Customer Reviews for

Secrets of Sin

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super heated erotic historical romance

    In 1745 Sea Captain, Reinier Barhydt sails the Caribbean without seemingly a care when he decides to divorce the wife he left behind in Bougainvillea four year ago. Thus he returns home, but is shocked with what he sees. First the plantation is thriving; second his wife Emiline du Ronde-Barhyd is also thriving with beauty, charm and intelligence; third she demands a divorce; and fourth the biggest stunner to the sailor is he uncertain he wants the divorce.

    Instead of signing and filing papers, Reinier offers his spouse a deal. She gives him three full days in which she must obey his command in return he will sign the divorce document and sail away forever. She readily agrees as she feels she can handle anything on his body for seventy-two hours in order to be free. Neither expected what happened over those three days of sex to the nth degree, but in this Eden a friend of his arrives devastating the Captain's revised plans re his wife.

    This is a super heated erotic historical romance starring two delightful lead characters whose exploits in and out of the boudoir make for an entertaining tale as each starts off competing to trump the other, but passion overwhelms both of them. As they fall from lust to in love with lust, each considers modifying their schemes as three days seems inadequate. Readers will relish this strong mid eighteenth century Caribbean erotica and look forward to the sequel.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously sizzling

    Seriously sizzling story of love, passion, submission and beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Not sure how I feel about this book

    Overall, I did enjoy reading this book. The characters are compelling and the love scenes are HOT and steamy! But I felt...I don't know...disappointed? Emiline shuts down when she gets angry or feels insecure, and Reinier uses control and humiliation in his anger over her shutting down. Although they finally tried actually communicating with each other, I didn't feel like it was enough to show lasting change in how each of them handles their feelings. As a woman, I couldn't get into the immediate forgiveness and trust. I felt like more could have been done to develop the trust and ease the hurt for both of them. Good book, and I've already started on Connor's story...I just needed a bit more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    great reading

    great book- made me want to be on a tropical island! interesting storyline with just enough romance...can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Decadently Erotic and Sumptuously Written Love Story

    The story begins with Emiline visiting her lawyer to request a divorce from her husband who abandoned her several years ago. She was left as a young bride, and while learning to become a woman she also had to assume the responsibilities of her family's plantation after the death of her father, and provide for everyone that is dependant on its success; a life and independence that she has grown to love.

    Reinier feared his growing love for his young wife who seemed only to care about the latest fashions, gossip, and projecting the image of perfection of herself and her marriage to her peers in her self centered world. After many years of living at sea he returns to Emiline and to the island that holds bittersweet memories to try and secure the affections of his wife, while protecting his own heart in the bargain.

    He gets Emiline to agree to experience the burning passion they once shared for each other over the course of three days in order to convince her that divorcing him would be a mistake. In those three days he strives to earn her trust and touch her heart through their exploits in erotic lovemaking. And while there may seem to be an abundant amount of loves scenes in this book I felt that each one had a distinct purpose in illustrating Reinier's seduction of his supposedly wayward wife. Even though the love scenes were explicit and numerous, they were crafted in a way without seeming to be gratuitous or graphic; instead I felt they were more sensuously erotic and purposeful to the overall story.

    One of the things that I loved most about Secrets of Sin was how the story was told. Almost the entire book is just the Heroine and Hero interacting with each other. There aren't a lot of secondary characters, no villains to have to fight.just inner demons, lack of communication, misunderstandings, and their struggle to discover each other again after several years apart, and develop a lasting type of love and relationship. Surprisingly the story didn't feel lacking because of the limited supporting characters; instead I felt that it gave the reader an undiluted experience into Emiline and Reineir's journey towards love.

    However, there are a few things that I wish would have been delved into more deeply that I think would have really enhanced the story for me. First, I wish more would have been done with Emiline's actions as a young wife. Towards the end of the story it is revealed that Emiline is bi-racial and because of insecurities about her origins she is constantly seeking the approval of her peers to prove that she is worthy to be among them in spite of her wealth and seeming perfection. Her mixed heritage played a large part in her actions and how she presented herself to others to gain their acceptance at the beginning of their marriage and I felt that this insight into her insecurities would have made it a richer story and made her a more sympathetic heroine. In fact, I wish the reader would have been introduced to their story in the beginning of the end of their new marriage....when she's desperately trying to be the perfect wife to prove she is worthy of his love and affection, but instead driving her husband away as a result since he believes he is only an instrument, or trophy of her triumphant debut.

    Secrets of Sin is a decadently erotic and sumptuously written love story. It's a fantastic debut by the writing team that comprises the author Chloe Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1