Customer Reviews for

Secrets

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A part of their world.

    What I love about this book and Robin Jones Gunn in general is how all her characters are related. It makes me happy when I get to see what happens in the life of a friend of Christy Miller. I feel like I get to invest in her world and that I will hear little updates of characters that I have grown to love. Teri, who we met back in high school on the cheer leading squad. Is now a teacher in Glenbrook. Secrets isn't her story though. This book's focus is on Jessica. I feel so bad for Jessica, she just wants to live her own life and is constantly stuck since she is scared to let people in.I feel like I get to invest in her world and that I will hear little updates of characters that I have grown to love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good so far

    I have only read the sample is it worth eleven dollars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Add me as a nook friend kaylab.liechty@gmail.com

    Thank

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    FANTASTIC AUTHOR

    Robin Jones Gunn is my favorite author and wrights fabulous books!!!! I would recommend her books for tweens up to young adult women. Her books focus on God and girls as they're going through life and tough decisions. These books have really inspired and comforted me as I'm going through one of my confusing stages in life!!!! I would definately recommend all of Robin's books!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Secrets Robin Jones Gunn Book Description: The Glenbrooke Serie

    Secrets
    Robin Jones Gunn

    Book Description: The Glenbrooke Series Jessica ran from her past...but can she hide from love? Jessica Morgan wants desperately to forget the past and begin a new life. She chooses a small, peaceful town tucked away in Oregon’s Willamette Valley as the place to start over—Glenbrooke. Once there, Jessica conceals her identity from the intriguing personalities she meets—including the compassionate paramedic who desires to protect her and the jealous woman who wants nothing more than to destroy her. Will Jessica’s deceit ruin all hope for the future? Or will she find a deeper peace that allows her to stop hiding the truth from those who love her most of all? This heartwarming bestseller, book one in the Glenbrooke series, introduces the fascinating people of Glenbrooke in a compelling tale of romance and spiritual truth.

    Review: I enjoyed this book the first time I read it and again this time. It was the first Christian fiction book I ever bought and for that alone means a lot to me. I loved the mystery that surrounds this character and the people, some of whom become lead characters later. This was a soothing story for anyone who was or is wayward in life, faith or with others. I liked and continue to use index cards with scripture on them. To this day it is one of my favorite things to do and use for book markers and to memorize. I thought the story line was well developed and the main characters well written. I am glad that I had another chance to read this story.
    I would like to thank Blogging for books and Waterbrook for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    i HAD A GREAT TIME WITH THIS BOOK AND EVEN READ ALOUD TO MY SIMP

    i HAD A GREAT TIME WITH THIS BOOK AND EVEN READ ALOUD TO MY SIMPLY UNIQUE 12 YR OLD TWIN BOYS AND 16 YR OLD DAUGHTER WHOM ALL SAT VERY STILL FOR THE LISTEN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    I was introduced to Robin Jones Gunn when I had the pleasure of

    I was introduced to Robin Jones Gunn when I had the pleasure of reading her Sisterchicks series and now I’m pleased to know that I can continue to enjoy Robin’s writing in the Glenbrooke series. Secrets as the title asserts is about secrets – how they can destroy, how they can kill and ultimately how letting go of secrets can set one free so they are able to live the life God intended for them to live. As the book begins Jessica is mad at God – she can’t seem to understand why a loving God would let bad things happen, and bad things had happened to Jessica – but as the book unwinds Jessica’s struggle eventually ends, however I’m not going to totally spoil it by telling you how her struggle ends.



    There were some slow moments but if you keep going through and reading toward the end you’ll be well rewarded for the effort and I think the slow moments made it seem more real, as not every day in my life is full of climatic events! This book is written by a Christian author and published by a Christian publishing house so before reading it be aware of that – there will be Christian themes of faith and belief in in – but for me that makes it all the more inspiring and relevant to my life. I will say I was expecting a BIG secret like she was running from and abusive ex-boyfriend or she had killed someone but the secret isn’t as horrible and is almost innocent once it’s figured out. I can’t wait to read the other books in this series!



    **Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book from Blogging For Books through Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest opinon, no other compensation was given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The plot is good, the characters and relationships are intriguing, and I was hooked.

