Customer Reviews for

The Secret of Ka

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great to have a new Christopher Pike book!

    This was a fun read and I can't wait to experience more of this magical world that Pike has created. Christopher Pike was writing enthralling teen fiction decades before it was 'cool.' I encourage everyone to read 'The Secret of Ka' as well as his early work, you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    To To TT

    ThunderCats is on Saturday nights on Toonami (the Cartoon Network channel).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    T.T

    ThunderCats has been around for a while. You just haven't looked for it. It's at least four years old; that's when l discovered it. My dad claims to have watched it as a teen. Get your facts straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    To TT

    The original was released in the 1980s. The reboot was released in 2011, but it's no longer on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great interseting book! *o*

    At first I thought that the book would be all cheesy with the dijinns and OMG I have to save myself, that cute guy Amesh, and the world! But, I was pleased to find out that the book was a great adventure book with the very creative ideas! HAPPINESS!!!!!!!! *o*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Very good

    Im not done but i reada few pages of it and now im hooked! This looks and sounds amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great bokk:)

    Well..... this book was nit one of the authors best. But it was a pretty good small read.... i enjoyed it and i hope there is a second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo

    When I first started reading this book, I was afraid that I would have to give it less than 4 stars, but after a slow start I really enjoyed this story. I had a major problem at first with the main character, Sara. She was very self-centered and mean, but by the end of the story she had matured. I decided that she would be someone I would like to be friends with. The same thing happened with Amesh, Sara's love interest. Sara meets Amesh in Turkey, where her father is working. She is there for the summer and is very bored. She accidentally runs into Amesh, who works at the same place as her father. She discovers an old carpet while there and absconds with it with Amesh's help. They find out that the carpet is magical and is a flying carpet. The carpet takes them to an island where there are djinn. The djinn are not the genies that we are familiar with. They want us to make three wishes so they can make us their slaves. They are mean and tricky. Amesh chooses to make two wishes, and Sara needs to save him from making that third one. The writing is very good with a lot of plot twists. Again, the character development is outstanding. There are some cultural and geographical mistakes, but that can be overlooked considering it is a fantasy. I believe that many teens will enjoy this book and its sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Secret of Ka

    What if genies really existed? And what if you happened to stumble upon a magical flying carpet that could take you to them?

    Sara is visiting her father in Istanbul and is totally bored out of her mind. Visiting him one day at work she finds an unusual antique carpet. The next thing she knows she flying across the ocean to an enchanted island of the djinn.

    But when Sara and her new friend, Amesh, decide to use the djinn without understanding their ways...disaster strikes. Amesh betrays Sara and leaves her stranded on the island alone. Sara must find a way to escape and return home, and the only way she can do this is to learn the mysterious ways of the djinn and the Carpet of Ka.

    This is a great, fast paced book. Some of the dialog seemed a little forced, but the book is aimed at a young teen audience. There were plenty of twists and turns and all the characters end up someplace and someone different than when they started.

    3/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Check this out, fun read

    Sara Wilcox is spending the summer with her Father in Turkey, What she finds is that she is on her own most of the time due to his job at Bectar, a hydroelectric construction site. Sara finds the language difficult and loud, it is hot and crowded, no fun at all. She has just turned 15 years old and looking for something to do.


    It is then that she meets Amesh. He also works for the same company as her father. She finds him very attractive and really likes him. He is missing and arm, injured at his work he explains to her, and is now a delivery boy. He is able to get her to the job site where they discover a carpet. There is something about it that has them both excited, but especially Sara. She can feel some sort of power in it. They find a way to sneak it away without being seen, and take it back to the hotel. It is beautiful and seems to be made of some material that they had never seen before. Sara decides to see if she can cut a small piece off, and finds that it will not cut. She puts a lighter to it and it flies across the room.

    The carpet has its own agenda; it works for Sara and seems to communicate with her. She feels close to it almost as though it is a part of her. Amesh is very jealous and petulant, but refuses to leave her side because he is having trouble trusting her. His family is extremely poor and he sees the carpet as a way to riches.

    Will they find out what the secret of her Dads jobsite is? Can Sara help Amesh overcome his distrust, and can they save their families from a fate worse then death.
    A fun and twisty read. Great young adult fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    www.readingangel.com

    I was afraid going into this book that a story that involved magic carpet and genies (djinn) would be corny. Luckily, I was wrong. Secret of Ka was an original idea that was well written and well executed. It was a lot of fun learning the rules of the djinn, how you can only make one wish safely, if you get to the classic three wishes then you are in big big trouble!

    Sara and Amesh's relationship was the only thing I really had a problem with in this book. I'm getting tired of reading books where the main characters "fall in love" after only spending a few short hours together. Sara and Amesh's relationship was even more unrealistic because they spent the majority of those few hours arguing and then Amesh takes off and betrays her when he gets the djinn. How does this equal love for Sara???

    Overall, this was a fun story with an original paranormal element, that really drew me in and keep me engrossed and guessing what would happen next. I really enjoyed the action and all the twists and turns that get thrown at Sara. She ends up being a very strong character and takes everything thrown at her and doesn't give up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1