Customer Reviews for

The Secret Man: The Story of Watergate's Deep Throat

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Good, but nothing new here.

    Let me first say that I'm a huge Watergate buff, and I have been enthralled since I was a teenager with the greatest political scandal that the United States has ever known. With that said, anything that I can read, watch, or listen to about the era, I enjoy immensely and completely devour. Bob Woodward is also one of my favorite authors, and I've read most of his books, so all the above criteria accounts for the three star rating. Unfortunately, there is nothing new to offer in this book. Most of it is a rehash of material that is long familiar to students of the scandal. There was so much media attention last year when Deep Throat was unmasked in Vanity Fair that most of what Woodward details here, I have already read in newspaper accounts and coverage last spring. Woodward was beaten on his own story here which is a shame, because I think if he was able to disclose Deep Throat's identity, in a book before anyone else did, it would have been spellbinding. Instead, in today's media world the book seems unneccessary. I will always read every Woodward book that he puts out there, but there is really nothing worth discovering here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    good book, but...

    It's clear that Woodward's relationship with Mr. Felt was strained for so many years. As a working journalist, I thought Woodward played loose with his source, all but identifying him during his original reporting (mentioned FBI sources led the White House to focus on Felt as Deep Throat). That aside, this could have been a lengthy magazine article instead of a book. Still, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    A Period to All the President's Men

    I am being generous when I give Woodward's latest money-maker a 3-star rating. My gut feeling puts it in the 2-star group! It was extremely disappointing and over hyped. Mr. Berstein added little. But hey, it made them money and that is what counts. Once Mark Felt was officially acknowledged as 'Deep Throat' in 'Vanity Fair', that put a period on the Nixon White House era. I am sure Woodward felt (no pun intended) betrayed. It was his(and Felt's)story to be told. Problem was, there wasn't much left to be told, only a name, and Vanity Fair said it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    A Must-Read!

    Author and veteran reporter Bob Woodward ends this book by saying, 'There never is a final draft of history.' Perhaps, but his book turns the page on an era and on Deep Throat - the code name for FBI official W. Mark Felt - the pivotal secret source for the Watergate stories that helped bring down Richard Nixon's presidency. Remarkably, Woodward and his Washington Post colleagues protected their source's identity for more than 30 years. Woodward paints a compelling portrait of his almost tortured relationship with Felt, a father figure and mentor. Several times Felt came a hair's breadth from being exposed. Pained, Woodward admits that he missed his chance to uncover Felt's motivations for abetting the Post's investigative crusade. By the time Woodward tried to reconcile their troubled relationship, Felt was 87 and dementia had twisted his memory. Yet, Felt triumphed in his historic clash with Nixon. Woodward concludes, 'By surviving and enduring his hidden life...in his own way, W. Mark Felt won.' Carl Bernstein's epilogue, 'A Reporter's Assessment,' is an equally fascinating contribution. We most highly recommend this book, especially for those seeking a better understanding of the Watergate participants, whose actions will continue to ripple the waters of American politics for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    A Great Final Chapter

    Like a final wrap up episode of a television series, The Secret Man is a satisfying coda for All The President's Men & The Final Days. This book addressed many unanswered questions on a story that has come full circle. Woodward, Bernstein & Felt are true American heroes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    An American Hero

    Mark Felt is a true American hero.The next time a book about 'Profiles in Courage' is written, there should be a chapter devoted to him. He put a stop to Presidental abuse of power and corruption of the intelligence agencies that was being done by a handful of corrupt people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    A Deep Disappointment

    I read the Washington Post article by Bob Woodward that appeared shortly after reading the Vanity Fair article revealing that Mark Felt was Deep Throat. I should have stopped there and not purchased this book because it offers no insights beyond the two articles. Too bad no one has discovered a version of the Deep Throat story written by Mark Felt prior to his memory loss or that Mr Woodward did not seek an earlier reconciliation and collaboration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    interesting

    i like the thoughts and topics,very alive and not very boring at all.i also like its title at first which bougt me to its main messages and story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    recalling old days

    It was an okay read. Deep Throat had already lost his memories, and that was, probably, good. That part of America is history and is where it belongs. This book didn't revel much that intellingent people knew. trying to make a good buck! nothing wrong with that. another movie?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Great Read - details finally here for us all!

    If you lived through Watergate - this is a must read. If you are too young to have known Watergate but have watched the movie - All The President's Men and are facinated that THIS REALLY happened in America - you will like this book as well. If you know nothing about Watergate - YOU NEED TO KNOW what happend and how it was such an accident that these 2 tallented young Wash. Post cub reporters uncovered the most derelict Presidency event in probably all the KNOWN history of the White House. For those of us who lived through this major political event - we are all glad now to finally have the answer about who Deep Throat was before 'we died!' My poor dad did not live to know who it was - he wanted to know so badly - but he always held out that it HAD to be someone high up in the FBI and was firmly convinced that is the only person that could have gotten away with being Deep Throat - anyone else was too much of a target - or involved in the cover up itself. Dad, you got it right! More then a great summer read - everyone should have this one on their library shelf to complete the picture of what happened in-between the pages of what we have known about for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1