Customer Reviews for

The Secret School

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is about honesty and trustworthy.

One day Miss.Fletcher (the teacher) leaves the town to go take care of her mom. The school is only one room and one teacher. The school would have to be closed.The students dont want school to end so they were thinking Ida, a 14 year old girl, should be the teacher and ...
One day Miss.Fletcher (the teacher) leaves the town to go take care of her mom. The school is only one room and one teacher. The school would have to be closed.The students dont want school to end so they were thinking Ida, a 14 year old girl, should be the teacher and you'll have to find out the rest when you read it.

posted by Sonya1999 on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Determined to teach

This is a book that is interesting because it describes a one room school and living in the past. But the adventure and excitement is missing. It can be read from cover to cover if you are determined.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is about honesty and trustworthy.

    One day Miss.Fletcher (the teacher) leaves the town to go take care of her mom. The school is only one room and one teacher. The school would have to be closed.The students dont want school to end so they were thinking Ida, a 14 year old girl, should be the teacher and you'll have to find out the rest when you read it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Determined to teach

    This is a book that is interesting because it describes a one room school and living in the past. But the adventure and excitement is missing. It can be read from cover to cover if you are determined.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    A wonderful historical novel.

    Fourteen-year-old Ida Bidson's dream is to become a teacher. But in her remote, poverty-stricken region of Colorado, most dreams don't come true, and those that do take hard work, devotion, and sometimes, just plain luck. But luck seems to be going against Ida when, two months before the end of the term, the teacher must leave to care for her sick mother. Stingy Mr. Jordan, the head of the school board, refuses to hire a teacher this close to the end of the school year. So Ida takes it upon herself to be the teacher, and run the school in secret, so that she can graduate eighth grade and be eligible to attend high school in the fall. But what will happen to Ida and her students if their secret school is discovered? This was a wonderful historical novel about one girl's determination to do whatever it takes to make her hopes and dreams come true.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    LOVE IT!!!

    This is the best book ever and I highly reccomend it. It is so exciting and a page-turner big time. I highly recommend it. You should read it!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    GO Ida!

    OUTSTANDING! I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great book that doesn't take very long. I absolutely loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    The Secret School

    This book is very good I read it awhile ago but I still remember it. This is about Ida who wants to become a teacher and then she finally gets to be one. I reccomend this book to anyone who likes to read. Have Fun

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Good

    It was leaving me hanging of my seat

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    A good read

    This story is not overly creative, but is shows how kids can make a difference through their actions, and that their work, especially school work, is not entirely pointless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Great read!!!

    ~*~i thought that this book was fantastic! it was great book cuz i've alwaiz been interested in that time period and i've alwaiz wanted 2 b a teacher~*~

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Super good!

    I wish it was longer. I couldnt srop reading. I have actually read it about five times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    :)

    Its ok really i actually kind of like it i loved the part when she out smarted and snapped out at herbert bixler know that was so funny this book was great and it was so funny

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Secret school

    Avi is such good writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Awesome!!

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    Overall Good book

    Used this book for 4th & 5th graders book club, they liked he book, its life lesson and the story line itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    The Secret School by Avi

    As a read aloud to my second grade class, the story was very touching and showed the class that even with a young age children can make a difference.
    They enjoyed learning about how school was different in the West compared to their school in the East and in modern times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Great

    Really good book suspenseful when Mr.Jordan comes in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    This is a great book

    This is one of my favorite books for its courageous characteristics every one shows. One girl and her friend have been waiting for so long to graduate and go to high school and leave the small school house. They both studied so hard because they have to pass a test to graduate, bad for them their teacher had to leave. Now they can't take the test,or can they? My favorite part is when the school house gets turned upside down and the smartest girl takes control. Find out what happens when they keep this no teacher school a secret!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    The Secret School is outstanding (but it is not out standing in the field)

    When I started reading this book I could not put it down and every timeI have open I read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Secret School, by AVI, is the most interesting book I have ever read. The book is about Ida and how she struggles to pass her exit exams to go on to high school and then become a teacher. One morning as the kids were settling down, Miss Flecther had an announcement. Her mother got very ill and she had to go to Iowa to be with her mom. If Miss Fletcher leaves Ida can¿t take her exit exams to go on to high school and then become a teacher. The next day Tom, Ida¿s friend, said if you want to be a teacher so much and since you¿re so smart maybe you should be the replacement teacher for Miss Fletcher. Ida becomes the replacement teacher but does she pass her exit exams? Read the book and find out more. My favorite part of this book was when the kids were playing during recess. Ida fell in the pond. Suddenly all the kids jumped into the pond too. They were dripping wet. I thought that was hilarious. Even though Ida was exhausted from working so hard she kept on trying and never gave up. She kept hope that she would become a great teacher one day. I recommend this book to every one because it is very exciting. I think if you want to do something really badly you should work really hard to get to your goal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Slow-going, Predictable Book

    This book is titled The Secret School and is by the author Avi, I have rated this book a three star okay, but not great. I rated this book four stars because I thought it was an okay book, but did not keep your interest. I often found myself wanting to put the book down. I would not recommend this book to anyone who is seeking an exciting book that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The story seems very unrealistic, which is only good to a certain point. You could usually predict what was going to happen next and around when it was going to happen. From the middle of the book I could predict what the ending was going to be. This book tells the story of a school shutting down and how the children in the school continue their education in a secret school run by one of their classmates. I would recommend this book to elementary age students who like slow, easy and predictable books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2