Customer Reviews for

Secret Weapon: How Economic Terrorism Brought Down the U.S. Stock Market and Why It can Happen Again

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    This book will open eyes!

    This is a must-read regardless of which side of the political aisle you gravitate to. It's not about partisanship; it's about protecting our great nation from foes, foreign and domestic. It’s about 21st century warfare, and recognizing that threats exist from places we’ve never thought of before. Get the book, and most importantly, read it. Then join the movement, spread the word, contact your elected officials, and make a difference. Do not sit passively by and allow things to happen. Our country’s enemies will do no more than we let them do! Kevin’s book is just the beginning.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    This is a book you can't afford NOT to read!

    Kevin Freeman's superb expose combines research and expert commentary on factors behind the 2008 financial meltdown. These factors would lead any rational analyst to suspect that sinister forces exploited known vulnerabilities within the American economic system to bring the crisis to a head. Freeman mentions that George Soros, who crashed the British pound, publicly cited short selling and credit default swaps for the 2008 meltdown. Yet now in 2012- the American public is as much at risk of another devastating economic attack and perhaps more so because of the increased non-transparency of Wall Street investors. Financial terrorism is 21st century warfare, which the US Government is not equipped yet to confront (despite DoD's financing Freeman's initial research), but which Osama Bin Laden, whom CBS once labeled the "ultimate inside trader" understood well. How many Americans even knew that there was short selling of airline stocks prior to 9/11 that may have been connected to Bin Laden? Madoff operated brazenly right under the nose of the SEC, but the damage a single Bernie Madoff can wreak pales in contrast to the damage of hostile foreign powers and terrorists acting in concert. If you care about the health of the American economy and your future economic livelihood, this is a book you can't afford NOT to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Recommended - Broken down so that the average investor can understand the tools of manipulation to our markets and how we can safeguard ourselves.

    It's great to read a book from an author that doesn't pick sides. Mr. Freeman lays out the facts, clearly explains the success of market terrorism that has taken place in wars before today, those risks that we face NOW, and the best part - how we can defend our country and our personal finances going forward.
    This book makes you want to stand up for our country to protect it regardless of the political aisle you sit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    The most important book I've read in the last 5 years

    It was initially hard to believe that anyone would have the ability to systematically take down our economy. Our government and the media are telling us that it is greedy Wall Street and loose lending practices are what is harming our economy. However, the overwhelming documentation presented by Kevin Freeman in Secret Weapon tells a very different story. I feel this book will help save our nation from the outside forces that what to destroy our way of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing Revelation

    The 2008 attack on US companies wasn't a Wall Street problem, it was a terrorist problem. Not only did the terrorists figure out how to take down our buildings, they have figured out how to try and crumble our financial system too! This is a MUST read. If you want to know what is going to happen next in our economy, Secret Weapon has the explanation. Secret Weapon will give you tools to prepare for our future and what you can do to protect yourself and your family. Everything Freeman has talked about in the book has happened and I think he is on to something! You don't want to miss out reading SECRET WEAPON.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Frightening but educational

    Well researched and documented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    A definite must-read for anyone caring about the economy

    This is a very clear, well-written presentation of the state of our economy, in particular the equities, bonds, and futures portion. It clearly shows the methods, then details the evidence that they were used to create the 2008 crash. It also presents the current weaknesses that leave US markets open to further attacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    speculative, but interesting

    The author shows how the market can be manipulated by black hats, then assumes they are being manipulated without proof. Weak logic in his assumption but an overall informative read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great Book, Cheaper on Amazon!

    Excellent book, but why is it so much cheaper for the Kindle? 9.99$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Fascinating read - Critical topic

    This is a fascinating book about a subject I would assume not too many people have thought much about. We all know that the markets crashed and our economy tanked in 2008, but why? I think Kevin Freeman's book goes a long way to telling that story. You will learn more than you ever knew about the behind-the-scenes happenings of the incredible stock market crash. Mr. Freeman lays out all of his facts and backs them up substantially with sources. He not only tells us where we've been in this conflict, but where we are headed and how to protect our selves. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is curious as to what is really happening out there on the economic terror front!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Valuable Insights on How our Government Leaves the Door Open

    As a fund manager and investment professional for more than 25 years, reading Mr. Freeman's book has given credence to all that a select few have known for years. Whether purposeful or not, there is clear evidence put forth in this well written book that there are well defined plans for major economic disruption some of which have already come to pass. Kevin Freeman shares both broad concepts and sordid details that allow the reader to understand cause and effect, and opens the door to solutions. It will amaze you that your own government has allowed and in many cases promoted an environment fertile for others to take grave advantage. Secret Weapon was riveting and my copy is full of underlines as I did not stop finding great information. Whether an investor, a business professional, or just as a citizen, this book is definitely worth the time. I know that I will be reading it again in the future, and referencing it for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Want to know what really happened?

    Freeman shows what really happened in the stock market crash in 2008. Financial terrorists attacked America's economic weaknesses and are continuing their attack strategy to this day. Learn about their Three Phase attack and what our country and you can do to fight back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    A Must Read, unless you're not interested in your financial future.

    Mr. Freeman's book addresses the questions about the financial insecurity of the U.S. monetary system. The Occupy Wall Street crowd are right to be suspicious of the markets but their focusing on the wrong enemy. Mr. Freeman clearly details how the crash of 2008 was not just coincidental. Those that cost this nation trillions of dollars carefully orchestrated the manipulation of the markets using the loosened rules of naked short selling and credit default swaps. Unfortunately, Mr. Freeman points out, the current administration is doing very little to protect the financial security of this nation and the investors that drive the economic engine. Is it any wonder that billions of dollars are sitting on the sideline? As a 24 year veteran police officer, I was very impressed with the mountain of evidence Mr. Freeman compiled in his research. Don't just read this book, encourage everyone that is concerned about the health of their personal and the nation's economy to study it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Vital, Scary and Relevant

    So this is what really happened during the 2008 meltdown. Not that the Wall St. bankers were innocent angels by any means. But the SEC and other reg agencies better wake up quick to this threat or we are doomed financially. Members of Congress should be required to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2