Customer Reviews for

Secret Storm

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Secret Storm" is a steamy hot novel in a plot based o

    "Secret Storm" is a steamy hot novel in a plot based on characters and their struggles and lust for each other. With tons of action, passion and sexual encounters, you will find it hard to put this book down. A must read for all erotica lovers.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There never seems a right time for Sara and Jack, for one reaso


    There never seems a right time for Sara and Jack, for one reason or another they are never available at the same time. Now, after three years of flirting they are finally able to be together. Everything seems to be going perfectly, until Jack’s secret begins to surface. Everyone has secrets, some secrets are worse than others and some secrets can change your life forever.

    This isn’t your average book, it’s written as a full blown adult novel surrounding college students. With tons of passion and steamy encounters, Amelia James has brought to life a great romance novel. The characters are relatable and the struggles they face are realistic. What I loved the most was that the climactic revelation is something that could actually happen, unlike most novels where climax is something so far-fetched, granted still entertaining. Basically if E.L. James and Debbie Macomber had a love child this would be the result of that union. I loved it, though I must warn you it is full of highly adult scenes so it will not be for everyone.
    I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    I enjoyed this book once I got into it. As an erotic romance, S

    I enjoyed this book once I got into it. As an erotic romance, Secret Storm certainly delivers. The sex scenes are well-written and seem realistic enough to kick-start this girl’s fantasies. Oh My!

    I did have a few issues with the book, but they are minor. I got a bit confused at first when I read that Jack played Football in the prologue, then in the first chapter he’s playing Baseball. Not a biggie, but made me stop and re-read for clarification.

    Secondly, Sara’s poor choices in men and her co-dependent attitude sort of clash with her aggressive bedroom behavior with Jack. Maybe he brings out the best in her! I just found some of her behaviors quite annoying, especially when dealing with her ex-boyfriend, and fighting Jack for her cell-phone. At other times, I loved her sensitivity and sometimes sexually aggressive nature.

    Jack’s character was great, although some of his behaviors showed a tendency for violence. I know it has to do with his past, but it was a bit scary at times. Made for great drama through the book though, and at one point Sara handled it in a very unique way . . . way to go Sara!

    However, these are only little parts of the story that I personally had some issues with. As some of my readers know, I’m a detail oriented person. If the details are off, it bugs me. LOL, anyway. . . overall I enjoyed this book, and the characters to be quite likable. I was anxious to see them overcome each of their challenges and past hurts. I loved the storms especially, and felt they added a great scene to this story.

    As always, this is my personal opinion. Give this book and author a try, you might love it more or like it less – but always read for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Potential!

    Secret Storm by Amelia James is a mixture between erotica and drama. Although there are definitely some steamy scenes the majority of the book revolves around Sara's problem with control and Jack's secret childhood both, having some major trust issues. James did an excellent job writing the steamy scenes between the two characters, Jack and Sara. I thought it was great that the author played with the idea of Jack and Sara being "the right person at the wrong time," it was extremely relatable. I did find Sara's character a bit annoying at times because of the way she reacted to things like Jack taking her phone away or wanting to talk with her ex. I felt like she was too immature as a character. Although, I found the story overall interesting I felt like the major force moving the story was suppose to be Jack's secret about his childhood which I really felt was overplayed. I felt myself wanting to skip pages because the obstacle was just dragged out way to long. However, I do look forward to reading more from Amelia James because she does write some great bedroom scenes! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    SO DAMN GOOD!

    I absolutely LOVE this book...with a passion! A strong passion! Secret Storm was soooo good, I found myself thinking about it and staring at my purse, which holds my Kindle, all day, anticipating a few minutes out of my day so that I can dive myself into it again. That's how good it was. I'm a sucker for love and an even bigger sucker for erotica. Amelia James knows how to give her readers love and sex in the right portion. There wasn't a dry moment throughout this book...and I mean that both figuratively and literally. The sex was soooooo intense. The love and emotions were so real.... UGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY? Jack is every women's DREAM! I don't want to speak for every chick out there but...he certainly is my dream! Sara was so likable that it was almost sickening. The only bad thing I have to say about this book was that it was so good, I finished it way too fast. I hate finishing books quickly. I wanted to savor it, but it was soooooooooooooooooooooooooo good that I couldn't stop reading it.

    Word of advice for fellow erotica and romance lovers:

    READ THIS BOOK! READ IT NOW! READ IT! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!

    Word of advice for people who do not read erotica or romance books:

    READ THIS BOOK! READ IT NOW! READ IT! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!

    I don't know what else to say without giving away some spoilers. I hate when other people do that, so I won't....but it is so tempting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read!

    Sara Jensen has loved Jack Wheeler ever since she laid eyes on him. Her love for him has grown steadily through the years and has never once diminished. Every chance that she's had, she's hinted to Jack that she's quite interested, yet their share of relationships, and other matters, have kept them apart for as long as she can remember.

    She's gone through a slew of relationships, vowing not to let the next man in line hurt her. When it turns out that Jack is free at the same that she is, Sara sees that it's the opportunity that she's been waiting for. Yet can she let him in? Can she trust him with her heart and her love?

    Jack harbors a secret that he's held ever since he was a child. A secret that he thinks will destroy his newly found relationship with Sara. Yet he can't deny that she is what he wants. He finds himself battling his inner demons, while struggling to show the woman he loves that he trusts her.

    Although his past threatens to overcome the thin line that lays between them, Jack and Sara are determined to make things work. Slowly, but surely, he allows her to surpass the boundaries of his soul and gives her a glimpse into his past. With the help of their two friends, Jane and Austin, they're able to see that sometimes a helping hand is all you need to see your way through the obstacles that life throws your way. Most of all, they come to realize that with love, anything is possible.

    This is truly a very heartfelt, yet very heart-warming, story. I think everyone can relate to both Jack and Sara's plights. Truly worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    An entertaining read!

    Sara and Jack have a strong attraction, but for years they've never found each other at the right time. Finally they are both single-but secrets in Jack's past may ruin their love before it can bloom.

    I started reading this novel on Saturday and finished it on Sunday. It was an entertaining read. As an erotic romance, Secret Storm certainly delivers. It's a sexy story, and the descriptions of sex are well done.

    I do have some concerns:

    From the perspective of someone who has worked with domestic violence survivors, Jack's behavior threw up some red flags-I think the author ultimately handled it so that I was not left feeling uncomfortable, but it's worth mentioning.

    I understand the need to draw out the satisfaction of finding out what Jack's secret is, but I think this became artificial after a while-more external obstacles would have helped, although when he finally decides to tell Sara, an external obstacle does come up, and it seems too much by then. Also, the scene from his past is awkward-better choreography would have justified the events in a more believable way.

    However, these are small parts of the story and overall I enjoyed this novel a lot. I found the characters likable and I wanted to see them overcome their challenges. The recurring imagery of storms added a poetry that I appreciated.

    I would recommend this novel to any mature reader who enjoys erotic romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1