Customer Reviews for

The Secrets of Rosa Lee

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    A Rosalie's thoughts re Rosa Lee

    I must rebut the reviewer who gave this book only two stars!! Granted the first several pages were a bit 'slow' but beyond those pages the book was GREAT. Not necessarily the mystery involved but getting to 'know' the six members of the Committee. That makes this story so complete. By mid book, the reader feels like she/he is a member of that Committee. The author made each person very human and most interesting, their character well defined as was their association with each of the other members. I don't consider myself a prude but it was a pleasant change to read a novel that did not need (THANKFULLLY) explicit sex to enhance the characters or the story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    Ended Too Soon

    I thought the characters were wonderful. My problem was feeling the story ended too soon. Readers were left hanging on the future of these people. Guess I like it nice and tidy. Love her stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting look at progress vs. heritage

    The residents of Clifton park, Texas form a group to determine what to do with the once proud Altman mansion that is showing its age and abandonment. The townsfolk are divided with one side insisting on selling the mausoleum to a group planning to tear it down in the name of progress. Another faction wants to return the home of the town¿s long dead founding father to its former glory and keep it up as memento of the past. However, someone in the shadows wants to more than just influence the decision making process. This individual prefers the house be torn asunder so that their deadly secrets will remain interred and will blackmail committee members into tearing down the mansion. As the committee forms, storms, norms, and performs, they learn that the ¿old Altman place¿ is more than just a dilapidated extinct dinosaur with roses; however the extortionist pressures each member to adjourn in favor of annihilating the mansion to bury its history with the evidence that if it comes to light would destroy this culprit. --- The committee turns the tale into an interesting look at progress vs. heritage as they go through the stages of group dynamics with the perpetrator causing trust issues between the members. Although the audience sees the differing personalities during the interactions, the intrigue caused by the wrongdoer feels unnecessary though exciting as the tale focuses on the group¿s struggles (think of Twelve Angry Men) and the house¿s past. Fans of modern day social issues and Management 101 students will appreciate this fine look at group interplay with a touch of intrigue caused by an assailant whose actions foment mistrust, the death of committees. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Disappointing

    The Secrets of Rosa Lee by Jodi Thomas Reviewer: Pamela Ackerson (author of Home of the Braves Trilogy) I enjoy Jodi Thomas's books but this time I was disappointed. With each page I turned I felt as if I had read the book before, even though I know I hadn't. There were times during the story when I was confused and had to flip back and reread sections to see if I could understand what I missed. Sometimes, I couldn't find what I missed and it left me wanting. I'm not sure if it is Ms. Thomas's writing in this book or if her content editor wasn't on target. Normally, I find Ms. Thomas's books engaging and moving, this time--well, we all have our off days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Secrets of Rosa Lee

    As a diverse group of community members forms a committee to determine the fate of a lovely mansion, secrets begin to emerge that move an unseen person to make threats. If the house falls, then the secrets will be forever buried, and the mysterious person will be safe, or so they think. Potential secrets are not all that might be unearthed. Feelings are brought to light as relationships shift and find new meanings during the course of decision making. Aged sisters with a penchant for rose stealing, a rugged sheriff, a fiesty waitress, a preacher who does not meet the conventional image of a stuffy man of God, and others find their lives converging as the secrets of Rosa Lee come to light. .......................... ** Though there are bright moments to the book and strong characterizations, it has a rambling quality that makes it easy to fall off of the plot path. As much as I love appealing characters, more focus is needed on the plot to make them work. **

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1