Customer Reviews for

Secretly Smitten

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Four fiction authors with four smitten romance novellas, share a

    Four fiction authors with four smitten romance novellas, share a setting, characters, and even overlapping plots with fun small town romance. The mystery of the dog tags that were found in Grandma Rose's attic continues throughout all the sections along with mini story lines of Tess, Clare, Zoe and Anna. We learn a lot about each woman's fears and dreams. Together they find the courage to face their fears and see their dream come true. 
    One storyline, with four sections, by four different authors. I enjoyed reading each authors take on the same story. Each section focused on a different character and her love life. Four different protagonists from a single household, "Secretly Smitten" read like a single novel.

    LOVE BETWEEN THE LINES: Colleen Coble wins awards with murder mystery/romance. Not surprising this romance involves a dead man, but a twist of one potentially again alive. Love with suspense propensity. There's a secret in Grandma Rose's attic--a forgotten set of dog tags belonging to her first love. But David Hutchins was killed in action and never returned to Smitten. How did the dog tags end up in the attic?

    MAKE ME A MATCH: Kristin Billerbeck has Smitten's matchmaker Zoe begin her Cupid's shop in an old building and William, new city manager, must enforce rules and codes. 

    KNIT ONE, LOVE TWO: Diann Hunt places readers inside the Sit `n Knit shop owned by Anna (divorced mom of 3 single adult girls) where she turns a little unraveled when Michael enters for a shopping spree. A revealed secret causes tempers to fly.

    LOVE BLOOMS: Denise Hunter writes of nursery manager Clare waving a rake as a weapon against a tool shed-hiding hunk of a man, Ethan.  All secrets, mystery, conflict, and Smitten romance is cozy-wrapped. 

    I was ready to read something fun and it’s true each novella begins with a conflicting relationship that is predictably to end in romance. After all, it is a novella with great storytelling. I recommend this book for who needs a fun romance to read. It's good Christian fiction, folks, so expect wholesome lust. 
    I received this eBook from Thomas Nelson in the BookSneeze blogger program for my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    I've been looking forward to returning to Smitten, Vermont ever

    I've been looking forward to returning to Smitten, Vermont ever since I finished the first book in the series. Sometimes the second book's a disappointment but not when you have four talented writers who know their craft well.

    Once again I was transported to a town I'd jump at the chance to live in surrounded by characters I grew to love. Tess, Clare and Zoe as well as their extended family are people I know I'd like to know. The only drawback is the book comes to an end (a very satisfy one at that) ... but I believe there's more in the works. When the next Smitten book is available you can bet I'll be one of the first to get a copy. Thank you Colleen, Kristin, Diann and Denise for creating this continuing community of romance and faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Romance lovers, this one is for you! The town of Smitten, Vermon

    Romance lovers, this one is for you! The town of Smitten, Vermont is 200 years old and has been made into a lovers' retreat. One by one people meet, and couples form -- some just cross paths, some use the new dating service. An old mystery is found and gradually chased down until a love-triumphs moment becomes more than a cliché, and at the same time, a story for the ages. If you like romance, I think this is a must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: Love Between The Lines Tess has been secretly in

    Hott Synopsis:

    Love Between The Lines
    Tess has been secretly in love Ryan for most of her life but what would a man as rich and as handsome want with her – especially after having Ms. Perfect as his first wife.
    Review: This was really sweet. It’s a cute love story reminding us that we need to look on the inside to get the whole story.

    Author: Colleen Coble
    Grade: B+
    Ages: 16+

    Make Me A Match
    Zoe is so excited about her new matchmaking business that she can’t help but blow off the warnings from the new city manager. This is Smitten – he wouldn’t dare shut her down!
    Review: It was ok. I liked the story BUT didn’t like the ending so it kind of ruined it for me.

    Author: Kristen Billerbeck
    Grade: B
    Ages: 16+

    Knit One, Love Two
    Anna’s been on her own for a long time. Now her daughters are grown and she’s trying not to be lonely. It helps that she’s got a neighbor in need of help since he broke his leg skiing. An amazing man. A man too much like the one that deserted her so many years ago.
    Review: This was a story! It was very realistic and fun. I really enjoyed Anna’s story though I didn’t like her much in the first story ;)

    Author: Diann Hunt
    Grade: A
    Ages: 16+

    All Along
    The big 3-0 is looming and Clare is single once again. This time it’s because she’s “boring”, as if! When a drifter stops at her nursery she hires him on the spot – if only to prove she’s not as predictable as everyone believes.
    Review: Terrific! This on really hit home for me.

    Author: Denise Hunter
    Grade: A
    Ages: 16+

    Hott Review:

    I really enjoyed this book! It’s a must buy!

