to them as the "mean mommies". Meet Lyssa, our protagonist. Immediately I liked her. Yes, at times she came across as a bit naive, however I didn't find it to be irritating or a distraction from the story. Next are Lyssa's friends: Brooke, Tammy, Margot and Colleen. Each woman appears to have the perfect life at first glance, but when the reader gets to know them, it's easy to see the flaws each works hard to keep hidden.

Lyssa and Harry first meet by accident at the neighborhood park. After several minutes of small talk, Harry breaks down and confides in Lyssa about the breakup of his marriage. From that moment on, Harry and Lyssa become friends. Thinking it's in Harry's best interest, Lyssa decides to introduce him to her friends. Little does she know, this introduction is the catalyst that will bring her to where she is supposed to be.

Reading Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives was like watching a television drama. Lots of gossip, back-stabbing, extramarital affairs and pettiness. As much as I liked Lyssa, I did not care for her so-called "friends". With friends like these, who needs enemies? At times, I found myself shaking my head and wondering why these women are taking things so seriously and going to the extreme to getting what they thought they deserved. Watching Lyssa's relationship with Harry continue to grow, despite the "mean mommies", made up for their cattiness.

Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives, was humorous at times and certainly entertaining. It's a good escape from your everyday hassles as you find yourself engrossed in other people's lives. When the book is over, and you say goodbye to your new friends, you'll realize your life isn't as bad as you think.

posted by IHeart2Read on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Harry and his wife have separated and living next door to the DILF (Dad I'd Like to F---) is Lyssa Harper. Harry is struggling with the new lifestyle change and there just doesn't seem to be enough hours in the day. He's juggling his job, raising his kids and dealing with the fact that his marriage is over. Lyssa decides that the proper thing to do is introduce Harry to the Paradise Heights Women's League Board so that it's members can help Harry with this difficult transition. Soon, he is inundated with help. Help that keeps women flocking to his door. Harry appreciates help but this is all way too much for him which leads him to do the logical thing. He is on the Women's League crap list. The only friend that understand is the Lyssa and pretty soon she starts looking at Harry in a whole new light. She begins to question her own union and wonders which path she wants to take at this new fork in the road called life.

    WOW! I don't even really know what to say. This was an amazing book that kept me entertained from page one until the end. If you like "Desperate Housewives" you will absolutely adore this book. I would even venture to say that it's better than the TV show. Gasp! I know, I didn't expect that either!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes You Think

    This is the kind of book that you read and then start looking at your neighbors in a whole new light. This was Wisteria Lane, Peyton Place, and swinging key parties, all tied up in a twisted knot as only Josie Brown can write.

    This was a thrilling, but scary look at suburbia. It isn't as friendly as you think it is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    There really were some great secrets in this one!

    The title really holds true with this one! There were quite a few secrets that I never expected. The one at the end was a real treat :-)

    The main characters in this one were pretty well written. There were a few scenes that seemed to be a bit out of character, but as the title suggests there were quite a few secrets, so maybe these were just more of them. I tend to think the best of people, and while I knew from the word go that DeeDee was trouble I never expected some of the other people to take the actions they did. I liked Lyssa, she reminded me a lot of myself in her personality. Harry was also a great character. He was so sweet, except for the scene with Ted on Thanksgiving... That was a different story!

    The way this story unfolded it was impossible to tell what was really getting ready to happen. Even the end was a bit surprising to me (and I really like to try and figure out the ending). This definitely makes me think twice about my quiet little neighborhood.

    This was really a page turner as I wanted to see what secret was going to be exposed next, and who it was going to implicate. Believe me there were soooo many...

    Well worth the read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives

    I so loved this book! A totally entertaining read. I felt as if I knew so many of these characters -- particularly the mean mommies, who you'll find in EVERY community. I think the author nailed them perfectly. AndLyssa Harper, the heroine, makes so many of the same mistakes in love and longing that we all make. Talk about someone you can relate to!

    Believe it or not, this is one of those books that you actually hate to see come to an end. That's saying a lot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Adult Summer Fun!

    This was an absolutely delicious book! It was witty and snarky and a total delight to dive into! There's a bit of language, so for some it might not be the right fit. But those instances are few and far between and personally, for me, the humor and fun of this read far outweighed those instances. I honestly couldn't put this one down and read it straight through...grown up summer fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Suburbia is a jungle!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel! It blends elements of both chick lit and women's fiction into a delightful story of suburbia - and it is not always a pretty picture! This book actually reminded me a bit of Desperate Housewives - lots of infidelity, backstabbing, secrets, and sex! Just my kind of book!

