Customer Reviews for

Secrets (Siren Publishing Classic)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended - A MUST READ

    This is a whodunit, with a side order of "believable" action at its best. Not your regular mystery novel; it keeps you glued to your chair, a real page turner. The author does an excellent job tying the characters together in a neat bow with a twist you never expect. The reader is not bogged down with useless details, but instead their attention never strays, they are captured by every moment. There's enough background to understand where each character comes from, and a glimpse into where they're headed. The action parts of the book are not far out, hard to believe, but are heart-pumping never the less.

    This is one heroine you like, from page one. Gwen Michaels is a down to earth assassin, who left the assassination game because she was beginning to like it too much. She doesn't believe in gray areas, it's all black and white. You try to kill her, you don't get to live.

    The author does a great job at capturing the reader's undivided attention, which is why I found it to be a quick read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Total Unexpected

    There are so many twists and turns in this short story. It's full of surprises, i.e., "No Way, you have got to be kidding me, OMG." It is the first book by S.L. Pierce I read. I have now read them all and can't wait to see what she comes up with next. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!

    I just finished 'Secrets' and need to tell everyone what an ejoyable book it is. I like this writing style, with short chapters, lots of dialogue, and minimal filler. The story flows along, holding your attention, till the very last page. Highly recommended if you enjoy 'light' murder.
    Karen-IN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Nookaholic

    Gwen is amazing! Im under 100 pages into this book and am already totally hooked. Cant wait to read more so back to it! Dont pass this book by!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Secrets is a mystery that feels like a spy action-adventure nove

    Secrets is a mystery that feels like a spy action-adventure novel with fewer shoot-‘em-up scenes. While relatively short for the genre (whatever you think the genre is), it works great as a fast-paced thrill ride. The character of Gwen, her husband Jake, and some of the subsidiary characters provide interesting contrasts in morals and ethics to consider. While at times it stretches the ability to suspend disbelief (even more typical of a spy novel than a mystery or thriller), if you’ll just take it all on faith, I think you’ll find Secrets a fun time.

    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    This book should NOT be on the Christian Thriller list as it con

    This book should NOT be on the Christian Thriller list as it contains bad language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    My first ime read by this author.

    A rather cold story about a retired ex covert operator. I thought the plot was weak and complicated by the unfamiliar, hardly mentioned partners of a high tech group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Anonymus

    Excellent read loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Fast paced story but predictable

    It took six chapters to figure out the main chacter and story line of this book it lacked some intense thirllling suspense for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Page Turner

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book, it had me hooked from the start!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    A KICK BUTT HEROINE! SECRETS BY S.L. PIERCE...

    SECRETS by S.L. Pierce is an exciting thriller/suspense set in present day high tech world of computers. Gwen Michaels,(AKA) we never learn her true identity,she an retired assassin.She left the assassination business because she was starting to enjoy it to much.She is happily married until someone tries to kill her.Bad mistake on their part. Jack Michaels,Gwen's husband,doesn't know of her past secrets,but he is about to find out. Gwen is a kick butt kinda girl,who will her answers, and only believes in black and while,no gray areas. While,Jack gets pulled into this secret life of his wife's.To keep him safe until Gwen can find out who and why someone is trying to kill her.It has nothing to do with her past. This is a high octane,action packed,kick butt story with high tech secrets,betrayal,a few killings,a husband who is simply amazed by his wife,and a heroine who is a kick butt girl.I would have liked to have seen Jack more manly,he only sees the good in people and is an all around good person.Overall,this is a good story with an interesting plot...a female retired assassin..you don't read much on them.The characters are interesting.Although,Gwen,does kill a couple of people and doesn't get caught.She worked with high powered people within the government,so all is good. The bottom line is you try to kill Gwen and you don't get to live..This is a good read that will keep you turning the pages.This book was received for the purpose of review from Nurture Virtual Book Tourz and the author and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More.Available at Barnes & Nobles,Amazon, Smashwords.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Outstanding Read

