Customer Reviews for

Secrets of My Hollywood Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Sixteen-year-old Kaitlin Burke has been on the same nighttime soap, Family Affair, for the past twelve years. In between interviews, press junkets, trips abroad, and other smaller parts, she's had to deal with a demanding publicist, a mother who seems to be living her own life through that of her daughters, and a growing feud with her co-star, Sky Mackenzie. Ever since the two girls were cast, at age four, as fraternal twins on the show, Sky has been the bad girl with Kaitlin playing the role of good girl--both on screen and off. <BR/><BR/>As this season's hiatus nears, Kaitlin realizes that there's more to life than being on Teen People's list of hottest young stars, or being number six on Entertainment Weekly's "It List." Sure, there's an audition for a new movie by hot director Hutch Adams that she'd love to land, but she's also supremely tired. Working nearly nonstop for twelve years has taken its toll. So Kaitlin has come up with the perfect plan to take a break over hiatus--she'll attend Clark Hall as regular student Rachel Rogers, a girl from London visiting the U.S. for two months. <BR/><BR/>Everything is going along according to plan. Although the principal of Clark Hall and her fellow student and friend Liz know her true identity, no one else has a clue that plain, studious Rachel is really Kaitlin from one of the most popular shows on television. As "Rachel" settles into normal teen life, signing up to be on the boring dance committee and indulging in her love of math, she feels for the first time like a regular teen. And when she meets Austin, a guy unlike every Hollywood celebrity she's ever met, she knows she might be falling in love. <BR/><BR/>But as rumors start to swirl in the tabloids and as her double life is threatened by exposure, Kaitlin will have to learn what's really important in life--true friends, whether they know her as Kaitlin or Rachel; the belief in herself as an actress; and the blessing and curse that is the media. <BR/><BR/>SECRETS OF MY HOLLYWOOD LIFE is a quick, entertaining read that sheds new light on what it means to be a celebrity. Not everything is as great as Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan, or Nicole Richie would like us to believe, but it sure is filled with excitement!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW wOw!

    I really LOVED this book it gave an insider's view at the life of an actress. Kaitlyn Burke is just trying to find herself in this book! Super great read even better when you read the whole series!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    The Good and Rich Life - In The Most Different Way Imaginable

    This book was extremely well-written, with plenty of real Hollywood 'secrets', like how celebs get free gift baskets to promote things, and how to make it on the Hollywood's Hottest Hotties list. Incredibly tasty pages that you will devour faster than the latest Hershey creation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Secrets of My Hollywoood Life