    Author Robin Jones Gunn started out writing articles and children's' books, and then was persuaded to write teen fiction. Secrets is her first adult novel and it kicks off "The Glenbrooke Series." Honestly, after I read the summary I thought the book would be decent but I wasn't overly excited to read it. Main character Jessica is looking for a new life in a small town, but will her secret keep her from the new start she dreams of? Throughout the book I could not for the life of me figure out what that secret was. The plot is good, the characters and relationships are intriguing, and I was hooked. I could not set this book down. I particularly enjoyed the small touch of romance throughout the story. I wanted to know what would happen next, what Jessica's secret was, and what would happen between Jessica and the fireman that saved her. I'm thrilled that this is only one of a series and can't wait to read the next. I like the fact that the next book is about a different character from this story, however I do hope I still get to read about the same characters as well. I'm invested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What better way to begin spring break than with a great book value!

    Secrets By Robin Jones Gunn

    I absolutely loved this book and could see reading this over spring break or on a beach in the summer. For the price point on these Christian based romance novels you can't do wrong as well as the content of the story. These are both books I have passed along to my oldest teen daughter, who like me, is a die hard, hopeless, romantic at heart.

    This story is about a young girl, Jessica, who suddenly finds herself in falling in love with a firefighter after just moving into a small town in Oregon. She longs to just lose herself in the small town life and seeks a job as a teacher in the local high school. Yet it seems like God has different plans for Jessica, and no matter how hard she tries to hide the secrets of her past, they won't stay hidden.

    I don't want to ruin any part of the story for you but this one had me hooked from the very beginning and I completed it in a few short hours. The best part I love about this book is it's ability to remove you from your current place in time, and transport you someplace else while you are immersed in the story.

    If you are interested in finding about more about the author and where you can purchase this book, I have provided you with a link below.

    http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9781590526736

    Value Fiction For Your Spring Break

    Colorado Springs, CO- Fiction lovers don't need to budget to travel this spring break with Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group's six full-length novels by beloved Christian authors (WaterBrook, February 16, 2010). At the low cost of only $5.99, these well-read "get-aways" provide quality entertainment at a price that any reader can afford.

    I was provided with a complimentary copy of Secrets from Robin Jones Gunn to review for Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Secrets

    This is the first book that I've read written by Robin Jones Gunn. It is always a thrilling experience to discover a new author that is established and already has books that have been published. This is how I felt after reading "Secrets". I couldn't wait to get a hold of another of Robins books.
    This is the first book of a series and was first published in 1995. It is being republished in trade paperback as well as ebook format and will be available by Feburary 16. There are seven other titles already published in the Glennbrooke series so I have others to look forward to reading.
    In "Secrets" Jessica Morgan is running from something - but what is it? She hopes to start a new life in Glenbrooke along with a new identity. The one friend she has in town, but school principle, who has hired her as a teacher, has had a stroke and will not be able to help her. On her way into town she has a wreck and spends time in the hospital. Not a very good beginning to her new life. However, the paramedic she meets seems drawn to her as well as she to him. She wonders what he would think if he knew she was hiding a secret.
    In the end Jessica learns that she has made a mistake by trying to hide from her past and begin a new life based on lies. You will be turning the pages to continue the up and down saga of Jessica in the town of Glenbrooke and meet a host of friends that come to love Jessica.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Great Story of Love

    This book keeps you guessing. For the longest time you have no idea what Jessica's secret is. It keeps you on your toes wondering whether or not Kyle and Jessica will get together. I give it two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Wonderful!

    I borrowed this book from a freind and I could not put it down. Needless to say she got the book back the day after she lent it to me because I had stayed up until 3 in the morning to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    Secrets Review

    I loved this book. It was very interesting to see where God took her in her life. The girl in the book,Jessica, always had some hard stuff going on in her life. that made me want to keep reading the book to see how it all turned out! I also loved how the author wrote the book. How there was always something interesting and exciting going on. I never wanted to put the book down, I just wanted to keep reading. I liked the ending too, how she kind of left you hanging so you would want to read the next book in the series. I will definetly read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    Refreshing

    It was so enjoyable to read a book with such an interesting plot including surprises revealed along the way. At the same time this story was morally sound as well as thought provoking. A Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    The First of an Excellent Series

    This book is full of character. In Jessica we see the insecurity of opening up and revealing ourselves to others. It is this removal of self that teaches Jessica and the reader that with Christ, told secrets heal and bring us closer to Him and others. If you want a message portraying the process of love, this is a book you can relate to and learn from. Excellent job, Mrs. Gunn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1