BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Secrets and Sins: Gabriel

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love Naima Simone books!  Gabriel was a terrific way to leave

I love Naima Simone books!  Gabriel was a terrific way to leave your everyday life and view it from the world of a a man mired in losses
 from his past and his attempt to move forward to the future that awaits him if only he will take the chance. This book had such in d...
I love Naima Simone books!  Gabriel was a terrific way to leave your everyday life and view it from the world of a a man mired in losses
 from his past and his attempt to move forward to the future that awaits him if only he will take the chance. This book had such in depth
 character development of the h/h that it was as if you knew them personally.  Lots of secrets, lots of deception and you see the lengths
 that people will go to to both run from the truth and bring it to light. Good read and HOPING there will be stories on Gabe's 3 best friends.
 One angel isn't enough!

posted by AvidReader2CR on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Secrets and Sins: Gabriel delivers solid characters and a good m

Secrets and Sins: Gabriel delivers solid characters and a good mystery. Though the reader might guess at why Richard disappeared, the circumstances and the process through which Leah learns the truth will surprise. Gabriel and Leah are both extremely likeable. I do thin...
Secrets and Sins: Gabriel delivers solid characters and a good mystery. Though the reader might guess at why Richard disappeared, the circumstances and the process through which Leah learns the truth will surprise. Gabriel and Leah are both extremely likeable. I do think they took a little long to get it together. ;) When they do, it's explosive, of course.

There is also a lot of emotion packed into the story, and a good cast of secondary characters. All in all, a short and satisfying read.

posted by 4564908 on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Naima Simone books!  Gabriel was a terrific way to leave

    I love Naima Simone books!  Gabriel was a terrific way to leave your everyday life and view it from the world of a a man mired in losses
     from his past and his attempt to move forward to the future that awaits him if only he will take the chance. This book had such in depth
     character development of the h/h that it was as if you knew them personally.  Lots of secrets, lots of deception and you see the lengths
     that people will go to to both run from the truth and bring it to light. Good read and HOPING there will be stories on Gabe's 3 best friends.
     One angel isn't enough!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    When I read the premise for the book, I was hesitant about readi

    When I read the premise for the book, I was hesitant about reading it. Why? Because of the (secret) How would Naima make it work between Leah and Gabriel. Secrets can cause conflict and I did not want the couple to have to go through a long period where they had to resolve the issue of trust. I put that feeling aside and plunged in. The book was better than I thought it would be. The mystery was the heart of the story, while the romance was second. For some reason, the story made me think about old black and white detective shows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I loved this book! It was well written, steamy, and addicting. I

    I loved this book! It was well written, steamy, and addicting. I couldn't put it down and ended up reading it in only two sittings. The characters are well drawn and realistic. This book is also unique. It isn't your run of the mill, predictable mystery. It kept me on the edge of my seat, guessing all the way through the twists and turns. Not to mention the love story, which is to die for. It definitely took me on an emotional roller coaster. This book is a definite must read and I can't wait to read what Simone writes next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received a free copy in exchange for my honest review, so here

    I received a free copy in exchange for my honest review, so here it is. This is one of those stories that is hard to put down. It will take you on an emotional ride and in the end love will win. I am not sure if I would call it a love story with suspense from 20 years of secrets or a suspense story with romance added. Either way I loved it and highly recommend it. This is the first story by Naima Simone that I have read and I will be looking forward to reading more from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Gabriel's wife and son died in a car accident 2 years ago. The o

    Gabriel's wife and son died in a car accident 2 years ago. The only reason he's still alive after losing them is his best friend, Leah. She was there to pull him out of the bottle, to make sure he ate, she cleaned his house, and made him start living again...a little.

    Mal, Rafe, Chay, and Gabriel all had a huge secret. When Leah started to investigate Richard's disappearance, she uncovered "the secret". It was devastating for her and for the guys. Throughout her investigation someone kept trying to kill her. When all the pieces came together, and after a gigantic plot twist, she survived, barely, but would her friends survive the official police investigation and the charges that are sure to be filed against them? Will Gabriel finally see the love she's been holding on to since she was 16? Is he ready to deal with his losses and look towards the future...with her?

    I love this series! The men in the Secrets and Sins series are totally swoon worthy. Gabriel's constant battle between letting go of the past and his feelings for Leah kept me in a nail biting state throughout the book. Leah's character is witty, funny and dedicated. Their relationship as best friends is amazing. I can't wait to read the next book in Naima Simone's Secrets and Sins series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I am a fan of Naima Simone¿s writing so I knew that when I picke

    I am a fan of Naima Simone’s writing so I knew that when I picked up her latest ‘Gabriel: Secrets and Sins’ I would be in for a very enjoyable afternoon. From the opening paragraph to the end of the book I was glued to the page, soaking up every word. This was a complex story with many variables which kept the reader guessing as to who the culprit was behind all the chaos. It is a story of murder, suspense and unrequited love. The characters were very well developed and you as the reader felt invested in them.
    Gabriel Devlin, a loving husband and father watched as his life was ripped apart when he watched helplessly as his wife and son were taken from him in an automobile accident. Crushed beyond all hope, Gabriel is left to put the pieces of his life back together, a life he’s not sure he wants to put back.
    Leah Bannon is his friend who can see the pain he’s in so she does what she can to make sure he knows he is not alone. She loves him, has loved him for a while but she knows that she can never hope to have him because he is still in love with his deceased wife.
    Along with this, there was the mystery of what happened to Leah’s ‘Uncle’ Richard who had disappeared over twenty years ago and the letter she received asking her to reopen the investigation. The way the author connected each character to the mystery had this reader trying to guess who the real player was and coming up short when another twist was introduced into the story.
    All in all, Gabriel is a must read, it will pull you into the story and leave you wanting more at the end. My hat is off to the author Naima Simone for delivering another enjoyable story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Having read several other Naima Simone books I was totally excit

    Having read several other Naima Simone books I was totally excited to be taken away from my life. As I entered the world of Gabriel I found myself between wanting to root for him and wanting to shake him. At times I found myself loving the heroine but at the same time being like "girl please". I figure if I am talking to the characters the author did a good job. 
    Cannot wait for the other books in the series!! Loved Gabriel and would recommend for everyone that loves a good romance with a little suspense!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK,  GABRIEL IS A WINNER,  NAIMA SIMONE HAS

    I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK,  GABRIEL IS A WINNER,  NAIMA SIMONE HAS DONE IT AGAIN, WRITTEN A FANTASTIC BOOK,  I DID NOT PUT IT DOWN, I READ IT FROM START TO FINISH,  THE DEPTH OF EMOTION FROM GABRIEL SURPRISED  ME.  DEFINATELY WORTH BUYING AND READING. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    What a wild ride! This book is filled with so many twists and tu

    What a wild ride! This book is filled with so many twists and turns that you are left breathless. The disappearance of Michael Pierce twenty years ago and a mysterious letter sent marking that anniversary, start Leah Bannon on a dangerous journey to find the truth. She asks her best friend, Gabriel, to help. He is a man damaged by the loss of his wife and child, but he agrees. The trail is cold. However, the danger and evil have never gone away. Her investigation makes Leah a target. Gabriel and three other childhood friends are there for her because they know that Leah won't stop until she has all the answers. Naima Simone has written an engrossing suspense novel that will keep you guessing until the last page. We watch as Gabriel struggles to come to terms with his loss and learns to live again. As a balance we have Leah who is resilient and strong. Her love is unwavering but she faces reality and moves on. Can these two find their future together after so much pain? You'll want to find out. I'm so looking forward to the upcoming books for Malachim, Raphael and Chayot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1