    Secrets of My Hollywood Life By: Jen Calonita Kaitlin Burke is one of Teen People¿s ¿25 Hottest Stars Under 25¿and is number six on Entertainment Weekly¿s ¿It List¿. Kaitlin is in a catfight with her co star Skylar 'Sky' who plays Sara, Samantha¿s scheming twin on Family Affair. Kaitlin plays Samantha, the goody twos shoes. Kaitlin gets tired of fighting with Sky, the paparazzi following her around, and pretty much everything about her Hollywood life so Kaitlin and her not famous friend Liz comes up with a plan. Kaitlin would go to Clark Hall, the school Liz goes to. There she would pretend to be a normal British girl named Rachel who is really dorky. At Clark Hall Kaitlin meets Austin and she falls in love with him. When Sky figures out that Kaitlin¿s been pretending to be a normal person she reveals Kaitlin¿s secret to all the students at Clark Hall and the press at the Clark Hall¿s dance. Kaitlin¿s career might be over and Austin thinks Kaitlin was using him to see what a normal life was. Secrets of My Hollywood Life is very entertaining! This book is very interesting and hard to put down. Kaitlin hides in her room and plans never to come out again because Sky revealed her secret about trying to be normal and her career might be over. Kaitlin goes to the dance with Austin. Austin dresses up as Trevor and he wants Kaitlin to dress up as Kaitlin, but he doesn¿t know that she really is Kaitlin. At the dance Kaitlin is mobbed by the paparazzi. Sky¿s bodyguards and Sky hold back Kaitlin¿s bodyguard, Rodney and Kaitlin, so that Kaitlin can¿t leave the dance also so the paparazzi can take pictures of Kaitlin in disguise. Secrets of My Hollywood Life is very funny. Kaitlin¿s brother Matt is nice to her only because he wants Kaitlin to get him an acting job. Nadine, who accompanies Kaitlin everywhere, calls her folder about Kaitlin ¿the bible¿ because she thinks it is the most important book in the world. She even sleeps with it to protect it. Sky drops buttery popcorn on Kaitlin so her one of a kind So Chic vintage dress will be ruined. Then at Lori¿s party Lori spills punch on Rachel 'Kaitlin' to ruin her clothes so that Rachel¿s clothes will be ruined. The characters in this book are very detailed. Laney is Kaitlin¿s publicist who looks like a teen and won¿t tell anyone her age. Rodney is Kaitlin¿s body guard who is fat and looks very scary, but is actually very nice. Shelly is Kaitlin¿s make up artist who only buys discount items less then 60% off. Paul is Kaitlin¿s other makeup artist. He is very fashionable and wouldn¿t be caught dead wearing anything last year. They could have a soap opera written about them called Paul and Shelly. Secrets of My Hollywood Life has some romance, too. Everyone thinks Sky and Kaitlin are fighting over Trevor their co star. Kaitlin loves Austin and Austin loves her back. When he figures out Kaitlin was pretending to be Rachel, he gets really mad because he thinks Kaitlin used him. This book is really interesting, has romance, funny, and the character are very detailed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    An Adorable Read

    I saw this books while browsing in Barnes And noble and decided to purchase this because I really liked the cover. I wasn't 100% sold on the synopsis, but I'm a sucker for a unique cover. I started reading this and was very pleased. Kaitlin is a strong character who knows what she wants and I was very pleased. She's fresh and genuine.
    This books did, although, remind me of Hannah Montana at some parts, but regardless I still really enjoyed. I love Austin and think he's the perfect boyfriend.
    I'd recommend to anyone who's intrested in a cute series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTABULOUS!!!

    I really enjoyed this book, it is great book to read to your children, grandchildren, or even yourself. I just loved this book,it really was greatfully written. I opened the 1st chapter, and cryed my eyes out! it was just so lovely written, and i just imagined my self in her shoes, and it was just breathtaking. The words just jumped off the page(or mabey my reading glasses have a higher perscription then needed)but i really just loved it!!! hahaaa. so. i definintally recommend it! I wuz snuggling up with my dogs when i was reading this book on a rainy day, and i just couldnt contain my happiness so, well i cried...i hope i am not the only person to have this magnificant reaction!(i am usually the only person who does crazy things)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Secrets of My Hollywood Life

    Secrets of my Hollywood Life Review How would you like to be the star of TV¿s most popular soap opera? Kaitlin Burke has stared in the TV show Family Affair since she was four years old. She loves her job but wants to know what it would be like to go to a regular school and be a normal girl. With the help of her best friend Liz she disguises herself to become a normal girl named Rachel Rogers. She enrolls in Liz¿s prep school and learns that it is not easy to live two very different lives. When Kaitlin sidekick, containing all the details of her two lives is stolen she starts to panic. If the press found out about Rachel Rogers her career would be over. Secrets of My Hollywood Life is a great book with lots of surprises and suspense. Any young adult reader would love this book. The book is organized well, so you won¿t get lost. It is easy to understand and includes magazine articles and website articles to help you follow what is happening. It is presented like a journal that Kaitlin is writing. The book is written from Kaitlin¿s point of view. She shows her emotion and her thoughts on an event. The author¿s knowledge of the lifestyle of a Hollywood celebrity really shows. Jen Calonita includes secrets that people would have never guessed about Hollywood stars. ¿I love Star Wars¿, Kaitlin says. This shows that she is not a diva celebrity like some stars. I really enjoyed Secrets of My Hollywood Life and I recommend it to any girl.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Wow

    When I picked up this book it automaticly excited me. It was exactly the type of bookI wanted. It was an amazing easy read. The plot was super original. I had no idea what was going to happen. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book is awesome! My sister and I saw it at a book fair and both bought it. I still haven't read On Location and Family Affair, but I plan to soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    It is my favorite book so far! I'm picky when it comes to books and I couldn't stop reading it! Reccomended for anyone who dreams of a razzle dazzle life! The jealousy and DRAMA between girls stands out in this book! I can't wait to start the second and then third book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Amazingly Entertaining!

