Customer Reviews for

Secrets from the Past

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

So ¿ I should admit right here and now that Barbara Taylor Bradf

So – I should admit right here and now that Barbara Taylor Bradford was my gateway author to the romance genre.  A favorite of my grandmother and great aunt, I would grab her books from their bedside tables and sneak off to read: devouring each book as soon as it appear...
So – I should admit right here and now that Barbara Taylor Bradford was my gateway author to the romance genre.  A favorite of my grandmother and great aunt, I would grab her books from their bedside tables and sneak off to read: devouring each book as soon as it appeared.  To have the opportunity to read one of her books for review was a major source of excitement.  And, Secrets from the Past did not disappoint in the least.  




Focusing on Serena, a recently retired from the front war photographer, we are slowly introduced into her life, as she reflects on her past while compiling her father’s photos into a memoir composite.  Recovering from her father’s death, the end of her first serious relationship, and at a bit of loose ends, she is the main point of view to guide us through her story.  One peppered with loving family memories, travel, antiquated clichés from her grandmother, and continuous ‘watching over’ by her father’s best friend and boss, Harry.  




Add to this, other story lines that involve Serena’s twin sisters, a co-worker, the maintenance for the house the three inherited from their parents in Nice, the Arab Spring uprisings, and a series of photographs that provide only questions with few answers, the different threads all weave a beautiful pattern of a life of a woman well loved and cared for by family and co-workers alike. 




The pages flew by, highlighted by descriptions of Venice, Nice, New York and Libya the sense of the worldliness of characters and the story was heightened and the descriptions helped to place visual references for the characters and scenes, making them more familiar.  The addition of information about PTSD and the oddly chaotic behavior patterns gives readers a solid sense of the difficulties experienced by those who suffer, and the glimpses into a photojournalists life felt like an introductory course in “can you manage this?”.   




The multiple story lines weave together to provide the reader with visual and tactile references and an emotional understanding of the story that enriches in a way that just reading words would never do without the author’s skilled writing.  Emotionally complex characters, with defined personalities and solid voices all present fact and display relationship dynamics that are easy to relate to real lives. Mingled with a touch of romance and sensually detailed intimate scenes that are a feast for the imagination, the connections romantic and familial are solid, defined and palpable. 




Solid writing, great characters, compelling action, glamor and secrets all combine to make this book a very good read – one that many can and will enjoy. 




I received a Galley Copy from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review for the Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

posted by gaele on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as I expected from Barbara Taylor Bradford....

I was a little disappointed with this book. I picked it up because I remember reading A Woman of Substance years ago. This book doesn't even compare to it. As I was reading it, I felt like it was not written by the same author. The story isn't bad, it's just not gre...
I was a little disappointed with this book. I picked it up because I remember reading A Woman of Substance years ago. This book doesn't even compare to it. As I was reading it, I felt like it was not written by the same author. The story isn't bad, it's just not great.

posted by jac38 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So ¿ I should admit right here and now that Barbara Taylor Bradf

    So – I should admit right here and now that Barbara Taylor Bradford was my gateway author to the romance genre.  A favorite of my grandmother and great aunt, I would grab her books from their bedside tables and sneak off to read: devouring each book as soon as it appeared.  To have the opportunity to read one of her books for review was a major source of excitement.  And, Secrets from the Past did not disappoint in the least.  




    Focusing on Serena, a recently retired from the front war photographer, we are slowly introduced into her life, as she reflects on her past while compiling her father’s photos into a memoir composite.  Recovering from her father’s death, the end of her first serious relationship, and at a bit of loose ends, she is the main point of view to guide us through her story.  One peppered with loving family memories, travel, antiquated clichés from her grandmother, and continuous ‘watching over’ by her father’s best friend and boss, Harry.  




    Add to this, other story lines that involve Serena’s twin sisters, a co-worker, the maintenance for the house the three inherited from their parents in Nice, the Arab Spring uprisings, and a series of photographs that provide only questions with few answers, the different threads all weave a beautiful pattern of a life of a woman well loved and cared for by family and co-workers alike. 




    The pages flew by, highlighted by descriptions of Venice, Nice, New York and Libya the sense of the worldliness of characters and the story was heightened and the descriptions helped to place visual references for the characters and scenes, making them more familiar.  The addition of information about PTSD and the oddly chaotic behavior patterns gives readers a solid sense of the difficulties experienced by those who suffer, and the glimpses into a photojournalists life felt like an introductory course in “can you manage this?”.   




