BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Secrets and Shadows (13 to Life Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!! <3

COULD NOT PUT MY NOOK DOWN EVN MY MOM OT MAD BECAUSE I DID NO CLEANIN XD A MUST READ FOR EVEYONE

posted by 9509247 on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

Secrets and Shadows takes us deeper into Jessie and Pietr's worlds. Jessie is a believable main character, and I can relate with her reactions, emotions and decisions.
Pietr is still desirable but ever so frustrating. I can understand where he is coming from whe...
Secrets and Shadows takes us deeper into Jessie and Pietr's worlds. Jessie is a believable main character, and I can relate with her reactions, emotions and decisions.
Pietr is still desirable but ever so frustrating. I can understand where he is coming from when more of his reasoning and story comes out, but still!!!!
Max and Cat play more in this story and I like them as much as Jessie.
S&S has same issue of taking a bit to pick up as I remember with 13, but I know that before halfway in I was eager to turn the page, wanting to find out what happens next. There is somewhat of a conclusion, but I am already itching to get my hands on the next book.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    LOVED IT!! <3

    COULD NOT PUT MY NOOK DOWN EVN MY MOM OT MAD BECAUSE I DID NO CLEANIN XD A MUST READ FOR EVEYONE

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    This book left me breath-caught and annoyingly impatient for the next

    This book was great. Fiction, romance, action, with just a bit of a fright.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Love it

    I reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Awesomeeeeee!

    I love this book! It's so interesting that I couldn't put it down! I highly recommend this book to everyone! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Five stars

    The suspense kept me hooked and the ending blew me away. It wasnamazing. Not a book you can guess what will happen. Just when you think you know whats gonna happen the author changes everything. Highly recommend this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Jess is involved in more drama in this book and comes across even more strange things. She wants to have a normal life but nothing is normal around her. Pietr is avoiding her, Derek seems interested in her now, Sarah is acting different, and she is the mediator between the CIA agents and the werewolves trying to find their mother.

    I think this is one of the best werewolf series that I have read. I would recommend this series to anyone that enjoys paranormal books with a lot of mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great series

    Must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    5 star rating most deffinetly

    Could not put it down i am the fastest reader and i read all the time but rereading i hate to do, but this book i just keep reading and reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review Of Secrets And Shadows: A 13 To Life Novel (A 13 To Life Novel Book #2) By Shannon Delany

    Secrets And Shadows is a fantastic next step in Shannon's 13 To Life Series. I LOVED Jess and Pietr's relationship in 13 To Life so it was very interesting to see how their relationship evolves in this next installment. All of the emotions that Jess, Pietr, and the rest of the Rusakova's were going through felt so real. Not to mention watching Sarah spiral back into the "evil girl" she used to be and dealing with Amy and Max's forbidden attraction made you really feel for them and their situation. There are so many things I want to say but am afraid to reveal such great plot twists and turns. As William Shakespeare once said "The course of true love never did run smooth" ~ From A Midsummer Night's Dream Act 1, scene 1, 132-140. No truer words were ever spoken in relation to this book. That is what I love about Shannon's 13 To Life Series. She is some how able to portray teen angst with such realism and she is really able to make her wolves come alive in such amazing detail. I also love the little bits of Russian we learn from the Rusakova's. I have always been interested in learning new languages and even though it is only a few words here and there I still loved learning them. On a scale from one to 10 I give this book a 20. I am just really in love with this story and series. It has such depth of feeling and is a book I could go back and read over and over again. If you LOVED 13 To Life like I did then you really need to pick up this book. If you haven't read 13 To Life pick that up as well as Secrets And Shadows. If you LOVE YA Novels, teen angst, wolves, drama, a love triangle, the mafia, the CIA, psycho's and/or sociopaths, or just a really great book you need to run and pick up this book. In my opinion this is a fantastic read and an all around AWESOME series. I so can not wait for Bargains And Betrayals to come out on August 16,2011.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Omg

    I couldnt get enough of this book. Now i have to wait for the next one to come out!!! This book will keep you in suspense!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Sequel

    I didn't think it was possible for me to love this book series anymore than I already did, and then came along Secrets and Shadows. I loved 13 to Life so much, but Secrets and Shadows blew my mind. Shannon Delany has written an amazing sequel that will leaving you wanting more!