    More…

    Source: Thomas Nelson via Netgalley
    Grade: A
    Steam: YA
    Setting: Smitten, Vermont
    Series: Smitten Novella Series #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I loved this book!! This is a compilation of 5 Novellas that com

    I loved this book!! This is a compilation of 5 Novellas that combined create one whole story. It was fun for me to see how each author took over the story from the ending of the previous one and continued the story focusing on another character. I thought the characters were well developed and likeable throughout. It is clean and entertaining. The relationships have just enough tension but not so much to be ridiculous like many romances. They are sweet and uplifting. It shows individuals successes and relationships. Many of these authors are new to me and I will look for more of their works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    At first, I thought I might give this a four star rating. After

    At first, I thought I might give this a four star rating. After all, it is a romance with a bit of sappiness, and everything works out just as it should in a typical romance novel. Nothing earth-shattering there. It's written by four authors, and the book is a nice, clean Christian romance. At first glance, the book is not a stand-out. I figured it would be four short stories since each author wrote a certain section.

    Here is what makes this book absolutely unique and makes it deserving of the rating I have given it. Don't let the fact that four authors write this book together cause you doubt how wonderful the book is. I believe the authors have accomplished something that very few authors (if any) could do. This book does not read as four separate stories written by four distinct individuals. Instead, it reads like a cohesive novel that was written by one person. Somehow these four women have made it work. I honestly could not tell the difference between writing styles of these authors, and the story made complete and perfect sense.

    I have to admit the only truly negative thing I would say would be that I wish each romance had developed a little slower. I realize the authors were working under a time constraint, but I think it could have been accomplished--or at least tried to do so. If you like romances, small towns, and a little inspiration, this is a quick, easy read for you!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    I love the characters of Smitten, I didn't want it to end! Looki

    I love the characters of Smitten, I didn't want it to end! Looking forward to another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Secretly Smitten Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt,

    Secretly Smitten
    Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, & Denise Hunter

    Book Summary: Summer, fall, winter, spring—Smitten, Vermont, is the place for love . . . and mystery! There’s a secret in Grandma Rose’s attic—a forgotten set of dog tags belonging to her first love. But David Hutchins was killed in action and never returned to Smitten. How did the dog tags end up in the attic? The mystery intrigues Rose’s three granddaughters—Tess, Clare, and Zoe—and they decide to investigate, though their mother, Anna, warns against meddling. But as the seasons turn and the mystery unravels, the three young women and their mother encounter some intriguing mystery men of their own. Has a sixty-year-old puzzle sparked something new for this close-knit family of women? Join popular romance novelists—and real-life BFFs—Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, and Denise Hunter for four delightful intertwined tales of mystery and sweet intrigue.

    Book Review: Like all the stories very much. I think it would be hard to pick a favorite. Even the one that I was least interested in became very enjoyable to the point of wanting to know how it ended. I like the carryover ‘mystery’ involving Grandma it was a good link between the stories. I liked Denise Hunter’s story because it tied everything up very well. Not all series do that. Grandma’s mystery did not have a very exciting climax which was sad but with a limit to the length and content of the story something had to be decreased and left to one’s imagination. I am looking forward to reading Smitten now.
    I would like to thank Net Galley and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    When I started reading this book, I didn't expect much, but I en

    When I started reading this book, I didn't expect much, but I ended up feeling very pleasantly surprised! I dominated this book in a day, and I was a little sad when it ended!  I hadn't read any books by these authors prior to this book, so this was a nice introduction into their writing styles and techniques!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Need advice or help with your 'love life'? Go to together forever result 2

    Got to resut post whats wrong and ill help you the best i can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt and Denise Hunter

    Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt and Denise Hunter in their new book "Secretly Smitten" Book Two in the Smitten series published by Thomas Nelson takes us back to Smitten, Vermont.

    From the back cover: Summer, fall, winter, spring--Smitten, Vermont, is the place for love . . . and mystery!

    There's a secret in Grandma Rose's attic--a forgotten set of dog tags belonging to her first love. But David Hutchins was killed in action and never returned to Smitten. How did the dog tags end up in the attic?

    The mystery intrigues Rose's three granddaughters--Tess, Clare, and Zoe--and they decide to investigate, though their mother, Anna, warns against meddling. But as the seasons turn and the mystery unravels, the three young women and their mother encounter some intriguing mystery men of their own. Has a sixty-year-old puzzle sparked something new for this close-knit family of women?

    The four authors have joined together to bring us four stories about four friends that give us one complete story about one town that stretches over the four seasons. Colleen Coble starts it off with the story about Tess: Love Between The Lines. Then Kristin Billerbeck picks it up with the focus on Zoe: Make Me A Match. Diann Hunt takes the story over to Anna: Knit One, Love Two. And finally Denise Hunter rounds it out with the spotlight on Clare: All Along.

