Customer Reviews for

Secret Sins

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rm

Ya here

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Get an editor!

I have enjoyed the mystery, suspense and romance of this series, but I have a hard time reading a book that is so badly edited. Repeated sentences, inconsistent tenses, poor grammar. And this is not the first time Ms. Leigh has released a book in this condition. Such a ...
I have enjoyed the mystery, suspense and romance of this series, but I have a hard time reading a book that is so badly edited. Repeated sentences, inconsistent tenses, poor grammar. And this is not the first time Ms. Leigh has released a book in this condition. Such a prolific author should take more care of the quality of her product.

Ms. Leigh, fire your current editor and hire a new one. If you don't use an editor, hire one. I am available if you are interested.

And Barnes & Noble, review the product before you sell it.

posted by 7143915 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Get an editor!

    I have enjoyed the mystery, suspense and romance of this series, but I have a hard time reading a book that is so badly edited. Repeated sentences, inconsistent tenses, poor grammar. And this is not the first time Ms. Leigh has released a book in this condition. Such a prolific author should take more care of the quality of her product.

    Ms. Leigh, fire your current editor and hire a new one. If you don't use an editor, hire one. I am available if you are interested.

    And Barnes & Noble, review the product before you sell it.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I always enjoy Lora's books, but this one lost a star for editin

    I always enjoy Lora's books, but this one lost a star for editing. There's an entire scene that is repeated almost verbatim starting around page 120 and then again around page 206. That's just unacceptably poor editing.

    This is definitely not a good book to start with, so if you are just discovering Lora, go grab the start of her Seals or Elite Ops series. Overall, the story moves us quite a bit further in the mystery and we are given considerable additional back story. We also suddenly find this story tied in to the Elite Ops series and Rory Malone appears. The sudden tie-ins seemed more than a little forced and it was this that lost the book it's second star. I've never gotten as emotionally connected when reading this series as I have in the Elite Ops or Breeds series. The characters just haven't been able to grab me the same way. Still, a good read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have always heard great things about Lora Leigh¿s books. And,

    I have always heard great things about Lora Leigh’s books. And, having never read one, I was really excited for the opportunity to experience this one. The verdict? It was…… okay. It’s the third book in Leigh’s Callahan series, and I would highly recommend that you read the series from the start, as I felt I had missed A WHOLE LOT of backstory by beginning in the middle. However, it is not necessary if you’re just looking for a steamy romance novel.

    The characters in this book annoyed me. Anna is naïve, weak and sad. She’s let her family bully her, and once she’s in the care of the sheriff, Archer, she lets him do the same thing to her. Archer, who is first portrayed as a caring and understanding person, comes off like a horny teenager who can only think of sex. He spends most of the book considering ways to sleep with Anna. He doesn’t really seem to care about her, just her body. They argue constantly, and instead of standing her ground, she just gives in and lets him have his way with her. It’s sad and not at all what I would call romantic.

    The idea behind the storyline is wonderful. The author is clearly creative in the sense that she knows what will make a great plot. There just wasn’t enough time spent on the ins and outs of such a brilliant idea. I felt like she put entirely too much emphasis on sex. About 70% of the book is repetitive sex scenes that were mostly void of any real emotion. I really felt cheated out of what could have been a great romantic suspense novel.

    As irritated as I was about the storyline, this will not stop me from reading other books by Lora Leigh. I’ll definitely give her books another try, as I did enjoy the idea of her storyline. I just think I may steer clear of this series, as this book wasn’t exactly my cup of tea.

    Reviewed by Marie for Cocktails and Books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Lexi

    And res 2 lol

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Rm

    Ya here

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Not the best

    Story line moved along well. Sex was same old ,same old.
    But, it is a must read if your keeping up with series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Fh

    Ummmm sure..... Emberfur out......peace! I am WAY over my time tho!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    ???

    I have loved all of LL books but there was to much sex. I mean I loved her Pleasure series. I skipped many pages in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Loved it

    Enjoyed the entire series, this didnt disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Very bad,I will never buy her books again.To much of a porn book

    Very bad,I will never buy her books again.To much of a porn book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Love this series

    A really great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love the series, but I thought that this book wasn't an easy r

    I love the series, but I thought that this book wasn't an easy read like the others. The sex scenes are hot but sometimes went on too long. It was hard to believe that a virgin could be such an expert in bed despite her inexperience. I did like that we now know about the reason the Callahan's are being targeted and identity of the
    slasher(s).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Good series

    More than one repeat scene or sentences. Good story, but very hard to concentrate when you keep thinking you've read this part before. Please change editors or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Zann

    Aye

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Enderfur

    "Ok"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Ll

    Lll

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I adore Lora's books but i agree that she truly needs a new edit

    I adore Lora's books but i agree that she truly needs a new editor. I don't mind paying for the books. I enjoy them immensely. However, I have been feeling as if I am reading a much lower grade of her books. As if the book I purchased did not meet quality standards on the 1st cut. I have found this to be so on a number of her books I have purchased. I must admit no matter how much I enjoy her books, I am leary in purchasing anymore. I don't know if they are like this everywhere, but at Barnes & Noble I feel as if we aren't getting the best quality of books . I have enjoyed the Callahan Men very much. My question is why can't we locate the next book which is titled "Ultimate Sin". Some say they purchased while other book stores tell me there is no such book. .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Greatly Disappointed!!!  As a big fan of Lora Leigh's work....th

    Greatly Disappointed!!!  As a big fan of Lora Leigh's work....this book ranked bottom of the barrel.  Grammatical errors, wrong words used, misspelling of a character's name.  To top it off, there are several scenes that were repeated verbatim.  Story did not have a consistent flow...love was professed then several pages later it was as if this did not happen.  Fast forward several pages and the love is professed in a different manner.  Also a scene ended in a way that leaves the reader lost....my friend actually thought she skipped some pages by mistake.   I hope Ms. Leigh does a better job on her next installment of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Way to Inter Connectthe series, cool.

    I am a huge Lora Leigh writer fan, I have read the other books of this series and that definately helps with the storyline, I love that she brought other characters from the other series into this story cause I was really sorry when that series ended. But I have to say a disappointment with Archer and Anna, yes there was sex, but it was just vanilla the only time there was something different was in his thoughts. I mean Archer is kind of built up in the readers eye as theTake no crap,. bad guy in the bed room to try just about anything so you keep reading on to expect something different but ... It's not happening!!!!!!! So that was boring, I do have to agree with one reader it did get tiring hearing," it's so good Archer".

    Ms. Leigh you are an amazing writer, I just think whoever proof reads your books should have pointed things like that out, because there have been a few books that have been like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Lora Leigh Never Dissapoints

    Nauti Boy's and their cousin. Just started this today and I am already half way finished!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4