Customer Reviews for

Secrets and Shadows (13 to Life Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!! <3

COULD NOT PUT MY NOOK DOWN EVN MY MOM OT MAD BECAUSE I DID NO CLEANIN XD A MUST READ FOR EVEYONE

posted by 9509247 on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

TOTAL DISSAPOINTMENT

i loved the first one! but this one made me not care what happens anymore.........i just felt like the author was trying to tackle too many topics at once........cmon i want more werewolf and romance! this book just didnt deliver on that front

posted by 6083968 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fast-paced young adult werewolf urban fantasy

    Jessie Gillmansen struggles to adapt to all she has recently learned about what she thought was were beings from horror movies and novels being real. This new reality occurred when she discovered werewolves exist. She and Pietr Ruskova are apparently a mated pair but she has no time to pursue what that means as she has bigger issues than howling male hunks to contend with.

    Jessie tries to negotiate a deal between the Ruskova werewolf pack and the CIA. Her efforts seem futile, as progress is snail slow. However, she is taken aback when Pietr begins behaving as if he no longer wants her. Not one to be left out in the cold, Jessie debates whether to give Pietr one more chance or turn to Derek. She is soon in danger when the CIA apparently betrays her with only one male protecting her.

    This is an engaging fast-paced young adult werewolf urban fantasy starring a heroine who has come a long way since entering Pietr's world (see 13 to Life). Though with all that has happened to her readers would expect a besieged Jessie to show more moxie rather than the Perils of Pauline. Yet she still holds the entertaining tale together as she feels pulled from all sides with no one to turn to while dealing with agents, beasts and a boyfriend.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Love it!!!

    I really loved it, it's just I was mad at Pietr at first because he was ingoring Jessica and Sarah was not the girl he wanted. But, Jessica was a little dumb to try and go out with Derek mostly because he was instrested in only her imotions beacause they were sooo rich. It's like " Oh My God, girl and you were all over Derek until the Rusakovas' came to town!" Jessica was really making me but Max made up for it because wanted to play a dirty trick on Pietr just to make him jealous, then Jessica was smart to say " No, I want Pietr to be smart not jealous." At that piont Max was prob like ' Seriously?' But very good and readthe whole series:-) :-) :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    good book to read

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Dramatic music

    Eeeeeeeevil people need dramaaaaaaaatic music like dun dun DUUUNdun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    The emperor to venomstar and dramatic music

    Venomstar: i would like it if you would be my ally.

    Dramatic music: i prefer Dun Dun Dun DUN Dah DUN Dun Dah DUN.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Inspector

    Shadows, eh? We all know your evil but even the worst need the best of ads. Let me help you. Heres a good ad idea. Enemies? Out to kill you. Prophecys? Failures. If you are evil or always having the worst luck, join the Shadows. Pure evilness and great luck! Join at secret shadows first result if you dare!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Slinkscar

    Van i be deputy?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Alex

    "Good morning my love "*he says then he lightly strokes her cheek until she wakes up.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Allo da i am rrrussian and frrench pllease rread zis comment

    Ze outlook of zis book frrrom a same culturred perrson is juust ze rright amount of rrussian culturre, werewolves and rrromance!!!!!!""

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    13 to life (series)

    This is a really good series and i love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Can"t wait to Bargains and Betrayals!

    This book was amazing! I just couldn't put it down. My favorite characters were Jess & Pieter.I just can't wait for bargains and betrayals to come out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Can't wait for the next one

    I enjoyed reading this book just as much as the first one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Best series ever!

    A must read book. Love the characters, love everything. Highly recommended! Cant wait for the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    can't wait for book 3!!

    i love this series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    EXCITED!

    i cant wait!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7