    The book caught my eye with the awesome cover! When I started to read this book it kinda bored me but after the first cahpter I was automatically hooked! I have still to read the following books but I hope to soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Secrets of my Hollywood Life is a must read!

    This book was outstanding! I thought it would be stupid like the Princess Diaries, or really girly, and glamurous. I liked how Katelyn seemed just like a normal girl with problems, even though shes a star. This book was awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    THE BEST BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book. I just bought it and i am in love with it. I think Austin and Kate make a great couple.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    AMAZING book

    i loved this book i read it in like 3 days it was great! it wasnt what i thought it was going to be i loved it ! it ended really awsome you have to read it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Hollywood is a Roller Coaster, but it sounds great!!!

    I loved this book 100%. It was totally realistic, I felt like I was Kaitlin! Calonita adds a cool twist when she combines celebrities with her BFFs, and BFs, from High School!!! I definitely recommend this book to all middle schoolers and anyone who loves Hollywood.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    One of the best books i've ever read

    Kaitlynn is stuck in her celeb world and wants to get out so she does and when she does its fun to follow her through her hoollywood nightmares and dreams

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    a reviewer

    I usually don't enjoy those teenage crush highschool lala books, but this is a good one. This is funny and charming, so give it a shot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    GREAT!

    I am a very picky reader, but this book was great! It showed what it is really like to be a celebrity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Sixteen-year-old Kaitlin Burke has been on the same nighttime soap, Family Affair, for the past twelve years. In between interviews, press junkets, trips abroad, and other smaller parts, she's had to deal with a demanding publicist, a mother who seems to be living her own life through that of her daughter's, and a growing feud with her co-star, Sky Mackenzie. Ever since the two girls were cast, at age four, as fraternal twins on the show, Sky has been the bad girl with Kaitlin playing the role of good girl--both on screen and off. As this season's hiatus nears, Kaitlin realizes that there's more to life than being on Teen People's list of hottest young stars, or being number six on Entertainment Weekly's 'It List.' Sure, there's an audition for a new movie by hot director Hutch Adams that she'd love to land, but she's also supremely tired. Working nearly nonstop for twelve years has taken its toll. So Kaitlin has come up with the perfect plan to take a break over hiatus--she'll attend Clark Hall as regular student Rachel Rogers, a girl from London visiting the U.S. for two months. Everything is going along according to plan. Although the principal of Clark Hall and her fellow student and friend Liz know her true identity, no one else has a clue that plain, studious Rachel is really Kaitlin from one of the most popular shows on television. As 'Rachel' settles into normal teen life, signing up to be on the boring dance committee and indulging in her love of math, she feels for the first time like a regular teen. And when she meets Austin, a guy unlike every Hollywood celebrity she's ever met, she knows she might be falling in love. But as rumors start to swirl in the tabloids and as her double life is threatened by exposure, Kaitlin will have to learn what's really important in life--true friends, whether they know her as Kaitlin or Rachel the belief in herself as an actress and the blessing and curse that is the media. SECRETS OF MY HOLLYWOOD LIFE is a quick, entertaining read that sheds new light on what it means to be a celebrity. Not everything is as great as Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan, or Nicole Richie would like us to believe, but it sure is filled with excitement!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    A must buy!

    There is no book series I like more than this except hunger games! Kaitlin has a great personality and perspective on things that pulls you in from the start. The supporting characters have very different personalities which adds a lot of variety to the storyline. The plot is very well thought-out and dramatic, with lots of unexpected twists that will keep you reading page after page. Overall this is an amazing book and I highly recommend it to any girl interested in the life of a star! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12