Customer Reviews for

Secrets in the Cellar

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

disturbing....

this book was an account of the true story of the Fritzel family and the horror the father put the family through. It was a good book, a fascinating read, as disturbing as the story is. I enjoyed the book. I think the author did a great job of putting the story toge...
this book was an account of the true story of the Fritzel family and the horror the father put the family through. It was a good book, a fascinating read, as disturbing as the story is. I enjoyed the book. I think the author did a great job of putting the story together although he does get a bit repetitive at times.

posted by 9881459 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I shocking story - highly upsetting

This story is truely disturbing and highly upsetting. To think that a father can brutally rape, abuse, and keep his daughter in a celler for 24 years will impregnating her with 7 children makes me cringe. The autor put the information in the book well- but I had some tr...
This story is truely disturbing and highly upsetting. To think that a father can brutally rape, abuse, and keep his daughter in a celler for 24 years will impregnating her with 7 children makes me cringe. The autor put the information in the book well- but I had some trouble getting through it.. A truely sick and sadly true story. It makes you look at people in a different way.

posted by Lindsie on June 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I shocking story - highly upsetting

    This story is truely disturbing and highly upsetting. To think that a father can brutally rape, abuse, and keep his daughter in a celler for 24 years will impregnating her with 7 children makes me cringe. The autor put the information in the book well- but I had some trouble getting through it.. A truely sick and sadly true story. It makes you look at people in a different way.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    No photos

    There werent 8 pages of photos.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Topic interesting bu Topic interesting; writing poor

    This book had the potential to be interesting but a lot of time was spent repeating details over again. It doesnt appear well organized and the ending is abrut and lacks proper closure

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    disturbing....

    this book was an account of the true story of the Fritzel family and the horror the father put the family through. It was a good book, a fascinating read, as disturbing as the story is. I enjoyed the book. I think the author did a great job of putting the story together although he does get a bit repetitive at times.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing and interesting. Highly recommend!

    This book tells it like it is. Every disturbing detail. It is very informative and descriptive, and very well written. I would highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    A good read!!

    I never wrote a book review before so bare with me.reading the book I tried putting myself in the place of the family in the cellar to try to get the full feel of the book but later I found that I couldn't do that because what this man did to his own blood was horrible and I cant imagine living a life like they did. The book told enough so that you could understand just what they might have been through. But, I can tell lot's was left out.I think if your looking for a real page turner then this is the book I read it in two days all on my nook.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    Secrets in the Cellar

    This was a horrific, but interesting, read. I read it in just a few days. The tale of this man's cruel deed was so crazy to read about. It was a good book, but a bit repetitive at times. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy reading true crime.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    An unbeleivable true story . I could not put this book down or will you be able to
    Highly Recommended 5 stars

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Pictures?

    What pictures??

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Would not recommend

    All the information seems to be from newspaper articles and is repeated thru out the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Enjoyed the book but it said it came with photos and I never seen any!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Must Read!!!

    Can not even begin to imagine how this monster could do something so horrific to his own child. Its a great book gives lots of detail and the story is simply chilling definitely a page turner...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Very good true crime novel

    This novel was very well written in a true crime sense. There was enough detail to keep you completely interested without lingering on a particular time to too long. This novel gives you a complete perspective of the crime without loosing sense of the audience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Good... but disturbing

    This was a good read. It was detailed and very informative. A bit disturbing that this really took place. But definitely recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Amazing

    I breifly heard about this story on a tv show and wanted to know more about it. This book did this just. It told about the story started for the man and family. I hope next goes more into the psych side and after lives of all involved.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Would not recommend

    I was very disappointed in this book. It feels like he pulled all of his information from newspapers. He gives the same information over and over again in an effort to fill pages. It appears he did not speak to anyone involved in this horrific tale but created a book out of their comments...very disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing....

    This book scared me half to death! Just to think that a father can keep his daughter in a cellar, rape, abuse and have 7 children with her is so perverted. This story is extremely sad and I enjoyed the authors writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Recommended

    It's still crazy to think that there are people like this in the world. These dates are not very long ago. It's a can't put it down read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing story - well written

    I would read other things from this author.
    The book was well written.

    The story is about as sick as sick can be.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A lesson for us all..

    Inconcievable that this could be happening this day in age. I am inspired by the strength and will to survive by the "Cellar Family". Easy reading, if not a bit disturbing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5