    Secrets by S.L. Pierce is an attention grabber from page one. Told mostly from a first person perspective, we meet Gwen Michaels. She is not your average housewife. She has a past, a past that she was starting to enjoy just a little too much and so she did the wise thing and got out when she could. Being part of an elite group of specially trained operatives, Gwen certainly knows how to take care of herself. Opening straight into the action, Gwen finds a man in her house. Not just an ordinary man, but a hired killer, who thought Gwen would be an easy target because she is a woman. Not having time to play around, Gwen quickly finds out the information she can and puts an end to future kills from this man. With her secret identity still intact, Gwen must follow the clues and find out who wants her dead and why. Jack is your stereotypical good guy and happens to be Gwen's husband. He is a good person and has an even greater heart. Easily able to overlook certain things, he only sees the good in people. This makes him the perfect balancing stone for Gwen and so he is shocked when Gwen is forced to tell him the truth. Gwen's dark past may just be enough to break his good heart. Secrets was a quick, easy and enjoyable read. I read it in one sitting because Ms. Pierce grabbed my attention from the start and provided just the right amount of mystery and action to keep me wanting more. I found myself asking the same questions that Gwen was and that made Secrets believable and realistic. Gwen may be a highly trained killer but she still has faults and this makes her a character that is sure to be loved.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Suspense Novel Filled With AWESOMENESS!

    When I first heard of Secrets by S.L. Pierce, I KNEW I had to read it. It sounded like a suspenseful, thrilling novel that was right up my alley. Boy, was I right! S.L. Pierce's characters are believably life-like, her plot line is thrillingly mysterious, and her words instantly pull you in. Fantastic!

    Gwen Michaels has secrets. She thought those secrets would stay buried in the past.....but, when she sees something she shouldn't have seen, her world is about to be turned upside down, and her secrets are about to rise to the top. Gwen moved to California two years ago to leave those secrets behind. She met Jack, fell in love, and got married. Those secrets, still behind her. Then she decides to hike one day, and she sees something she shouldn't have. Will it get her killed? Or will she have to trust her husband and hope for the best?

    This is a story that is action filled, told in the first and third parties, and kept me on the edge of my seat. True to the description, this is book is filled with espionage at it's finest and lots of betrayal. I was turning page after page, and had this book finished in no time. The rush of thrills that S.L. Pierce blends in with the awesome characters is jaw dropping.

    I give this novel a 5 star praise and highest of recommendations. It's not your average mystery novel. It's so much more, with the twists and turns, and heart pounding suspense. If you are a lover of all things secretive and suspenseful, then don't miss out on S.L. Pierce's AWESOME book! I can't wait for another book just like this one, filled to the brim with all these great characters and gripping plot lines!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review at The Tbr Pile

    **Book review and giveaway!**

    TBR reviewer: R.B

    Where to begin with the review for "Secrets" by S.L. Pierce...

    In all honesty when I first chose this book to review I was intrigued by just the excerpt that I read. Upon delving further into the world of Gwen Michaels, I was severely let down. This author had a wonderful plot, but lacked everything else. The dialogue, characters, the whole shebang and it lacked excitement. Don't get me wrong, I love it when a woman is take charge and not a damsel in distress. However, this story lacked luster and adventure. It would have been nice to see the characters endure a little more drama so to speak. Once Gwen's secret past was revealed, her husband who was completely in the dark handled it all too smoothly. I would have liked to have seen him deal with this revelation differently. I know, if I found out my spouse had been a hired assassin, I would not have taken it with a "grain of salt" like Jack did.

    This story also lacked sex or even sexual innuendo. I understand that some authors do not feel comfortable delving into the sexual world, but, I at least would have liked a little "teaser" to the characters sex life.

    Although I really don't have anything nice to say about this book, I have to at least admit that I liked Gwen Michaels. She was the main character of this book. Gwen was definitely a take charge, fiercely independent woman.

    I have to admit that I am highly disappointed that I will not be recommending this book to other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Loved it.

    Gwen Michaels is kick ass. I loved the story. Wish it was longer though. Hope to see this character again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2