    There is so much I want to say about this book but just do not know how to put into words. Shannon Delany literally takes you on such a ride on this book. The story picks you up and does not let go until literally the last page. And boy, does she know how to play with your emotions, especially when it comes to Pietr and Jess's relationship. I literally loved every minute of reading this book. I could not put it down until I got to the end.

    So much happened in this book that I felt was extremely important to the series as a whole. I do not want to spoil anything that happens but a lot of big stuff goes down. Like A LOT! Even though a lot happened in this book, it did not feel like so much happened that it was impossible to comprehend everything going. Every thing flowed so well that when things were revealed they just clicked into place. The story flowed so well, it felt like I was reading for such a short amount of time when I got to the end but really hours had passed I was so engrossed in the story.

    I have to say, I loved the character progression in this book. All the characters from the first book all grew and more of the secondary characters in the first book became major players in this book. I really liked learning more about each of the Rusakovas, especially Max. I became a huge fan of Max after this book. In the first book, I loved Pietr, I still love him to death, but Max really grew on me in this book and I love him for other reason than I love Pietr. I really loved what Shannon did with Derek, he became a very important person in this book, and not just because Jess liked him. And Sarah. Ugh. I never really liked her in 13 to Life, but in this book, she is just horrible. I do not want to talk to much about Jess and Pietr because I feel I will let something spoilery slip and I don't want to do that. But I love their relationship, I was really glad Jess finally admits that she does not like Pietr being with Sarah. There are some really great scenes between Pietr and Jess, even if they are not what I wanted to occur.

    There were so many great scenes in Secrets and Shadows, but my favorite has got to be the Halloween/Birthday party at the Rusakovas' house. This scene was just perfect. A lot of great things happened, their was tension, and Max being, well, Max. Definitely my favorite scene in the entire book.

    AND THE ENDING! Boy. Does Shannon Delany know how to write an ending that leaves you wanting more. I'm not always a fan of cliff hanger endings, but this one got it completely right. I was literally in shocked speechless by the end of the book.

    This book was awesome. I was so involved and so engrossed in reading it. I wanted to laugh, scream, cry, and hug parts of this book. This book far surpassed anything I was expecting. I am completely in love with it, even more so then the first book. Even though I have a signed ARC of this book, I'm still going to be picking up a finished copy of Secrets and Shadows when it is released. In fact, I have it pre-ordered. Now if only it were August so I could read Bargains and Betrayals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Love it!!!

    I really loved it, it's just I was mad at Pietr at first because he was ingoring Jessica and Sarah was not the girl he wanted. But, Jessica was a little dumb to try and go out with Derek mostly because he was instrested in only her imotions beacause they were sooo rich. It's like " Oh My God, girl and you were all over Derek until the Rusakovas' came to town!" Jessica was really making me but Max made up for it because wanted to play a dirty trick on Pietr just to make him jealous, then Jessica was smart to say " No, I want Pietr to be smart not jealous." At that piont Max was prob like ' Seriously?' But very good and readthe whole series:-) :-) :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Dramatic music

    Eeeeeeeevil people need dramaaaaaaaatic music like dun dun DUUUNdun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    The emperor to venomstar and dramatic music

    Venomstar: i would like it if you would be my ally.

    Dramatic music: i prefer Dun Dun Dun DUN Dah DUN Dun Dah DUN.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Inspector

    Shadows, eh? We all know your evil but even the worst need the best of ads. Let me help you. Heres a good ad idea. Enemies? Out to kill you. Prophecys? Failures. If you are evil or always having the worst luck, join the Shadows. Pure evilness and great luck! Join at secret shadows first result if you dare!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Slinkscar

    Van i be deputy?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Alex

    "Good morning my love "*he says then he lightly strokes her cheek until she wakes up.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Allo da i am rrrussian and frrench pllease rread zis comment

    Ze outlook of zis book frrrom a same culturred perrson is juust ze rright amount of rrussian culturre, werewolves and rrromance!!!!!!""

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    13 to life (series)

    This is a really good series and i love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Can"t wait to Bargains and Betrayals!

    This book was amazing! I just couldn't put it down. My favorite characters were Jess & Pieter.I just can't wait for bargains and betrayals to come out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5