Customer Reviews for

The Secret of the Old Clock (Nancy Drew Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(204)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

The Secret of the Old Clock

I ENJOYED THIS BOOK VERY MUCH. THE SECRET OF THE OLD CLOCK IS ABOUT NANCY, A VERY ATTRACTIVE BLONDE HEADED GIRL WHO IS TRYING TO HELP HER FRIENDS FIND JOSIAH CROWLEY'S OTHER WILL, WHILE ALSO HELPING THE POLICE DISCOVER THIEFS OF HER FRIEND'S BELONGINGS. I READ THIS 180 ...
I ENJOYED THIS BOOK VERY MUCH. THE SECRET OF THE OLD CLOCK IS ABOUT NANCY, A VERY ATTRACTIVE BLONDE HEADED GIRL WHO IS TRYING TO HELP HER FRIENDS FIND JOSIAH CROWLEY'S OTHER WILL, WHILE ALSO HELPING THE POLICE DISCOVER THIEFS OF HER FRIEND'S BELONGINGS. I READ THIS 180 PAGED BOOK IN ONE DAY, AND IT WAS VERY HARD TO PUT DOWN. THIS IS NOT THE ONLY BOOK I HAVE READ ABOUT NANCY DREW, I RECCOMEND THE OTHERS TOO.ÜÜÜ

posted by Anonymous on October 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

PU!!!!!!!

omg that was WAY NOT GOOD SUCKESH

posted by TjLovesU on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Secret of the Old Clock by: Carolyn Keene. The main charters are Nancy Drew and Carson drew. 'the father' Nancy is very out going and brave. Mr. Drew is loyal and very wise. They make a great team and daughter and father.They really want to find a hidden will. They would do anything to get their ands on it. While Carson is busy Nancy uses all her power and awesome skills to try and find the will. She looks for all the clues up and down.It takes place in lots of places like Moon Lake, River Highs & Nancy¿s car. The timing is around spring.It was mostly about find a will. It is about friendship and teamwork. It shows jealousy and love. The story is a great story about all that and you will be suspired where you find things.I love this book. All the trouble that Nancy got her self in is really surprising. She gets tangled up with thieves, get locked in a closet, was driving with the cops at midnight. I think its thrilling I would really recommend it.It compares with other books by Nancy is really brave in them & someone always get caught.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    The old clock

    This book just wants you to read on and on , i reccomend this book to everyone who wants to solve the mystery in a book before it gives it all away and is very persise in languge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    Great first book!

    This was a great book! I really enjoyed it. My favirote part was were she get's captured. If you haven't read any Nancy Drew start with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    good book to start

    this is the begining of a fantastic series and i found it most intruging. I't about a man who has a will and nancy drew must help out her new friends she made during this book to find and claim the will that is rightfully theirs.i havent read this book in a couple of years but i highly recamend it to any one who can read . I am a very good reader and i only say the truth about what i read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Cute Lovable Story...

    This book is OK. It is sort of on my favorites list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    Nancy Gets Back to her Roots

    This unvarnished facsimile of the original is a wonderful piece of nostalgia and makes a great gift for those who read Nancy in the Thirties and Forties. While there is some racial stereotyping, the fact that it is so painful to read makes you appreciate just how much the world has improved in the meanwhile. The original Nancy is not the 'how's my hair and do my shoes match my purse' Nancy of the Fifties rewrites. Welcome back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Alyssa's Review

    This book will give you a good mystery. If you like adventure and mystery you will like Nancy Drew. Read this now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    A Great Series!!!!!

    Great books! This was a great book but i liked some of the other books in the series better. The hole series is great i have about 45 of them and i'm still getting them there so great you should read them if you like a good mystery read Nancy Drew!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3