Customer Reviews for

The Secret Lives of Wives: Women Share What It Really Takes to Stay Married

Average Rating 3
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

interesting

Enjoyed it. Beautiful written. Great Read

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sample

The book may be great, but this so-called sample will not give you any idea because it is nothing from the book,but one paragraph for 17 pages??

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    interesting

    Enjoyed it. Beautiful written. Great Read

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    An honest look at what it takes

    Most of the one-star reviews on this page seem to be about the size of the sample excerpt available. I agree that it's too short - especially because this is such a great book!

    Married for more than two decades herself, Krasnow interviews two hundred of her fellow "oldyweds" and combs their stories for the best insights about how to make marriage work. The most important insight is this: a happy marriage is between two happy and fulfilled individuals; it can't be a source of happiness and fulfillment in itself.

    How the individuals in a marriage achieve fulfillment differs wildly from couple to couple. Women in this book talk about things as diverse as rediscovering childhood passions, spending more time with girlfriends, and yes, having flirty friendships with men. Krasnow presents it all in an even-handed, nonjudgmental way. Her mantra: it's their marriage, not mine.

    A fascinating look at what marriage *really* looks like today.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    I thought this book would make me smile. I was a paradigm shift for me. I'm so glad I read it. I have recommended it to 2 of my friends.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Sample

    The book may be great, but this so-called sample will not give you any idea because it is nothing from the book,but one paragraph for 17 pages??

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Hmmm don't judge a book by its cover.....errr sample

    Giving a book a bad review based solely on the sample because you're too cheap to buy the whole book is really not fair. How dare you lower the score of a book because you didn't get enough for free.

    This is a great book that inspires you to push through when you're feeling like its time to throw in the towel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    This was one book that I did not want to end....that's how AWESO

    This was one book that I did not want to end....that's how AWESOME it was!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Sample!!!!!!!!

    This is the worst sample ever!It dos not even show you a whole paragraph!You do not get the story line at all!!!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Sample

    This is the worst sample I have downloaded! The book starts on page #16 of the 17 page sample and it isn't even a complete paragraph.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    I expected something different

    I have to say that I went into this book expecting something very different.

    I am glad to know that my married life is pretty much the same as all the other women - but I couldn't get over how in each woman's story I read over and over that the woman just 'submitted' or 'accepted' her life and then went on...

    There were not 'secrets' that I haven't heard myself saying.

    Maybe I interpreted it wrong, but it did very little for me or the growth of my married life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not much here

    Very hard to get thru and the message is repetitive. Could have been written in 25 pages or less.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Life altering!

    I am still young at only 27 but I have been with my husband of 2 years for nine. I never thought marriage would be easy but I have to tell you, this book made a world of difference in the way I view all the years I plan to be with my husband. It is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Repetitive

    I liked the concept, but the format was very repetitive. Every chapter goes a little like this: Introduction with flashback of authors life, followed by brief introduction of the person interviewed with a story, reflection of random memory by author that may or may not be relevent to the story just shared. Save some time by skipping over the flashbacks and read the stories of those interviewed. Which coincidently have the theme of "times will be tough, get a hobby and everything will be okay when you reflect on it later."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Wonderful book

    I found this book to be a well written and interesting read. As a woman married for 16 years, I found alot of the stories in this book entertaining and the advice offered by other married women to be useful.

    I think this is a must read for all married women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    loved it

    This is a great book...I'm a young woman and hope to be married in my not too far future. This book is relevant to my life and makes me think about marriage in a little bit of a different light. I'm thankful for seeing the next step in my future through an alternate lens then the same one I've known for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Phenomenal

    A must read for anyone who is in or plans to be in a relationship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Fascinating Read

    This is an interesting look into real lives, some extreme, and what they do in order to keep it going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    ¿The Secret Lives of Wives¿ pulls back the blinds as well as the sheets on real marriages, some blissful, others rocky, still others outrageous.

    Regardless, these well-told stories prompt the reader to assess their own marriage, and for that the reader will be grateful.

    Iris Krasnow offers an entertaining, informative and thought-provoking read, one that should be welcomed in any bedroom, one that could generate plenty of conversation and even activity there ¿ under the sheets and behind the blinds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    I did not agree with any of these woman.

    Many of the woman in this book decided to be with bad company rather than by themselves. I am married, never would I or my husband take trips without each other. I stopped reading more than half way through this book because it was upsetting and unbelievable.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    eye opener

    i love how the author told the women's stories in such different examples. both enlightening and entertaining it was hard to put this book down






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Stupid sample

    I am not buying because the 17 page sample revealed nothing about the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2