    Once again we fall in love with the town of Smitten and its people and wish there really were such a place to visit. It really is a terrific idea that these four friends had when they created this town that it is so easy to fall in love in. Technically, "Secretly Smitten" is one story that lasts a whole year told through the lives of the four women. So that means we get four tales of romance as we watch the town change and grow. All four authors know how to write characters that come alive off the page. While the stories focus on Anna and her three daughters the real mystery is with Grandma Rose and the dog-tags. Great storytelling, mystery and romance, what more could you ask for? I know: one more sequel! I recommend this book highly!

    Secretly Smitten | An Evening of Giggle, Gab & Prizes

    The "gals" are celebrating the release of Secretly Smitten with a fun Live Webcast on February 5th. They'll be debuting the *NEW* animated Smitten trailer, giving away tons of prizes, dishing on the book and their friendship. They'll also be wrapping up the Secretly Smitten blog tour, answering audience questions and testing your trivia skills. Don't miss the fun and bring your friends. Click here to RSVP and set up a reminder.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    If you haven't ever read one or any of these Authors, this is a

    If you haven't ever read one or any of these Authors, this is a FABULOUS way to introduce yourself to them! Now then, if you are familiar with them, you know how awesome their books are, right?!!!! Well, these BFF's have done an AMAZING job writing 4 novella's and making the stories flow from one to the other just perfectly! 








    I just love it when someone has pretty much given up on love, and then suddenly, they find themselves falling, and falling hard, don't you!?!? Well in Smitten Vermont, love & mystery are in the air and the Thomas sisters are hard at work hoping to solve the mystery and to prove, it is never too late for love. But as each sister will find out, love can come when you least expect it and in ways you never could have imagined!




    Smitten is a cozy town filled with such precious people! I would love to just pick up and move there and you might just be ready to do the same after you read Secretly Smitten! 




    Secretly Smitten is a DEFINITE 5 ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥'s for me!
    Thank you so much to LitFuse for allowing me this complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Secretly Smitten ~ Four Stories in One! Smitten is the place fo

    Secretly Smitten ~ Four Stories in One!

    Smitten is the place for romance and new beginnings.  Grandma Rose is unaware that her three granddaughters, Tess, Zoe, and Claire are secretly trying to dig up information about her first love. But the military told Rose and his parents he was missing in action/dead.  The girls especially Tess want to learn more about the man her Grandmother lost to the war so many years ago.  The girls mother, Anna thinks it needs to be left alone so as not to bring up the hurtful memories Rose had endured.




    The book follows Cupid's Arrow as it hits it's first target. Tess Thomas is always trying to solve a mystery.  For some reason she thinks there is a mystery concerning her Grandmother's old beau. But she does not want to harm the memory of her grandfather.  She wants her Grandma Rose to love again.  In searching information about the soldier Tess finds out her best friend, Ryan from childhood has bought the old house that the soldier's parents had lived in.  She wants to search the attic of the old house to see if there is anything there about the soldier.  This will give her a chance to spend some time with Ryan.  We are sure Tess is  smitten now we need to find out if Ryan is smitten.




    Cupid's arrow hits it's second target!  Zoe Thomas is know best for not being able to figure out what she wants to do with her life.  The one thing she is sure of is she wants to do whatever it may be in Smitten. With the possibility of the town becoming a train stop she has decided to start a dating service of sort for the Smitten singles.  But could it be she herself might be smitten before she even gets the doors of her new business open that is if the old building can pass a safety inspection.  It is the responsibility of a  newbie to Smitten to determine whether or not it will open.  But will his decision be swayed by his attraction to Zoe?




    Could Cupid really be targeting Anna the girls' mother?  Seems so, Cupid's arrow is aimed directly at Anna and her new neighbor, Michael Conners.  His mother, Emma comes to her shop for group knitting and to buy supplies for her knitting projects.  Anna can't deny he is a looker but she is not looking.  Then she becomes the good Samaritan when Michael gets injured in a skiing accident and Emma asks if Anna can drop in on him to make sure he is okay or might possibly need something.  She is sure she can handle his flirtations and get back to her own business.  Oh no, is she smitten?




    Has Cupid ran out of arrows? Nope he has a quiver full!  This next arrow is aimed at Claire.  Surely Claire is to quick for Cupid's arrow! She has ran off every guy that has gotten too close.  She is always busy working at potting plants or delivering mulch for the Smitten community.  But things are just too hectic and her boss has told her to hire someone to help out with the deliveries.  Her new employee is a drifter she stumbled across in the Nursery tool shed.  At first she felt threatened by the drifter but for some reason she felt like he could be trusted and he was there looking for employment.  He was very kind and worked hard at his job.  She even saw him at her church.  He seemed to have secrets but who doesn't.  He had a close relationship with God and was not embarrassed to share his what he believed.   He sounds more like an Angel sent from God.




