Customer Reviews for

Secrets (The Michelli Family Series Book #1): A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

Very good book but........

This book was one of my favorites!! I loved lance and rese as the protagonists! It was a great mystery and it kept my attention. But i must say......two things dissapointed me. 1) even thiugh lance is a catholic christian i dont feel as though he shared his faith the wa...
This book was one of my favorites!! I loved lance and rese as the protagonists! It was a great mystery and it kept my attention. But i must say......two things dissapointed me. 1) even thiugh lance is a catholic christian i dont feel as though he shared his faith the way he should have with rese. He lives in this house with her and sees her everyday but instead of witnessing to her hes making out with her which brings me to my second point......2) does anyone value the sacredness of physical touch in an actual relationship, rese and lance ARE NOT MARRIED.....HECK THEY ARENT EVEN DATING but the two of time engage in more sensual physical activity than i wouldve lijed. And lance is suppised to bd a a christian. I guess everyone doesnt have the same standards. My opinion is that you really shouldnt be doing ANY of that stuff until you are married......doing those things creates to much of an opportunity to disobey god, yourself and your partner.

posted by Scoll98 on August 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

GOOD BUT NOT BEST

The story line AND the characters were totally great. The thing that would keep this book from being "over the top award winning" for a christian novel -- would be the romance part. Seemed that the author wanted to make sure it appealed to the romantic readers --conse...
The story line AND the characters were totally great. The thing that would keep this book from being "over the top award winning" for a christian novel -- would be the romance part. Seemed that the author wanted to make sure it appealed to the romantic readers --consequently it got bogged down in kissing and sexual tension. The characters spent a bit too much time "thinking" -- for page after page. Bottom line -- NOTHING she wrote was "wrong" but too much of some things. Serious readers want less fluff. Still in all I would recommend it especially to the younger women and the ones who want decent romances.

posted by Rosedale on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Very good book but........

    This book was one of my favorites!! I loved lance and rese as the protagonists! It was a great mystery and it kept my attention. But i must say......two things dissapointed me. 1) even thiugh lance is a catholic christian i dont feel as though he shared his faith the way he should have with rese. He lives in this house with her and sees her everyday but instead of witnessing to her hes making out with her which brings me to my second point......2) does anyone value the sacredness of physical touch in an actual relationship, rese and lance ARE NOT MARRIED.....HECK THEY ARENT EVEN DATING but the two of time engage in more sensual physical activity than i wouldve lijed. And lance is suppised to bd a a christian. I guess everyone doesnt have the same standards. My opinion is that you really shouldnt be doing ANY of that stuff until you are married......doing those things creates to much of an opportunity to disobey god, yourself and your partner.

    57 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Enjoyed

    I will read more by this author. A love story, christian, mystery. 450 pages of story. No sex but some inuendo. Mild violence. I wish the hero had not been so perfect, the best friend so abused and the book a little less preachy. All that aside, this was a pretty good book. I hope Harriet Klausner will grow up someday and quit spoiling books for other readers. She seems like a spiteful, mean, lemon sucking, old woman, without much joy in her life, wanting to take other's pleasure away. I would recommend this book to readers ages 16 and up.

    AD

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Good reading

    I loved the story line however i think the author missed a good opportunity by adding the physical tension. I liked the characters however, i think i would have liked Lance bringing Noona to the burial.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    This was a great book!  I had already read the second one in the

    This was a great book!  I had already read the second one in the series, and was curious to see what came before.  I have loved everything I have read by Kristen Heitzmann, as she knows how to tell a story with the greatest details that make it completely real, and this story was no exception!  Now I look forward to reading the next in this series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great book!

    I found this to be a great book. I was very intrigued. Heitzmann is a great writer so much so that I wanted to be a part of the book. Believe me when I tell you, if the characters were real with and there was a third proposal and Rese didn't say yes I'd be shouting " I'll take him honey!" We all know the struggles of the flesh, but in my opinion Lance is a great example of a christian man trying to find his way in the world. As temptations arise, Lance is able to resist. He did much better than some real life Christians would have done. However, God is a God of mercy and grace. The series was great and I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Interesting Characters

    I liked this book in part due to the characters not being the average boring personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Christian Romance

    I have nothing against Christian romances except for the fact that this is not a topic that I wish to read. Where I have issue is the fact that books are not listed as such. I find a story that seems interesting, invest my time into reading the book, only to find out that it is Christian based. I wish that the descriptions of the books were clearer. But for those of you who like this style of book, and I know there are many, it seems like a good book. To you I say "enjoy." but I will not go any further with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great read

    Did not want to put this book down. Keep me interested in every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Don't skip it

    This was a pretty great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Very well done.

    I really enjoyed this story. Great characters and storyline. Written intelligently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Hello

    Good book read it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Great find...!

    Would have loved to hear more about Vittorio and Quillan and their pasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Good read

    great book. however I became annoyed with the religious view point after a while. I gladly finished the book though and plan on reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Nice ending and story line wants you to read more

    Glad there is a follow-on to this story. For those of us who don't find the need for profanity, you can enjoy this book. While there are descriptions of desire, there is a yearning restraint, not an x-rated description of lusts, etc. The characters are each unique which made following the story line easier (as opposed to having to read back several chapters to try and remember who that character is.
    Looking forward to reading more by Ms. Heitzmann.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Entertaining

    It was a good read. Kept my interest and was a nice get away to relax and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Very good

    Enjoyed very much the plot and thewriting was very good but could have done without, or less of, the religious element

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    Looking forward to reading the sequel. Heitzmann did it again by hooking me with great characters that you just want to learn more about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    A perfect blend of mystery, romance, and egos

    This is a Christian fiction novel. It is not evangelical, meaning it doesn't preach to you, but it does speak in a realistic manner regarding struggles we all face. Has anyone ever thought you were doing God's will and then realized you were serving your own ego all along? Although non- Christian readers will get a hint of biblical truth, they will also appreciate the overall theme of doing the right thing and admitting wrong motives. Yes there is kissing. But there is also self-control. Yet romance is a secondary factor in the overall plot. Lance and Rese must face their own internal battles before they make heads or tails of where their relationship stands. This is not a book I would read again, simply because I was only entertained by the characters, and didn't relate to them. Other readers may feel differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Very goof D Very good story

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5