Customer Reviews for

Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successful Surgery

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    A must read book before surgery!

    While this book was written eight years ago, I have found that the basic core information is still valid. Yes, there may be some new injectables and other devices, but the most important thing is understanding the decision-making process, including via the resumes and histories of the doctors and finding out if they are the right match for your needs. I really was never exposed to this concept of what Dr. Kotler calls a ¿super specialist.¿ That makes sense. The world is increasingly complex and this book helps you navigate and better understand this often-complicated specialty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    If Only I'd read `The Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon┬┐ Prior to Surgery

    I wish I¿d read Dr. Kotler¿s book prior to having surgery. If I'd known half the important information in this book, I would have been better informed, researched differently, chosen a more appropriate doctor, and, ultimately, avoided the poor cosmetic surgery I received. Dr. Kotler¿s book describes how to make the necessary choices when considering cosmetic surgery. His book steps the reader through the process of choosing and consulting with a qualified doctor explains common surgical procedures and their distinctions, the viewing of before-and-after photos, and the necessity of computer imaging clarifies how to assess surgical costs covers considerations for operating facility choices, the administration of anesthesia, and the after-care patients should expect as well as treatments for aging skin, FAQs about surgery, and so much more. Additionally, there are accompanying commentaries and before-and-after pictures from actual patients. This is an easy to read book that covers all the fine points of cosmetic surgery. I spent many months researching cosmetic surgery and doctors before choosing a surgeon. Even with my careful study, there is so much that Dr. Kotler¿s book educates the reader on first that I didn¿t discover or fully understand until after undergoing my own surgery. Enhancement of one¿s personal appearance through cosmetic surgery should be a good thing, not a tragedy. The risk of not making an informed choice is too great. And you will not find many doctors who will fully explain their procedures, take the time educate you, answer your questions, or even tell you what questions you should be asking. Dr. Kotler¿s book should be required reading for any one considering cosmetic surgery. It will make you a better-educated consumer and allow you to make the most informed research to choose the right cosmetic surgeon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    I too saw Dr. Kotler's book recently featured on Dr. 90210. I then purchased a copy and have not been able to put it down thus far. I am only about half way through but have learned so much already. I didn't realize how much there is to know when considering cosmetic surgery. Dr. Kotler does a fantastic job in his book of bringing such information to light. I definitely recommend reading this book if you are interested in cosmetic surgery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    I recently saw Dr. Kotler on E! Entertainment's Dr. 90210. I was particulaly impressed with Dr. Kotler and his demeanor and when I saw that he was the author of a new book, I decided to buy a copy. I was particularly taken with the results of the chemical peel Dr. Kotler performed on tv and so I bought the book to learn more about the procedure. The book is an excellent read and the before and after pictures of the chemical peel procedure are absolutely spectacular. The procedure is discussed in depth and after reading the book, I now feel ready to proceed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    Outstanding!!!

    This is a must read for anyone considering cosmetic surgery. It explains everything you need to know and much, much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    A reviewer

    I heard about Dr. Kotler's book on one of the entertainment shows and I was interested because I have been considering getting cosmetic surgery. I enjoyed reading this book and found out many things--I never realized there was so much to cosmetic surgery! The information is an invaluable tool to getting the right cosmetic surgeon and what cosmetic procedures are all about. I have become a 'more aware' consumer thanks to Dr. Kotler's book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    I recenlty purchased Dr. Kotler's book after noticing that it was mentioned several times in several different magazines. I have been looking into cosmetic surgery for the past few months but was a little reluctant since a friend of mine had recently had some work done with a doctor who turned out to not be very qualified. I purchased this book hoping that it would shed some light on selecting a qualified surgeon, knowing that I didn't want to make the same mistake my friend had. Having recently finished reading Dr. Kotler's book, I am relieved to know that I now have the tools to find the best surgeon for the particular procedure I am interested in. I am grateful for the immense information Dr. Kotler shares. Having now read the book , I can't imagine having proceeded without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    In considering cosmetic surgery, one of my greatest fears was not knowing what to expect. This book resolved my fear of not knowing by arming me with valuable step by step knowledge as to what to expect from the very first consultation to months after recovery and all of the fine details in between. I was equipped on how to look for a 'superspecialist' and armed with an artillary of pertinent questions to ask my potential surgeon. All of this was made possible through Dr. Kotler's wonderful, not-to-do-without user friendly publication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    From Schnozz to Nose

