Customer Reviews for

The Secrets of Peaches (Peaches Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Peachy Book

    Jodi Lynn Anderson portrays the story of three teenagers living in the small town of Bridgewater, Georgia in her novel The Secrets of Peaches. As thrre girls finally reach their senior year, they have to face the trouble that college applications, love, and family bring. Through all this, they find they can count on their friendship to survive these difficulties. Murphy is the confident bad girl who can¿t wait to leave the small town that has been holding her back all her life. As she decides to go to NYU for college, she faces one problem¿her boyfriend Rex will not come with her to New York. She is torn between following her dreams of the big life and finding true love at home. Birdie, your typical home-schooled farm girl, is infatuated with her boyfriend Enrico who lives in Mexico. As she becomes confused on whether or not to take her relationship to the next level with Enrico, Birdie also finds that her nanny and friend of 17 years is becoming more and more estranged. What she thinks are the signs of a near retirement turn out to be something Birdie would have never expected. Leeda is the image of perfection¿the beautiful girl next door with the best grades and the nicest clothes. Her problem is that her mother neglects her which consequently makes Leeda a bit insecure and kind of a push over. As her mother disappoints her one more time, Leeda begins to stand up to anyone who dares get in her way. As she isolates herself from her friends and family, she has to decide what course in life she¿ll take, whether she¿ll choose to remain close to her friends or start her own life in California. Anderson does a great job portraying the ups and downs of friendship. The relationship they all have seems real and allows one to relate to their fights and their laughs. ¿Leeda felt fierce protectiveness when she thought of Murphy being alone in New York.¿ This shows the strong friendship that existed between them. The part that irritated me slightly was the fact that Murphy¿s character was too perfect. She didn¿t have the sort of ¿perfection¿ Leeda embodied, but more of an everything-goes-my-way perfection. True, she did live in a trailer park but she also ¿looked sexy without having to dress sexy.¿ She was always getting into trouble, always going out with guys, yet she still found the time to have the perfect GPA and the perfect SAT scores. ¿For all she knew, she would be valedictorian.¿ I find it hard to believe that one could manage to have the perfect academic records while having the crazy social life that she had. The small town life has never seemed as appealing as it did in this book. The scandals and traditions that only exist in small towns call to one¿s senses. One can feel the closeness and the separation that these characters have among one another. Jody Lynn Anderson makes one want to drive to Bridgewater, Georgia and pick one of the ripe peaches that first brought these girls together.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    I loved this book as much as the first one, Peaches.

    Sometimes an author gets it right and the reader is awed. Once in a while the author gets it perfect and the reader is able to live the story as they read, this is one of the rare books that is sheer perfection. I hated for this book to end. I hope there is a third book. My thanks to the author for a throughly enjoyable experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Jillie aprooves

    LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    That was one juicy peach!

    What a fun read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    My own review

    I read all 3 books and they are fantastic i love them. I can picture me and my friends doing this together :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Excellent Summer Read

    Loved this simple easy read At times I did not want to put it down The girls shared such an amazing heartfelt friendship I went on to read the second book Summer of Peaches and loved it equally if not more My one question however is why would B&N not have on Nook the third and final book Love and Peaches?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Peaches!

    Barf puke vomit throw up queasy naucious!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    This book changed my perspective on friends and people. I love t

    This book changed my perspective on friends and people. I love the three girls and at the end I cryed... untill i found out it was not the last book! Thank God. Theese girls are strong in so many ways and I love to hear thier tales. I think they are all on the right track as of now. SO EXCITED TO GET THE LAST BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Just Amazing

    This was such an awesome book. Leeda, Birdie, and Murphy all go through tough times, and must make grueling decisions. I couldn't put the book down, I was reading this book whenever I could. I loved the true friendship quality, the real emotions and the romances that keep seeming to cause problems.

    Don't forget about the first book---Peaches---which was also fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Idk

    I may consider this read (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    :)

    Luhved the first book. Wut is this 1 about?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    As Great as the First!

    I really love the Peaches series! The characters are wonderful, and the plot is SOOO absorbing! Once I read Peaches, I read The Secrets of Peaches, then moved on to read Love and Peaches!!! I love the Peaches series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Peaches!!

    This is a great book to read because of the continution from 'Peaches.' I would recommend this book for anyone. I can't wait to read the third and last installment of the 'Peaches' series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    An unlikely trio fighting the odds during a crucial point in their lives.

    I believe this is a very well written book. It is well thought out and planned with twists you would never expect. This book starts a bit confusingly at a bus stop, but the only one going anywhere is a rock, bound for New York, only if it is lucky enough to not be kicked out of its resting place on the bus steps. In this you learn of a young woman¿s dream to get away from the small town she calls home. This young woman¿s name is Murphy McGowan, and active young woman with really no friends but two. These friends, Leeda Cawley-Smith and Birdie Darlington, have nothing and yet everything in common with Murphy. In this final year at high school, the public high school for Murphy and Leeda and homeschooling for Birdie, this trio will find what it means to make sacrifices for loved ones and to choose what is right even if it isn¿t easy. These choices range from where to go to college, what to do with their lives, and, for Leeda, if she really needs her mother¿s attention which she has been craving for since birth. As these problems continue to bundle up with many others, the girls begin to realize life isn¿t exactly what they thought was. How do they choose to spend their lives? It is your choice to find out, but as for me I am glad I took the time to read this book. I really liked that this book was continuously on the move, it didn¿t let you stay in one spot for long. The book was also very heart-touching as you realize the effects of these women¿s choices. It is also easy for one to relate to this book from many different aspects of life. Whether you are old, remembering what you were like your senior year, or just entering the four years of high school yourself. Although this book was very good it is sometimes hard for one to understand it because at almost every new chapter the narrator is also skipping from girl to girl so you can get the full feeling of each one¿s emotions and actions. This book is the second in the series, the first labels Peaches. I believe it is important for one to read the first book before the second to fully understand everything you read. Also this book reminds me of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants because both are about girls using their friendships to survive the hardships they face. If you enjoyed other books like The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series I believe you will also like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    loved it

    this was the best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    A great book!

    This book was fabulous. I recommend that all teenage girls read this book. A great Georgia book!! I loved it....and i know others will too. Birdie, Murphy, and Leeda capture in this enchanting novel. You will not be able to put down this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    AWESOME!

    You've gotta read this book! It was so good. I couldn't put it down! If you liked the first book you have to read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Amazingly Written!

    The Secrets of Peaches is a terrific novel!Even better than the first with its lovely writing and exciting content! Heart warming book that makes you smile throughout every page! Makes you love and get to know each character more with the exquisite writting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    AWESOME

    This books is so good! I got it for Chrimstmas and I`m already finished! Even though it is like 200 something pages. If you thought the first was great wait until you read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2