Customer Reviews for

Secrets in the Shadows (Bluford High Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

ANOTHER JOB WELL DONE, ANNE SCHRAFF!!

First off, great book. I think this is the best series of books I have ever read. This one is especially thrilling and exciting. One I read the first sentence, I couldn't put the book down. It took me so long to read because I read very slowly so I wouldn't miss any...
First off, great book. I think this is the best series of books I have ever read. This one is especially thrilling and exciting. One I read the first sentence, I couldn't put the book down. It took me so long to read because I read very slowly so I wouldn't miss any details. This is about a boy named Roylin Bailey who finds his dream girl, Korie who is perfect for him. He finds out that her birthday is coming up and he wants
to get her something very special. He likes this girl so much, that she has him willing to steal for her. But, this special gift doesn't just cost him a lot of money, but a very valuable friend. And that friend is not going to be told in this review so what are you waiting for run down to the store and read this book for yourself! Also I reccomend all the other Bluford Series books!

posted by 3078711 on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Is it ar book

posted by 6096153 on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    Secrets in the shadows Review

    Would you kill a friend for a girl that you like? That's how Roylin Bailey feels. Roylin is just a wimpy, dumb, unattractive kid. Roylin doesn't get many girls so he lies about himself for them. This book is a great book because it is full of suspense and mystery. I would recommend this book to others. Overall this would be a great book to buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Secrets in the Shadows Review

    The book I selected to read for SSR was Secrets in the Shadows by Anne Schraff. I ran across this book in the library at HTHS in the fiction section. The title really hooked me and convinced me to pick it up. I read the back cover and realized that Secrets in the Shadows was a novel about the secret life of a high school boy named Roylin. <BR/> He liked this new girl, Korie, at his school. He wanted Korie to be his girlfriend. One day, she showed him an expensive necklace at the jewelry store. Knowing he couldn¿t afford it, he made a promise to her that he would buy it for her birthday. In need of 200 dollars, Roylin headed back to his apartment. Now Roylin is in a dreadful situation¿<BR/> This novel was great and kept me in suspense. It was an easy read book and flowed very well. I liked the fact that the characters were my age and I could relate to some of their feelings. For example, Roylin, the teenage boy went through a regular high school life, like me. I also have respect for him. Even though he was brought up in a bad home, Roylin still went to school, attempted to make good grades, and tried to stay out of trouble. Anne Schraff did a great job setting up the plot. Just when I started to form a theory about the ending, the events would turn on me and change the whole outcome of the book. I would recommend this book to all high-school kids, especially those who like mystery. This book taught many lessons and helped me realize the consequences that could come from such small errors. All in all, the book, Secrets in the Shadows by Anne Schraff was a tremendous book and I am glad I came across it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    I thought the out come was goin to b different but i still lik the book ann the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Hey

    Dis is a good book but its only 71 pages is it suppoae to be dat short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Secrets in the Shadows by Otis A.

    Roylin Bailey is a teen who has a crush on the new girl at Bluford name Korie Archer. To Impress her he buy her a diamond necklace but he doesn't have any money. So he go takes money from an old man and he finds out the old man dies of shock. Then a man who works at an apartment saw him steal the money and blackmails him now Roylin has no way out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Secrets in the Shadows

    This is one of the Bluford High Series. All are aesthetically pleasing and fun reads!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    I liked it!

    This book was good because it was full of suspense and it kept me reading. It was also and easy read and I read it really fast. I haven't read the rest of the series but I think they should be good. I would recommend this book to people who want an easy read and suspense. There were a lot of things I didn't see coming, and it was really cool when I found out what they were because it was nothing like you thought it was going to be. It also told a lot about the main characters life, but even though, I thought that the plot was really good. There wasn't anything I thought was unnecessary in the story line. I also thought that it was a good way to tell people how small lies, or big lies for that matter, can get you into more trouble than you expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    full of suspense

    i really liked the book the secrets in the shadows because it is full of suspese it hand me thinking all during the book the book head my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    this book was ok

    This book had a really good story but the way it started seemed totally stupid because it was all about a girl. He really was under a spell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1