BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Secret Speech

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant, thrilling follow up to Child 44

Forget about Sophomore Slump...Tom Rob Smith has executed an amazing sequel to the captivating Child 44. We're able to pick up where we left off and begin a whole new adventure, learning even more about the complex characters who took us on the first ride and moving for...
Forget about Sophomore Slump...Tom Rob Smith has executed an amazing sequel to the captivating Child 44. We're able to pick up where we left off and begin a whole new adventure, learning even more about the complex characters who took us on the first ride and moving forward with them. If it was a whole new world in the first book, it is all over again. The rules have changed, and yet they are almost the same in that they are soul squelchingly impossible to navitage and live within. The writing is tight (perhaps tighter than in Child 44) and the action is fast-paced while the emotion remains deep and well explored.
This is an amazing book that pulls you in from many different angles and never lets you down. I wish I'd had it on vacation -- i lost a lot of sleep during a work week when I couldn't put it down.

posted by 1220999 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Misses The Mark Set By CHILD 44

I read CHILD 44; CHILD 44 is an all-time favorite of mine; I know CHILD 44. THE SECRET SPEECH is no CHILD 44. Tom Robb Smith set a high mark for himself with his debut that educated readers on what it was like to live, work, and suffer in Stalinist Russia. He accompli...
I read CHILD 44; CHILD 44 is an all-time favorite of mine; I know CHILD 44. THE SECRET SPEECH is no CHILD 44. Tom Robb Smith set a high mark for himself with his debut that educated readers on what it was like to live, work, and suffer in Stalinist Russia. He accomplished that while thrilling us with an original,superiorly written serial-killer mystery, the solution of which was compromised at every twist and turn by a repressive, persecuting, communist regime where villains flourished, innocent victims were forgotten and rescuers were stopped. Surely a masterpiece. Smith's second attempt delivers little flavor of Russian history, a villain lacking credibility, and many victims we care nothing about. Every few pages one or more of the many characters find themselves in one contrived predicament after another, escaping from storms, ships, prisoner uprisings at sea, gulag uprisings, tortue, runaway trucks, sewers, apartment windows,balconies, gunpoints, tank attacks, exploding buildings, bridge jumpings, and riots until you as the reader finally make the ultimate escape by reaching the end.

posted by Brewer on June 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Brilliant, thrilling follow up to Child 44

    Forget about Sophomore Slump...Tom Rob Smith has executed an amazing sequel to the captivating Child 44. We're able to pick up where we left off and begin a whole new adventure, learning even more about the complex characters who took us on the first ride and moving forward with them. If it was a whole new world in the first book, it is all over again. The rules have changed, and yet they are almost the same in that they are soul squelchingly impossible to navitage and live within. The writing is tight (perhaps tighter than in Child 44) and the action is fast-paced while the emotion remains deep and well explored.
    This is an amazing book that pulls you in from many different angles and never lets you down. I wish I'd had it on vacation -- i lost a lot of sleep during a work week when I couldn't put it down.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Even better than CHILD 44!!

    The SECRET SPEECH is a very different book from the also-brilliant CHILD 44. It is exciting and tragic and disturbing and fun and urgent in completely different ways. The author throws everything out of balance from the very beginning, upsetting the more or less comfortable approval I felt for Leo by the end of CHILD 44. As we learn more about Leo's past, he and his relationship with Raisa become increasingly complex. And the scope is huge. As in CHILD 44, the sociopolitical reality provides context for a suspenseful story about individual people--but it is also the primary moving force behind a bigger story about the struggles of an entire society living under an oppressive regime. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Awesome Book

    All I can say is that this book is another one of his winning books on the market. Do not pass this book up, read, read, read!!!!!!!! He is one awesome writer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    4 1/2 Stars -- A Very Strong Follow-Up To Child 44!

    Let me start off by saying that The Secret Speech is not quite as good as Child 44 -- BUT it is a very good historical thriller and definitely well worth reading. Tom Rob Smith's second novel takes places in 1956, post-Stalin Soviet Union. During this time a violent regime is beginning to come apart, resulting in a society where the police are the criminals and the criminals are the innocent. The "firecracker" during this period is when a document based on a secret speech by Stalin's successor, Nikita Khrushchev, is distributed throughout the nation. The basic theme of Khrushchev's message is that Stalin was a murderer and a tyrant, and that life in the Soviet Union will improve. The plot of The Secret Speech moves from the streets of Moscow during its political upheaval, to the Siberian gulags an to the heart of the Hungarian uprising in Budapest. Central to the plot is former state security officer, Leo Demidov, the hero of Smith's Child 44. Demidov is now the head of Moscow's homicide department, and while striving to see justice done, his life is in turmoil due to trying to build a life with his wife, Raisa, and their adopted daughters who have yet to forgive him for his role in the death of their parents. On top of this personal turmoil, Demidov and his family are in serious danger from someone with a grudge against him. The Secret Speech is an exciting, visceral, well-written page-turner from beginning to end that paints a vivid picture of the post-Stalinist Soviet Union at its onset. Further, as was also true in Child 44, Smith's character's are richly developed and are one's that this reader felt he got to know well. I should point out that The Secret Speech isn't flawless, although none of these flaws are major. Perhaps, the biggest of these minor flaws is that some of the plot developments are somewhat too coincidental and a bit far-fetched. But this book is fiction, after all, and these minor flaws do help to contribute to the book's excitement. In addition, I should point out that potential readers of The Secret Speech would highly benefit from reading Child 44 first. Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Sequel Truly Enhances the Original