    The multiple story lines weave together to provide the reader with visual and tactile references and an emotional understanding of the story that enriches in a way that just reading words would never do without the author’s skilled writing.  Emotionally complex characters, with defined personalities and solid voices all present fact and display relationship dynamics that are easy to relate to real lives. Mingled with a touch of romance and sensually detailed intimate scenes that are a feast for the imagination, the connections romantic and familial are solid, defined and palpable. 




    Solid writing, great characters, compelling action, glamor and secrets all combine to make this book a very good read – one that many can and will enjoy. 




    I received a Galley Copy from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review for the Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Not as good as I expected from Barbara Taylor Bradford....

    I was a little disappointed with this book. I picked it up because I remember reading A Woman of Substance years ago. This book doesn't even compare to it. As I was reading it, I felt like it was not written by the same author. The story isn't bad, it's just not great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Very Good Book - Highly Recommended

    I love Barbara Taylor Bradford's books and this one is no exception. She knows how to make her characters real and their stories believable. There is nothing better than spending an afternoon with Barbara Taylor Bradford! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    American journalist Serena Stone has followed in her dad¿s foots

    American journalist Serena Stone has followed in her dad’s footsteps being a front line was photographer.  She chooses to leave the front lines when her father dies unexpectedly of a heart attack.  Serena finds out her former boyfriend and fellow was photographer, Zac, has returned from the front lines and is struggling with PTSD and is asking for her.  In heading to help him she knows that her life will never be the same.




    Secrets from the Past is a captivating story in which every character jumps right off the page and becomes real.  Serena is the main character but I loved Harry.  As Serena’s dad’s best friend since childhood, he has stepped into the role of “father” and protects and nutures Serena and her sisters.  I loved that he let Serena live her life, but still managed to guide her in the right direction.  He was also the keeper of secrets and knew when it was time to share and when to step back and let things go unsaid.




    Zac and Serena’s relationship would be described as true love.  The turbulence side of their relationship troubled me.  To know that Zac, even before PTSD, has a tendancy to yell and scream at Serena when mad scares me.  I understood that they were “it” for each other and truly enjoyed their relationship when it was good and healthy.




    This is an emotional book with secrets, betrayal, redemption, and love.  You will not be able to put this story down.  I highly recommend it 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Astropaw

    Omg please continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Astropaw

    Omg stop please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joanne Book provided by the publisher for review Rev

    Reviewed by Joanne
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    Once again Barbara Taylor Bradford writes a contemporary novel with strong women at its core and their men beside them to be there to support them, love them and be there when needed. Secrets From the Past did not disappoint – my interest was captivated from the first page to the last. There was closure through the epilogue but there seemed to be much more story to tell although all the loose ends were tied up neatly and I would love to meet up with Jessica, Cara and Serena again but don’t think we will.




    This book had wonderful characters with many layers to each of them as well as many different facets to their relationships based on who was interacting with who. But through it all the love the three Stone sisters had for each other, their deceased parents, Harry, and the men they loved shined through. The scenery was vivid and descriptive whether in Nice, Venice, Tripoli or other locations so much so that I could picture the places in my mind’s eye. There was romance, love, sorrow, heartache, secrets, war, family, friends, loved ones, good food, some laughter and tears throughout.




    Bradford has been one of my favorite authors since I read A Woman of Substance back in 1980. Since then I have always looked forward to the release of her next book. If you haven’t read her books before add her to your TBR pile. You’ll be glad you did!




    Favorite Quote: …I thought: Secrets. All families must have secrets. It can’t just be ours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Anchient clan sign up

    Please let me join.We've never been in a clan.Please tell me what to do ASAP.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Slow reading

    I must admit, I found myself struggling with this even though I like Bradford's books. I thought it was slow to get started and did not finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    It's just OK.

    I always enjoy Bradford, but this wasn't my favorite. Her earlier novels had more plot, and the characters were much more interesting. I'd rather re-read A Woman of Substance than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    You won't be disappointed

    Really like the author and enjoyed the book very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    If I had read this book without knowing who the author was, I wo

    If I had read this book without knowing who the author was, I would have never, ever guessed it was by Barbara Taylor Bradford. It seemed very amateurish, with all the "she said", "he said" and  " I said" sentences. It was disjointed and without depth. I have always loved her books, so this one was a huge disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended - You Must Check It Out!

    Just one more fantastic book by Barbara Taylor Bradford! Another one that was very hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Boy

    Sry forgot have to not say "bad" words

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Girl

    Where to now??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Very predictable.

    Very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    QUEST CLUE

    In the "midst of dark", there is a cat you must find but your next clue is in the " midst of dark"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2