Customer Reviews for

Secretariat

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great book Can't put it down once you start!

Researched and put together very well. I learned much about the careful planning it takes to breed and raise a thoroughbred. Learned a lot about racing too, almost know what it is like to ride a race horse on the race track, what it takes to inspire a horse to run, and ...
Researched and put together very well. I learned much about the careful planning it takes to breed and raise a thoroughbred. Learned a lot about racing too, almost know what it is like to ride a race horse on the race track, what it takes to inspire a horse to run, and the ups and downs of owning a race horse, lastly, the responsibility, dedication, and compassion of managing the career of a Thoroughbred. I looked up most of the actual races on you tube and was able to watch them as I read. It brought the book to life! Secretariat Is now a part of my heart. May the memory of that big red horse live on!

posted by J-Razz on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Money, Secretariat, and Money!

I have alwasy been a fan of the horse Secretariat and used to follow horse racing relatively closely. I did enjoy reading the history of racing and about the bloodlines. It is hard to follow because there are so many names of horses given. If you are a fan of horse r...
I have alwasy been a fan of the horse Secretariat and used to follow horse racing relatively closely. I did enjoy reading the history of racing and about the bloodlines. It is hard to follow because there are so many names of horses given. If you are a fan of horse racing you'll get through it. Once you get to Secretariat's training and races the book starts to pick up the pace. Although, it is part of horse racing and was part of Secretariat's life, I was sickened by how all these individuals were so greedy and how hard some of these horses are pushed just so they can get the publicity and status. This was the first time I read much about Penny Tweedy and never thought bad of her. I do believe the author was giving very honest information and I felt disappointed that Mrs. Tweedy seemed arrogant, snobbish, and money hungry just like the rest of them. Just be aware, as usual, Disney fluffed up the story in their movie. Mrs. Tweedy was not the woman they portrayed in the movie at all. All in all, it was a good read. You just have to get through the first few chapters.

posted by ladyhawke28 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Great book Can't put it down once you start!

    Researched and put together very well. I learned much about the careful planning it takes to breed and raise a thoroughbred. Learned a lot about racing too, almost know what it is like to ride a race horse on the race track, what it takes to inspire a horse to run, and the ups and downs of owning a race horse, lastly, the responsibility, dedication, and compassion of managing the career of a Thoroughbred. I looked up most of the actual races on you tube and was able to watch them as I read. It brought the book to life! Secretariat Is now a part of my heart. May the memory of that big red horse live on!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    I have been a horse lover all of my life and naturally think that Secretariat was/is the greatest race horse of all time. I cannot watch his Belmont without getting choked up with tears in my eyes. No horse can compare to Big Red.

    I liked the book because it told me things I never knew: Penny always preferred Riva Ridge (how is that possible?) and Secretariat's trainer ran him knowing that he was suffering a serious mouth infection, and didn't even share this important info with the jockey.(this fact was never explained) I learned many things I had never known about Secretariat, how he broke from the gate, how he pretty much ran his own race, etc. Recommend this book to any horse lover and especially those interested in learning about Big Red. I wish I had visited Kentucky to see him in person, or should I say 'in horse'?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    highly recommended,

    The book and movie was a Christmas gift.
    The recipient was thrilled!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Money, Secretariat, and Money!

    I have alwasy been a fan of the horse Secretariat and used to follow horse racing relatively closely. I did enjoy reading the history of racing and about the bloodlines. It is hard to follow because there are so many names of horses given. If you are a fan of horse racing you'll get through it. Once you get to Secretariat's training and races the book starts to pick up the pace. Although, it is part of horse racing and was part of Secretariat's life, I was sickened by how all these individuals were so greedy and how hard some of these horses are pushed just so they can get the publicity and status. This was the first time I read much about Penny Tweedy and never thought bad of her. I do believe the author was giving very honest information and I felt disappointed that Mrs. Tweedy seemed arrogant, snobbish, and money hungry just like the rest of them. Just be aware, as usual, Disney fluffed up the story in their movie. Mrs. Tweedy was not the woman they portrayed in the movie at all. All in all, it was a good read. You just have to get through the first few chapters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    i love secrateriet!!

    i saw it twice in theaters!! my dad said that was the real video when he raced!! the peeson that owned secrateriet was one of the people in the crowds!! so cool!!:)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Very disappointing

    I expected a story about a human relationship with an exceptionally talented horse, but instead, the book was 100% about money and breeding insane numbers of horses to get those few elusive winners.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    This book couldn't have more details about horse racing!

    This book will really help you look at not just the scene of the race track but also mentions almost every significant race horse that ever contributed to the breed. It starts when 'Big Red' was born and leads colorfully down to his poignant end. If you understand the basics of horses you'll will enjoy this book. It aims to be an imformational read but ends up being more like a Walter Farley creation in the fictional respect. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Great book anyone who likes horses should read the book and watch the movie

    Everyone should read the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Secretariat

    Best movie I ever saw. Now I would like to read this magnificent book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    This book

    This book is a good book!!!!!!!!!!!! I love i am reading it right now i am on chapter six so far its an awesome book!!!!!!!! I love penny teewty/chenery

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    J

    Great writing!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Horse lover

    I agree with cathy about the movie and im taking her word for the book hope i enjoy the the book also!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Oh brother....

    Im 10 and after reading it, i thought it was like reading a history book. In 1998...after1899...zzzzzzzzz

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    I thought this was a pretty good book that tied closely to the m

    I thought this was a pretty good book that tied closely to the movie, but not in all aspects. At the very beginning, the story talks a lot about the family history of the horse farm in which Big Red was born. This goes all the way back to the mid 1800's which gives the reader a nice prerview of how the Chenery family got involved with horses to begin with. I would definitely side with the saying "the book is always better than the movie" due to the mvoie leaving out so many characters. The book goes so much in depth with the hardship Penny, her family, and friends had to go through in order to turn Big Red into the record breaking race horse he became. I was however a little surprised about how different Penny was portrayed in the movie compared to the book. The book describes her as being tough, arrogant, and even cocky to the point where I had to put the book down a few times and think about if I was reading the book right! I guess thats what you get from watching the movie then reading the book. All in all it was a great book that seems to be honest and heart felt. Although I found it confusing at some points because of all the technical horse breeding and money involved. I found out some very cool things I didnt know about Secretariat and found the book to be pretty interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Boring!

    Boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    To Below

    Sort of. Overall its a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Is this a biography

    Do u know?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    A wonderful read.

    This is very entertaining as well as an educational book. I knew some of the events and history of horse breeding; however, this story sets it forth in an enjoyable manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Amazing story

    Ok but a little boring in the beinning ( why i put one less star) but the ending is amazing and surprising and beautiful!!!! Luv it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I love it!

    I think this book is defenitly the best book I have ever read for a horse story. It tells a great story of a young women who is loosing her family's farm. She finds a colt that is born and finds it is a racing horse. She trains it and soon it could outrun any horse. She enters it in in a race and soon grows stron g in the horse. She predicts that it can win the triple crown and beat all the records. Can Secratariot do it all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12