    A sequel that equals, and possibly surpasses, its predecessor? Highly unlikely you may say, but in the case of "The Secret Speech", the follow-up to Tom Rob Smith's thrilling first novel "Child 44", the unlikely is accomplished. Being a child of the '60's fascinated by the Soviet Union of the era I was instantly drawn to "Child 44" when a friend offered her copy. It did not disappoint. The riveting (no other way to describe it) tale grabbed me immediately. The notion that a society could be so perfectly conceived and realized that crime, particularly a serious crime like murder, was unthinkable, is fodder for a terrific tale of intrigue and deception. Compound the story by making the murderer of the vilest nature, a murderer of innocent children, and you have the makings of an explosive, page-turning thriller. Smith handled this potentially lurid novel with style and precision, introducing along the way two complicated, flawed, main characters who have pasts, and presents, that continually prevent us from completely pulling for them. Yet, despite myself, I was able to repeatedly forgive Leo, the former card carrying Bolshevik automaton, for his past transgressions and accept him as a noble, reformed Russian of the "new" order. After successfully solving the methodical and sinister crime mentioned above he is named the commander of the state's first homicide department. It is in this capacity we find him as "Secret Speech" opens. Stalin has died replaced by Nikita Kruschev, a people's leader for a transformed Russia. Leo's newly formed department has its hands full with cases that bear witness to the direness of the Union's predicament. Under the more open regime promised by Kruschev, the masses feel less threatened and fearful. This, while exactly what the reformed Leo longs for, may actually bring about his demise. Someone from his past has a score to settle and will stop at nothing to ensure he not only relive and confess his sins, but suffer as deeply as that of his innocent victims. This novel never stops. The subplots and cast characters (some old, some new) enhance the story and help explain a time of Russian history that is often ignored and poorly illustrated. This was truly a read I could not put down and I will be saddened if there is not at least one more installment to follow. I recommend reading the first of the series "Child 44" before embarking on this novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great, Informative read

    After reading Child 44, I was thrilled to know that this author wrote a sequel. This second book is even better than Child 44 in that it gave the reader more information on the complexities of the characters and the eras of post Stalin, early Kruschev. I loved every page of it, and am reading it again, as I find I learn more with every reading. I read Child 44 twice also.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Great adventure

    Excellent story line with a bit of history and alot about the milieu of Soviet Russia at the end Stalin's life. Mostly an action packed thriller. Hard to put down, and you're drawn into the story line from page one. Highly recommended, as is Cild 44.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book by Tom Rob Smith!

    I did not want to put this book down. The plot is gripping and keeps you guessing from page one. This book doesn't take any time to get started. Almost half way through I thought the book was ready to end and then a new complication came about. The Secret Speech is now one of my all-time favorites. Tom Rob Smith is a great writer and I hope he keeps the good books coming.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    I was a little skeptical about buying this book. After all Chi

    I was a little skeptical about buying this book. After all Child 44 was his first book, and it was sooo good. Was it possible that he could write another book as good, or was he just a one hit wonder. Let me tell you this book is every bit as good as his first. TMS is a wonderful writer and I'm going to look forward to reading more of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Halograce

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Yohl uob,

    Gheyhlyo
    Jbmyo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Great serious series

    Read before the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not realizing that this was a series until after I had started -

    Not realizing that this was a series until after I had started - I almost stopped. So glad that I didn't. There is no need to have read the first book. The Secret Speech is a fast paced race from the first to the last page. Hard to say too much without giving anything away. Leo is an ex-Secret Police officer in soviet Russia, trying to make a living for himself and his family after the death of Stalin. When the new regime issues a blanket denunciation of everything he did things start to get a little bad, quickly followed up with much worse. His past comes back to haunt him and he learns more about himself than he ever could have imagined as he races to keep his family safe and together.

    A fantastic and exciting read. I'll be adding the first book to my wishlist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Anon

    Wow amazing sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely good!

    This is the the second of three books. The characters are well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Read this because I loved the first book f the trilogy, Child 44. They were both great. Can't wait to read the third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Fast paced, great story line,2nd in a trilogy

    Child 44 begins in a brutal 1930's Soviet Union winter; the narrative that follows is fast paced and well written. Read The Secret Speech next and order Agent 6 which will be out 1/2012. Lots going on in each book. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great book

    I read Child 44 and I coul'd not wait to read second part. It was great. I was up most nights late nd finished book in 4 days with busy mommy life :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    Great story

    Reading this i was unable to put it down. I loved the story!!!! Cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic sequel!!

    I was a huge fan of Child 44 and it seemed like forever before I was able to get my hands on a copy of the sequel. Sadly it was even longer before I got to read but the wait was worth it as the novel moved right along using Russian history to push along the story of Leo Demidov and his now super dysfunctional family. The book moved at such a intense pace that at times it might have actually needed a bit of a break but it was nonstop emotion. Times keep getting darker most the characters involved, the ending is well done and not what I predicted (always a good thing), and it ends with the tease of more which I covet. Tom Rob Smith has such a grip on Leo and his wife's personalities that I think I know them. It was a great book while not as good as its perfect predecessor, it is fantastic. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4