    The author's worked these characters together like they were at a quilting bee adding their special pieces to create a mystery family quilt and then adding their fine stitches to top it off and rounding it off by starting and ending with Grandma Rose.  All pieces are original.  Making this book a keepsake for me and other readers.  




    Please don't ask who was my favorite character or my favorite author.  It's my secret!




    I have several daughters and granddaughters and will pass this book to them.  I am sure it will warm their hearts as well.  I found the mystery of this book to be LOVE.




    I highly recommend this book.




    I rated this book 5 out of 5.




    Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/Litfuse Publicity Group for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  It is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to Smitten, Vermont!!! Where romance is once again the a

    Welcome to Smitten, Vermont!!! Where romance is once again the air with many more couples bound to find love in surprising ways when they least expect it. Renown authors Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt and Denise Hunter each take a turn charming our romantic hearts once again in four very different stories that are interwoven into each other, in the novel, Secretly Smitten.

    In Love Between the Lines by Colleen Coble, she introduces us to the first of the Thomas family women, Tess who runs the towns charming bookstore. She believes that there is no way the handsome and now eligible single father, Ryan Stevenson would ever fall for a plain old girl. After losing his beautiful and rich wife earlier and is now raising his young daughter Sophie alone, he finds solace and peace in Tess' girl next door personality who isn't afraid to just be herself. Can Ryan find a special love interest with Tess?

    Make Me a Match is the second story by Kristin Bellerbeck, who takes on the love life of Zoe Thomas, the youngest of the Thomas daughters who dreams of opening a match making service in town when the new business falls under the scrutiny of the new City Manager, William Singer. Will sparks fly between them or her building with faulty wiring?

    Knit One, Love Two by Diann Hunt, introduces us to the matriarch of the Thomas daughters where we meet Anna Thomas, mother to Tess, Zoe and Clare, as well as the owner of Sit N Knit. She finally meets what could be the man of her dreams, Michael Conner. Little does she know he lives next door caring for his mother, Emma who has been diagnosed with cancer. Will love find them when they least expect it?

    Love Blooms by Denise Hunter wraps up the love interest for Clare Thomas who truly believes love will remain elusive for her and her predictable and often boring ways. Just when even finding prospects at her sister, Zoe's match making business seems to come up short, she thinks her own company will be in raising plants and flowers for the town. While putting away tools one evening she comes across a homeless man, Ethan Foster, who will show her that love will often show up in the unlikeliest of places.

    I received Secretly Smitten by these four talents authors compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. The common thread woven into all four of these romance stories is the mystery of what happened to the long lost love of their grandmother, Rose who learns that the man she believed was MIA is found thanks to the efforts of her granddaughters who believe that it's never too late for a lost love. A delightful series that takes readers into the little romantic town of Smitten and teaches us all that love can be found if we are willing to be open enough to let it find us. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to see what else these four talented authors will come up with next. Little by little we are slowly meeting each of the town's residents through each of these delightful books. While this book is the sequel to Smitten, you can read this one as a stand alone book but trust me, you'll want to get lost in all the love that this small town seems to have in big doses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a joy this book was. I loved it!! We visit this wonderful r

    What a joy this book was. I loved it!!
    We visit this wonderful romantic town in Vermont, and hear about some of our old friends, but this is 5 new romances. Yes five!!
    There are four novellas by these great authors, they start with one family and take it to the conclusion. A very fast read!
    These are the Thomas's sister's stories, their Mom and their Grandmother, Rose. It begins with finding some old dog tags in the attic. Here Colleen Coble takes us with Tess, and Ryan, and adorable Sophia. Ryan lives in the home of the family, where the former boyfriend lived. Could their be some answers in the boxes that remain in his attic?
    The second Thomas sister's story is told by Kristine Billerbeck, and that is Zoe. She is opening a new business in Smitten...Make Me A Match!! When the new City Manager William runs into her ladder left on the sidewalk. Thus begins a new push of wills, and maybe some romance!
    The next story belongs to Diann Hunt and her story of Anna Thomas, Knit One, Love Two. She is the girls Mom, divorced for ten years, and her yarn shop. With her we meet Michael, a man who is an anonymous benefactor. This is such a sweet heart warming story!
    The last author is Denise Hunter and this is Clare Thomas's story. We begin with her being dumped by her boyfriend Josh, he called her boring. Clare is not upset about the breakup...she is glad, but she doesn't like to be called boring!! She decides to change her life a bit, and out of character she hires Ethan without a background check. So begins her romance?? Clare is a gifted landscape designer, but bad at love, can she change? Ethan is a God Loving drifter, can he stay put?
    Be ready for some delightful family dinners, and loving people who are there for each other. Three generations of Woman!!
    Once you start you won't be able to put this one down, I read it in one day! This is the second book in this series, I do recommend you read the first, but it is not necessary.

    I received this book through the Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1