    Lyssa Harper befriends her neighbor, DILF du jour (Dad I'd Like to...well you know!) Harry Wilder after he is separated from his wife. He is floundering through life, trying to be a single dad and hold onto his career at the same time. Lyssa really feels for him and tries to help him through life post-separation. To help him integrate into the mommy scene, she introduces him to her friends at the Paradise Heights Women's League Board. Poor Harry - he never had a chance! These women are C-R-A-Z-Y!! Harry is soon bombarded with food deliveries, new clothing in the form of leopard print bikini briefs (yes, for HIM!), and women rearranging his kitchen cabinets and drawers.

    Harry is forced to draw a line and soon finds himself exiled from the mommies of Paradise Heights. Lyssa continues to be his friend, to the anger of her mommy friends. What Lyssa doesn't expect is the impact that this friendship will have on her own marriage with her hubby (who likes to watch tv sports while having sex - what a great guy!), and her so-called "friends".

    This is a fast read and a great story. I enjoyed reading about Lyssa and Harry's friendship and the shenanigans of the mommy clique were downright hysterical! This would make a great beach read - definitely recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Fun indulgence! Great snark, and spot on about suburgatory!

    Fun indulgence! Great snark, and spot on about suburgatory!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am a huge fan of Brown

    Fans of Desperate Housewives are going to gobble up SECRET LIVES OF HUSBANDS AND WIVES by Josie Brown. What happens with the gated community of Paradise Heights will leave you wanting more by Brown. Lies, backstabbing, cheating and carpooling wrapped together with some interesting female characters and one DILF makes for a page turning story. I loved this novel for many reasons...who doesn't like getting carried away in the gossip of suburbia, who doesn't love sex, lies sandal. You may know how the story is going to end, but not how they all ended up there! I promise this will be a guilty pleasure and hopefully your new favorite show come Fall!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to the neighborhood

    3.5 Stars

    Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives introduces the reader to the wealthy stay-at-home mothers. Or as I referred to them as the "mean mommies". Meet Lyssa, our protagonist. Immediately I liked her. Yes, at times she came across as a bit naive, however I didn't find it to be irritating or a distraction from the story. Next are Lyssa's friends: Brooke, Tammy, Margot and Colleen. Each woman appears to have the perfect life at first glance, but when the reader gets to know them, it's easy to see the flaws each works hard to keep hidden.

    Lyssa and Harry first meet by accident at the neighborhood park. After several minutes of small talk, Harry breaks down and confides in Lyssa about the breakup of his marriage. From that moment on, Harry and Lyssa become friends. Thinking it's in Harry's best interest, Lyssa decides to introduce him to her friends. Little does she know, this introduction is the catalyst that will bring her to where she is supposed to be.

    Reading Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives was like watching a television drama. Lots of gossip, back-stabbing, extramarital affairs and pettiness. As much as I liked Lyssa, I did not care for her so-called "friends". With friends like these, who needs enemies? At times, I found myself shaking my head and wondering why these women are taking things so seriously and going to the extreme to getting what they thought they deserved. Watching Lyssa's relationship with Harry continue to grow, despite the "mean mommies", made up for their cattiness.

    Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives, was humorous at times and certainly entertaining. It's a good escape from your everyday hassles as you find yourself engrossed in other people's lives. When the book is over, and you say goodbye to your new friends, you'll realize your life isn't as bad as you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Had me hooked!

    Enjoyed it thoroughly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Good gossip read

    Good book filled with gossip and nosey neighbors! Fun beach/summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Are you kidding me?

    This was seriously one of the worst books I have ever read in my life. We are supposed to feel sorry for the main character and her hardships in her mcmansionville community. It made me want to vomit. She was so smug in her belief that while we should feel sorry for her in her struggles we would all REALLY love to be her and live her tacky, pretentious and shallow life.
    Probably the worst part of it was that she listed the BRANDS of EVERYTHING from shoes to cell phones and even the shower head!!! LOL as if we CARE!!! The story was lame and predicatable but was mostly lost in fluff anyways.
    Anyone who wants to see this story actually told well and with quite a bit less blabber should read Wifey by Judy Blume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1