Customer Reviews for

Secret Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Another great book in the Lucas Davenport series.

    The Lucas Davenport series by John Sanford is a great murder mystery series with great characters and excellent story lines. The endings are always a surprise. Highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    A Definite Read

    Love Sandford's books, they never disappoint. My only objection is the use of the "F" word. If he could cut back on that it would be 10*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Great read. Worth your time. Am reading the whole series and th

    Great read. Worth your time. Am reading the whole series and this is one of the better one. Love the ending!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    The Prey Series is fantastic!

    I love this whole series, the Secret Prey was definitely one of them at the top!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Another great read

    I love Sanford's Prey series, but i had a lot of problems with this electronic copy. Lots of typos and problems with the pages just returning to previous pages when trying to advance through the story. 5 stars for the story, but 3 stars for the electronic issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    A Departure from the Usual Sanford Writing Style ... Early on.

    The 9th installment of the "Prey Series" seemed like a bit of a departure from the usual writing style of J.S. ... at least thru the 1st half of the book which was approx 50 pgs longer than the 8 I have read so far from the series.

    It starts as more of a "whodunnit" mystery vs a suspense type thriller I had come to expect from the outset. It took some time to describe & introduce a whole cast of characters & it actually seemed a bit tedious to read early on if compared to earlier efforts, but it definitely redeemed itself after the real protagonist Lucas faced was revealed & he bagan to work his "detective magic" to unreavel the truth of it all.

    When all is said & done, this is yet another very satisfying read & made me equally impatient for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Buy 'em once, buy 'em twice!

    Sandford is the real thing - a real writer. I buy any of his books with PREY in the title. Sometimes twice, by mistake. If you're a Davenport fan (lead role) be sure to also read the Virgil Flowers titles. Flowers works for Davenport, sort of. Hilarious. Sandford has a great ear, a sharp eye, and hound's nose for details. Read them in order, out of order, it doesn't matter. They're family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    You will get hooked on this series!

    I started with #1 and am now on 11 and I am so hooked on John Sandford. He really has a great style of writing and I really enjoy how he gives you enough detail but not overboard. Every single one so far have been "I hate to put this down" I am looking forward to reading every one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Davenport Hit

    I read this as part of a trilogy of Davenport novels (#s 7, 8 and 9). Based on the brief synopsis of each on the book jacket, I thought I'd like this one the least. I was wrong - this was a great book. Much deeper than one can imagine - even after a slightly slow start. As with the Davenport novels up to this point, we see ongoing development of characters and a depth of the main character that grows with each book. Plenty of action in this one and a great "escapism" type novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    One of the better Davenport books

    This book is one of the better ones in the Davenport series. Sandford seems to have a better imagination for this one. Some of the other books in the series were a bit weak almost bland at times but this one seems spot on. Its a little nutty when it comes to the main female character but the rest of the story flows well. Davenport is a rock solid character even with his rough edges. I like this series and the main characters. Hopefully Sandford sticks to this kind of writing. Witty and sometimes a bit humor which so far I have seen none of really. It makes the stories so much better. The first 8 books or so in the series while good are really lacking alot of depth but this one gets a little better - hope it stays that way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Great Story Line

    As always his books are captivating. Once started you have to follow the story to the end. I would prefer he clean the language up a little (well maybe a lot!). That is the only reason his books don't get a 5 star rating with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Awesome book!!!

    This book is one of the best mystery books I have ever read. Once I started on it, I seriously couldn't put it down. Gripping and fantastic. John Sandford is one hell of a writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2001

    A Solid Whodunit Thriller

    A well written thriller that moves the reader along at a steady pace. Plenty of twists and turns to keep you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2000

    ONE OF THE BEST SUSPENSE NOVELS

    I loved this book. It is one of the best suspense/crime novels that I've read. Davenport is a wonderful character. The story is rich and deep. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4