Customer Reviews for

Secret of the Seventh Son

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Very good

    Very good book that I could not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I am excited to finally find a book that is a great read. They have been far and few between. Hope he continues to write more books of this caliber.

    I would recoomend this book to everyone. It was refreshingly good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Wow! Smart and wildly inventive.

    This one had me breathless from start to finish. Incredibly well woven story that really keeps you on your toes and makes you think while turning those pages! Major new talent. Can't wait for his next sophisticated thriller!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling debut

    I read an advanced copy of this book, which I received at the 2009 Thrillerfest in NYC, and I have to say of all the books I received or bought there, this was the most intriguing. I was very impressed, to say the least. Cooper has a great gift for plotting, and for characterization, but the heart of this thriller is its concept, a blending of the classic 'hunt-for-a-serial-killer' story with the 'secret-conspiracy' tale presented in a wholly original way.

    It's hard nowadays to develop any kind of unique serial-killer concept, but without spoiling the plot, The Secret of the Seventh Son has done it, near-perfectly (if you buy into the quasi-mystical-biblical solution). Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the 'time-jumping' in the narrative because it was clear from the beginning that the jaunts back to the 8th - 12th centuries were vital to solving the mystery and explaining how all these unrelated people were being killed in such different ways.

    Everything else in this novel was delicious gravy - the descriptions of Area 51's inner workings, the thrill of Vegas card-counting, the all-too familiar details of a struggling screenwriter, a romantic twist and a rather unlikable protagonist who manages a bold transformation... and even the way Cooper worked in the actuarial mechanics of life insurance and made it a huge revelation fitting with the plot, worked well for me. My only regret is that the publishers didn't keep the original title of 'The Library of the Dead', which was so much more fitting. If you like Rollins, Preston/Child and the like, don't miss this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging mystical FBI thriller with a supernatural tie to the SECRET OF THE SEVENTH SON born in 777

    In New York, the victim receives a postcard of a coffin just prior to being murdered. The FBI assigns the case to Agent Will Piper, who has no interest in a serial killer investigation as he nears retirement. Young agent Nancy Lipinski is tasked to work with Will, who has even less interest in mentoring a rookie.

    The clues outside of the postcards are nonexistent as the psychopath is careful to leave nothing behind. Meanwhile Will is ugly to Nancy over her being overweight and even nastier to his junior partner when he drinks excessively while investigating or when he is hung over. However, as they begin to find ties to a medieval scenario and he sobers up, Will and Nancy begin a romance.

    This is an engaging mystical FBI thriller with a supernatural tie to the SECRET OF THE SEVENTH SON born in 777. The story line is fast-paced when Will stays sober long enough to not have a hangover; but too much of the plot is tied up by his drinking, which after the first time the audience got the message. Still fans will enjoy the legendary profiler ready for the pasture of toasting his past glory and the rookie who brings him back to life.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Finally an intelligent thriller!

    I loved this book! It is without question a terrifying thriller in the true sense of the word but quite sophisticated and incredibly well-written- not generally a hallmark of this genre. Once you get into it you literally can't put it down, except of course to give your heart a break from beating so fast. The structure transitions seamlessly from modern day New York to 8th century England to post WWII, in what initially seems like an attempt to solve a serial killer on the loose. Nothing seems to connect the victims, except they each received a postcard accurately predicting their date of death. We are gradually drawn into a much more complicated and seriously disturbing underworld, and the attention to detail and historical accuracy helps us suspend any semblance of disbelief and go along for the ride. Taps into the fascinating yet irritatingly irrational belief that when it comes to our own mortality, somehow, our days are numbered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    A Highly Original And Thoroughly Entertaining Novel By A Major New Talent

    I was recently loaned a copy of "Secret of The Seventh Son ". A glance at the précis on the back cover revealed that the subject matter was my preferred avenue of literary escapism...a mystery thriller. Moreover, it purported to be a crossover Archaeological / Law Enforcement novel- a very pleasing discovery for me to make, being an archaeologist myself. I took the plunge and entered the world of Will Piper, a cynical,embittered and hard-drinking F.B.I. agent ; a man set firmly on following the course of least resistance and inconvenience to himself in reaching his chosen destination - his service pension and the bars in which to spend it. Piper, formerly THE F.B.I.'s top profiler and hunter of serial killers has completely from grace and has been quietly sidelined into the mundane backwaters of routine crime investigation. With great reluctance, he is railroaded into heading up the investigation into the "Doomsday Killer", a twisted monster of unimaginable cunning and intelligence; every law enforcement officer's most horrific nightmare; a killer who never uses the same M.O. to cull his prey - and targets victims with no apparent preference for age, sex or race.The only constant in each death is a ghoulish postcard addressed to the victim -with a note informing them of their due date to die...Over the space of the next few days, using any free time that I could snatch, I managed to finish the book. My initial reservations about reading a first offering by a new author - and fears that the narrative might run out of steam or lose direction were totally unfounded.The saga unfolds over three different time periods and two continents; incorporating dramatis personae from 8th and 20th century Britain, and players from World War II as well as 21st century America . The book itself works on so many levels, sets so many moods; totally captivating the reader and completely drawing you into what can fairly be described as a symphonic masterpiece of literature. The author makes excellent and economic use of prose - yet imparts the maximum of information in highly detailed tranches, introducing new characters and situations swiftly and adroitly. Glenn Cooper makes superlative use of conversational dialogue to impart further background information about his dramatis personae and to set the scene for each twist and turn in the narrative; using crisp, concise and on occasion highly amusing narration... effortlessly avoiding the pitfall many authors fall prey to - that of "lecturing" rather than subtly informing the reader. He also makes expert use of every literary ruse and artifice to evoke moods and changes of tempo in his narrative. This first offering is so incredibly well written; and in such an individual and highly engaging style; that it would be insulting to " contrast and compare " with other books of this genre.This book is crammed with highly descriptive pen-pictures - and fluid, credible conversational dialogue.The evocative and detailed descriptions of life in 8th century Britain are meticulously and accurately researched, the biographical sketches of his Dark Age and modern-day characters being skilfully crafted and presented in such a way that you feel that you are actually present - in that place and time, as an invisible participant in the drama. Mr Cooper's in-depth knowledge of his subject matter is immediately obvious - yet is imparted in such a way, that his empathy with his characters is obvious.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Excellent! Those who haven't read it yet have a treat in store for them. This book lives up to its promotion and then some.

    I was not too sure when I opened it if I was going to like it (slightly over-use of the F-word and a particular scene that was unsettling personally). But that all quickly fades into the background as the well-written story takes off. Plausible, interesting and suspenseful, all woven together in an fast-paced manner that kept me up very late and caused me to pick it up even before I had my morning coffee.

    I so don't want to ruin this masterfully written story for anyone else so I do NOT want to say too much. I heartily recommend this one to anyone who enjoys suspense.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1