Customer Reviews for

The Secret War (Jack Blank Adventure Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

extremely well written

Matt Myklusch does it again! In this thrilling sequel Matt Myklusch writes another thriller.

posted by morgan1 on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Adventure for Kids

I didn't enjoy this one as much as Jack Blank & The Imagine Nation (aka The Accidental Hero), but it was still a fun adventure, with lots of superpowers, action and some mystery. As the author says in the jacket, this was the first book with tight deadline and busy life...
I didn't enjoy this one as much as Jack Blank & The Imagine Nation (aka The Accidental Hero), but it was still a fun adventure, with lots of superpowers, action and some mystery. As the author says in the jacket, this was the first book with tight deadline and busy life (new child, full-time job) and it shows - the writing was uneven at times, including some mixed metaphors and unintentional contradictions which, fortunately, may be glossed over by younger readers. One thing to note is that this series is "youth" oriented (probably best for 8-12 range), not "young adult" (typically 13-17, such as the Harry Potter or the "Uglies" series) - unless you really love superpowers, you will probably not enjoy this as a teen or adult. But for imaginitive kids or those who loved the first book, check it out. For parents, there is essentially zero romance in this book (only the barest hint of a childish flirtation). There is some violence (though less than in the first book), mostly of "cartoon" sort, involving superpower fights. And there is some darkness (in terms of Jack feeling isolated / guilty for much of the book) and oppressive powers (e.g., alien robot parasites wanting to take over the world), so if your child is easily frightened, this might not be a good choice. But for tone, it's about on par with the first book (which I'd recommend you start with anyways), so if that was fine, this will be too.

posted by slithers on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    extremely well written

    Matt Myklusch does it again! In this thrilling sequel Matt Myklusch writes another thriller.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    A Fun Adventure for Kids

    I didn't enjoy this one as much as Jack Blank & The Imagine Nation (aka The Accidental Hero), but it was still a fun adventure, with lots of superpowers, action and some mystery. As the author says in the jacket, this was the first book with tight deadline and busy life (new child, full-time job) and it shows - the writing was uneven at times, including some mixed metaphors and unintentional contradictions which, fortunately, may be glossed over by younger readers. One thing to note is that this series is "youth" oriented (probably best for 8-12 range), not "young adult" (typically 13-17, such as the Harry Potter or the "Uglies" series) - unless you really love superpowers, you will probably not enjoy this as a teen or adult. But for imaginitive kids or those who loved the first book, check it out. For parents, there is essentially zero romance in this book (only the barest hint of a childish flirtation). There is some violence (though less than in the first book), mostly of "cartoon" sort, involving superpower fights. And there is some darkness (in terms of Jack feeling isolated / guilty for much of the book) and oppressive powers (e.g., alien robot parasites wanting to take over the world), so if your child is easily frightened, this might not be a good choice. But for tone, it's about on par with the first book (which I'd recommend you start with anyways), so if that was fine, this will be too.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Best book in the world.

    Matt, i am a 13 year-old boy named matthew klemm and i love this seris. Please don't stop writing about JACK BLANK!

    P.S. i am not a good speller

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    This book was a very good sequel to the first book. The fact that Jack was pretty much living two lives was a very good aspect to this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great book!!!!!!

    This was a great book!!!! I recomend it to anyone who likes the Percy Jackson series!!!! I can't wait for the last one to come out!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Exciting

    These books are good, but a bit creepy at times.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    AWESOMLEY AMAZING

    this book is REALLY good. I liked all the twists and turns.it was very good and the characters were very well written .i feel bad for jack ,though. Everybody hates him,then loves him, then hates him.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing

    The book was really good along with the first one and it captivated me and i kept wanting to read more

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Amazing

    This had to be the best book ive ever read. Ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    BEST EVER!!!!!!!!

    Same as above.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    AWSOME

    The best book ever!!!!! Can't wait for more!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Probably the best book ive ever read

    I bought this book becaise i read the first jack blank book and i thougt it was awesome but then i read the secret war and it was incredible i preordethe end of infinity because its awesome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Rread both with paper c w t n b

    I read the other one (accidental hero) and they are both great unfortantly i didnt have anook till christmas and i had to pay extra. But the first one was like a begining of his normal live in the secondbook. The second book was the problem and the new book coming in august.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Hey

    Die stupid R¿stov!! Live on Jack Blank! And Alegra an Jack should start datin theyd be the best couple ever besides Percy Jackson an Annabeth Chase. And in th overveiw why did they spell R¿stov with a capitol ¿

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Jk

    I was kiddng above

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Anomonys

    Amazing book better than the percy jackson series by a ton!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MY FAVIROTE SERIES!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Wow

    Rustov are very evil ...very evil...very evil

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Rustov!

    Rustov!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    R¿stov

    Made you read this comment hahaha but the books not bad peole just tend to read comments with bad rateings

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

           

           

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3