Customer Reviews for

The Secret Pearl

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    PHENOMENAL!!!!!!

    By far the best read I have had all year. I just put the book down and felt a sadness because it had to come to an end. Balogh is by far my new favorite author. I have read her simply series which was also exceptional. She is a brilliant story teller. This book is a definate page turner..She is a GENIUS

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong Regency romance

    With no protection any longer from lecherous relatives, penniless Isabella Fleur Bradshaw flees for London, but her only means of money is her body. Outside Drury Lane Theater, the recently war scarred and angry Duke of Ridgeway Adam Kent sees her standing nearby so assuming she is a whore, he buys Fleur¿s services. Though married and feeling guilty for breaking his vows, Adam roughly takes the street harlot his hooker shows no reactions at all. He leaves her extra money and leaves. --- Later Adam feels guilty about how harshly he took the young woman who now reflecting on her he realizes she is quality who must have fallen to poverty. He sends his secretary Houghton to find her to offer her the job of governess to his five years old daughter Lady Pamela. Fleur struggling with her only assignment as a whore accepts the job though she fears her duke only wants her as his mistress. However, on his estate the duke realizes he wants the governess not his cold termagant wife Sybil. --- THE SECRET PEARL is a reprint of a strong Regency romance starring two fully developed characters. The key to this fine drama is how much the audience understands what drives Fleur and even more penetrating into his soul what demons move Adam. The villains (his wife and brother and her cousin) contain no redeeming qualities as they are self-indulged hedonists (have problems envisioning selfish Sybil pregnant even if that was her duty). Still Mary Balogh¿s novel was a bold historical when it first was released in 1991 and remains a powerful tale that sub-genre fans will appreciate. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I found the bok to be well thought out with regard to the plot. Unusual twist of fates, although the outcome was the norm. I read it in a day as i couldnt put it down. Ive actually begun to read or look at other books by this author as the writing style is smooth and intelligent as to the period .....Victorian Era. Hard to find authors with much knowledge of the forays of life during that tiime. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Greatest book

    I absolutely loved and would recommend this book to everyone. I wished all her books were written as fabolously as this one. Fleur is amazing as well as the duke.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Really liked this story.

    This was a very good book, a heart string pulling romance and it actually had a plot that alot of romance novels leave out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    THE BEST!!!!

    I had been a fan of Mary Balogh for a long time and just recently came to find this novel . . . This is Balogh at her finest, could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    its an emotional bliss!!!

    you simply must read this. I love Adam!!!! he's what romantics like me wish for. Two very different people daring to fall in love despite impossible situation. Its a love story unlike any other!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Awful, insipid, tedious read. If i had know this book would so boring and pathetic

    Horrible, do not waste your money onthis book. Get it at the library if you must. Do not buy. Awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite premises, as is a bad

    Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite premises, as is a badly-behaving hero who makes up for it. After the way this book started, I wasn't sure the Duke of Ridgeway/Adam Kent was going to be able to pull it off. Be warned, the first chapter may trigger strong reactions to those sensitive to non-con scenes. While the sex is consensual in the strict sense, it's not pretty. It doesn't take long for the hero to show his true colors, though there are many obstacles to this pair's happy ending. The heroine, Fleur, has every reason to be terrified of him throughout a good portion of the book. The settings feel very authentic in detail. Though I'm not a huge fan of that much of it, there was enough tension in the story to easily carry me through. A few scenes toward the end are tragically romantic; the ending quite satisfying. Both leads were very well developed, the others as well as they needed to be. This is book was originally published in 1991, and does have the flavor of earlier romances (which I often enjoy and certainly did in this case). 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Loved It!

    Mary Balogh's books are hit or miss sometimes, but this was definitely one of her best. It's been a long time since I've read a book that I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Could not put down

    This has everythng I read Mary Balogh for. A heartbreaking scenario, lovers whose misunderstandings lead to grief, tragedy and then release from suffering. A must read if you like this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Too Much Scenery

    Okay...this book got three stars because I liked the characters and the story. I did not like how the author repeated the same phrase over and over again and went on and on about scenery. But, it was a good story overall and Fleur and Adam were good together....a little over the top mooshy at times but I liked it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Awesomely Done!

    Captavating!!! Speechless...! Must read book this year. Outstanding story, outstanding characters. LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3