Customer Reviews for

The Secrets of Peaches (Peaches Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    sooo enjoyable

    this book was an easy and relaxing read. i absolutely love the three girls and how they all, in some weird way, are friends. it definatley raised my excitement for the three installment of the peaches series, but extremely sad since it will be the last one. if you enjoyed the sisterhood books you'll like these

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Peachy Book

    Jodi Lynn Anderson portrays the story of three teenagers living in the small town of Bridgewater, Georgia in her novel The Secrets of Peaches. As thrre girls finally reach their senior year, they have to face the trouble that college applications, love, and family bring. Through all this, they find they can count on their friendship to survive these difficulties. Murphy is the confident bad girl who can¿t wait to leave the small town that has been holding her back all her life. As she decides to go to NYU for college, she faces one problem¿her boyfriend Rex will not come with her to New York. She is torn between following her dreams of the big life and finding true love at home. Birdie, your typical home-schooled farm girl, is infatuated with her boyfriend Enrico who lives in Mexico. As she becomes confused on whether or not to take her relationship to the next level with Enrico, Birdie also finds that her nanny and friend of 17 years is becoming more and more estranged. What she thinks are the signs of a near retirement turn out to be something Birdie would have never expected. Leeda is the image of perfection¿the beautiful girl next door with the best grades and the nicest clothes. Her problem is that her mother neglects her which consequently makes Leeda a bit insecure and kind of a push over. As her mother disappoints her one more time, Leeda begins to stand up to anyone who dares get in her way. As she isolates herself from her friends and family, she has to decide what course in life she¿ll take, whether she¿ll choose to remain close to her friends or start her own life in California. Anderson does a great job portraying the ups and downs of friendship. The relationship they all have seems real and allows one to relate to their fights and their laughs. ¿Leeda felt fierce protectiveness when she thought of Murphy being alone in New York.¿ This shows the strong friendship that existed between them. The part that irritated me slightly was the fact that Murphy¿s character was too perfect. She didn¿t have the sort of ¿perfection¿ Leeda embodied, but more of an everything-goes-my-way perfection. True, she did live in a trailer park but she also ¿looked sexy without having to dress sexy.¿ She was always getting into trouble, always going out with guys, yet she still found the time to have the perfect GPA and the perfect SAT scores. ¿For all she knew, she would be valedictorian.¿ I find it hard to believe that one could manage to have the perfect academic records while having the crazy social life that she had. The small town life has never seemed as appealing as it did in this book. The scandals and traditions that only exist in small towns call to one¿s senses. One can feel the closeness and the separation that these characters have among one another. Jody Lynn Anderson makes one want to drive to Bridgewater, Georgia and pick one of the ripe peaches that first brought these girls together.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Don't end

    I thought this story may be geared to young people, teenagers. I'm a long way from being a teen and could remember that time like it was yesterday. I hope a third book continues Leeda, Birdie and Murphy's lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    I loved this book as much as the first one, Peaches.

    Sometimes an author gets it right and the reader is awed. Once in a while the author gets it perfect and the reader is able to live the story as they read, this is one of the rare books that is sheer perfection. I hated for this book to end. I hope there is a third book. My thanks to the author for a throughly enjoyable experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Jillie aprooves

    LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    That was one juicy peach!

    What a fun read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    A Nice Follow Up

    I loved Peaches, and was so excited when Jodi Lynn Anderson came out with the Secrets of Peaches. It tied up all of the loose ends for me, but now I want more. Believe me, if you read Peaches, you have to hear the follow up of Birdie, Murphy and Leeda! Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommend as a good read.

    The lives of the girls are all different, yet they find out they have more in common then they knew. It is an excellent story about how 3differnt girls can come together in the end, despite their difference, to become friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    I want this book!!!!

    Actually nook has all three peach books now. I really need to get this at the library!!!! The first book is really good and i hope this one will be too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    WHO ARE THESE GIRLS?

    I READ THE 1ST PEACHES BOOK AND IT TOOK ME HALF WAY THRU THE BOOK TO FIGURE THEM OUT AND THEN I FELL IN LOVE W/ THIS GROUP OF GIRLS AND IT DID LEAVE ME WANTING MORE. SO I PURCHASED THE SECRET OF PEACHES THINKING IT WOULD FINALLY TELL ME MORE ABOUT THESE 3 GIRLS AND WHAT HAPPENED TO THEM AFTER THEIR 1ST SUMMER TOGETHER BUT I AM FINDING OUT THAT IT IS JUST NOT SO..THIS AUTHOR JUST SEEMS TO HAVE LEFT OUT SO MUCH ABOUT THE CHARACRTERS AND WHO THEY ARE THAT I FIND MYSELF NOT FINISHING THE BOOK! WHICH IS SO NOT ME...I ALSO HAVE THE 3RD BOOK ON RESERVE AT THE LIBRARY BUT I AM NOT SO SURE THAT I WILL ACTUALLY GET TO IT...IT SOUNDED MUCH BETTER THEN IT WAS. THE POTENTICAL FOA GREAT STORY WAS HERE IT JUST DID NOT MAKE IT TO THE PAGES

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    My own review

    I read all 3 books and they are fantastic i love them. I can picture me and my friends doing this together :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Excellent Summer Read

    Loved this simple easy read At times I did not want to put it down The girls shared such an amazing heartfelt friendship I went on to read the second book Summer of Peaches and loved it equally if not more My one question however is why would B&N not have on Nook the third and final book Love and Peaches?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Peaches!

    Barf puke vomit throw up queasy naucious!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    This book changed my perspective on friends and people. I love t

    This book changed my perspective on friends and people. I love the three girls and at the end I cryed... untill i found out it was not the last book! Thank God. Theese girls are strong in so many ways and I love to hear thier tales. I think they are all on the right track as of now. SO EXCITED TO GET THE LAST BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Great!

    Good read. Fun and sweet.
    If you like these you'll like this:
    Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
    Bermudez Triangle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Just Amazing

    This was such an awesome book. Leeda, Birdie, and Murphy all go through tough times, and must make grueling decisions. I couldn't put the book down, I was reading this book whenever I could. I loved the true friendship quality, the real emotions and the romances that keep seeming to cause problems.

    Don't forget about the first book---Peaches---which was also fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Idk

    I may consider this read (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    :)

    Luhved the first book. Wut is this 1 about?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    peachy!

    this book was an easy and relaxing read. i absolutely love the three girls and how they all, in some weird way, are friends. it definatley raised my excitement for the next book of the peaches series, but extremely sad since it will be the last one. if you enjoyed the sisterhood books you'll like these because they resemble one another but also differ from one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    As Great as the First!

    I really love the Peaches series! The characters are wonderful, and the plot is SOOO absorbing! Once I read Peaches, I read The Secrets of Peaches, then moved on to read Love and Peaches!!! I love the Peaches series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4