Customer Reviews for

A Secret Love (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent romance

    In 1820, the promissory note shook Alathea Morwellan to the bone. Apparently, her business-dumb father, the Earl of Meredith agreed to remit an amount worth more than his earldom for a percentage of the profits garnered by the Central East Africa Gold Company. Having been the brains behind the success of the earldom for the past eleven years, Alathea refuses to idly await disaster on something that smells of fraud. <P>Alathea decides to wear a veil to hide her identity and obtain help from someone she can trust to remain discreet in case he learns who she is. She turns to her childhood foe Gabriel Cynster, who has a reputation of assisting ladies in trouble for a price. Gabriel charges her with a kiss every time he assists her. As he works to uncover the identity of the con artist(s), Gabriel and Alathea find their kisses turning more passionate each time. Love begins to blossom, even as he tries to uncover the identity of the woman he now plans to marry. <P> A SECRET LOVE is an entertaining Regency romance that will thrill sub-genre fans due to its competent and ardent lead protagonists. The extended families of the two stars magnify the story line by providing depth to plot and to the protagonists. Stephanie Laurens' fifth Cynster tale is another triumph in a series that shows why the era is so cherished by readers. <P>Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    The title is exactly the right one

    I read this book straight on and fell in love with the author. The characters are colorful and quite real. It was very easy to slip into the moment, identify with the heroine and keep turning the pages. And I laughed a lot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Lauren's best!

    I am a big fans of Lauren's later works, starting with Devil's Bride, but this is her best. The characters are richly developed, the plot is great and the love scenes are too hot for words.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    WONDERFUL!!

    She writes the best romance novels that I have ever read. After everyone has gone to bed, it's my turn to be swept away, in history. Thank you!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Awsome....

    i loved the book. There is not much more to say but read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Great story/book!!  Great series!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Great story/book!!  Great series!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Kelsey

    *shrugs and walks to the kitchen and jesse sits by her bags*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Rier

    Sighed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Great book

    Love this book. Highly recommend. Sweet, passionate and loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Exciting and very romantic

    I have read all of the Cynster novels and enjoyed each one
    for different reasons. The characters, their strengths, skills
    and their compassion and love of family.
    A must read if you enjoy historical romantic novels. You will get
    hooked on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Rm

    Hey mom!!!!! I missed u guyz!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Rm

    Sorry ima gtb now...good night mom. Ima be on tomorrow at 3:30. Stay sweet[•_~]

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I first read this book about 15 years ago, but it is still my fa

    I first read this book about 15 years ago, but it is still my favorite romance hands down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Best one yet!

    I have read all of her books amd this one is my favorite by far!! The dynamic between Gabriel and Alathea is so heart melting and absolutely sizzling! This is the best story of them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    My favorite of the series

    Of all the heros and heroines in this series, non captured my heart like these. Wonderfully satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    Another good one....

    Starting with the Devil's Bride, the entire Cynster series is hard to put down. Gabriel Cynster, is about to fall and fall hard. He's been consistently against marriage since the series began with that prickly feeling that runs up and down his spine every time another of the Bar Cynster falls into the marital snare. But he finds his match in Alathea. And a good match it is. Not only are the characters and the love stories intriguing and interesting as the two main characters find each other and the secondary characters continue to endear us to this family of sensual, sexy, men, but the mysteries that bring the characters together, that must also be solved, have made the books that much more enjoyable. Another winner for Ms. Laurens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    It seduced me...

    My first read of a Stephanie Laurens book and first romance novel in years. I couldn't put it down. A real story, real characters, and very descriptive and realistic sensual scenes. I want to read all the bar Cynster series now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    EXCELLENT....as always..

    Great book...Stephanie Laurens entertains us with the perfect males...the CYNSTERS...and the perfect stories..ahhhhhh.kerboom..kerboom...(heart-thumping)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2001

    Best Book I've Read In a Long Time

    This book was outstanding, marvalous, great... Theres so many words to describe this book. It kept me in suspense. It was so good that I couldn't put the book down. This book kept me up till 3 a.m. in the morining. Thats how good this book is. The title to this book basically decribes the plot. Theres a secret love that can't be revealed or everything will fall out of place. I would recommend this book to all of you romantics out there. So hurry up and pick up this book... If you don't, you'll be missing out on some good reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2001

    A secret love shoud not be a secret book!

    This was the first book I read by Stephanie but it will not be the last! I can't wait until all the Cynsters fall in love...this is by far the best romance book ever written. If I could give this bok 6 stars I would. Stephanie is the DIVA OF ROMANCE!!! I absolutely fell in love with Gabriel by the way, I'm glad he changed his name from Rupert!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4