    ABOUT THE DOCTOR: I am walking proof that Dr. Robert Kotler knows what he is talking about. I was his patient and presented him with a great challenge... my nose. I love the way my nose looks now, but after reading my medical records and seeing just how bad the interior of my nose was, I realized just how amazing his skill really is. My nose doesn't look like it's been 'fixed'. My nose just looks like a fabulous nose! But you should have seen it before... ABOUT THE BOOK: The insight and education found within the pages is straight forward and very 'layman' friendly. Dr. Kotler gives honest answers to questions most people have, and brings insight to elements people need to consider. If anyone is considering cosmetic surgery of any kind, you need this book. YOU DO NOT WANT TO BARGAIN SHOP in this area. Your body is your 'earth suit' and you wear it every day. And honestly, if you are seriously considering facial cosmetic surgery, I'd make a trip to '90210' and see Dr. Kotler. And while you're there, you can get some great shopping in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    This books quickly engages the eye and the mind, and communicates easily and clearly with people who want all the details, as well as those who just have tie to absorb the main messages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    What I found interesting and very helpful about this book vs. other books I have read is: 1) the doctor I am looking for is called a super-specialist and this book tells me how to find him or her and what questions to ask. I pretty much knew that but this book goes into a lot of detail not offered by any other cosmetic or plastic surgery books. 2) fees are negotiable. This book talks about stand bys. I had never heard of that in any other book or anyone I have spoken to. I am going to try for a stand by. 3) Fellowships. I knew about being board certified but did not realize the importance of a fellowship. 4) the 15 smartest questions to ask your prosepective surgeon. What a great addition in this book! I used all of them and more in my questions I have put together. I started to read this book and liked how easy it was to read, it seemed like Dr. Kotler was sitting right across from me. My fear of having botched surgery has been replaced by knowledge and power to pick the best surgeon who will do right by me and I have the choice in who that will inevitably be. The book was well worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2003

    The Guide to Selecting A Cosmetic Surgeon

    Having recently undergone cosmetic facial surgery (Rhino/Septoplasty) I highly recommend reading Dr. Kotler's book. It should be essential reading for anyone considering cosmetic surgery. This very practical & informative book explains the criteria to consider when selecting a cosmetic surgeon, the various surgical procedures, options, and much more. Dr. Kotler's advice was very valuable & comprehensive & will help you to achieve your cosmetic surgery goals. Thank you Dr. Koetler for sharing the 'inside-info' on cosmetic surgery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    A very practical, helpful book that meets its promises. It made the entire process of selecting the surgeon efficient and practical. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Secrets of a Beverly Hills Cosmetic Surgeon: The Expert's Guide to Safe, Successfully Surgery

    I've had cosmetic surgery and I'm happy with the results. It took me a long time to do the research. I wish I had this book-it would have made the process faster and I would have worried far less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    IT'S GREAT

    As a retired plastic surgical nurse I experienced first hand how various surgeons' offices are run. I can now easily refer this guide to anyone when asked questions on plastic surgery by friends and acquaintances interested cosmetic procedures. In the book, Dr. Kotler carefully examines all aspects of cosmetic surgery, from the purely technical to the highly personal, that may be pertinent to a patient's understanding of the field. The ease of readability and comprehension of the text is valuable, a prospective patient can get all the information that they can possibly need in this book and most importantly understand all of it. Diagrams, Insider tips, patient commentary, and numerous photos will be helpful and illustrative in giving a potential patient an 'office' perspective on the surgery experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    A Cut Above!

    I had been considering having some cosmetic surgery, but was not making a committment, because I was scared about making a mistake. Then I heard about Dr. Kotler's book and decided to buy it to see if I could make a more educated decision. I am really glad I did for two reasons. One, the book was written in a way that I could easily access the sections I wanted to research. I found the information to be comprhensive and yet written on a level that I could easily understand. All of my questions were dealt with and there were a few I hadn't even thought of. It really helped to ease my fears and made my decison to have the surgery much easier. The second reason I am glad I bought the book, was that it encouraged me to find the right doctor...someone I could trust, who had many years of experience and specialized in the area I wanted to improve. From personal experience I can highly recommend Dr. Robert Kotler as an outstanding doctor and a wonderful author. I am definitely a satisfied customer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    No Guess Work

    This is terrific book, even if you¿re not now committed to cosmetic surgery. What is unique is that it seems to take the guess work out of the entire process of selecting a surgeon, which obviously is the most important of the decisions to be made. What I learned is that the world of ¿ cosmetic surgeons¿ is inhabited by a wide range of different specialists; the variation in qualification can be surprising if not scary. I sense that as cosmetic procedures become more popular that even more MDs will enter the field. That will make the doctor- selecting even harder. This book will always be there to help erase the confusion and that is why I believe it is worth having.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Survival Guide for the Nip/Tuck Generation

    Fifteen years ago when I had a minor procedure, I had no clue how to find a qualified, experienced plastic surgeon. Accepting word-of-mouth referrals, I made a big mistake. Now there is no excuse for anyone to pick the wrong surgeron. Dr. Kotler's extraordinarily detailed book addresses all questions with easy to understand explanations, pictures, suggestions. It's really a survival guide for the nip/tuck generation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1