Customer Reviews for

Secrets Of A Gay Marine Porn Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Outstanding Read

    I found this book completely entrancing and compelling. To be a porn star while serving in the Marine Core. WOW! This book is an outstanding read for anyone gay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    CAN'T WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL

    Delicious! Excellent book! Even at 468 pages it could have been about 200 pages longer. Every page was interesting and well written and flowed flawlessly. I can¿t remember when I have gobbled up a book so fast. Rich Merritt goes out on a limb with such courage to expose himself. Growing up a Southern fundamentalist, being a closeted gay Marine, venturing into the porn industry, parties, alcohol, drugs, sex. This book covers it all. This is a man who has lived a daring, dangerous and fascinating life that most people can only imagine. But at the same time many people will relate in some way or another to every frustration, realization, joy and sorrow. In the current political and social climate in the country today it takes a lot of guts for someone to write a book like this. And I¿m glad Rich Merritt did it. I loved every minute of the journey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Excellent story

    I recently purchased this book thinking I might relate to Mr. Merritt in someway. In fact after reading this book there is a little of everyone in it. Many people have experienced some of the trial and tribulations of not being accepted for something that they are, whether for being homosexual or for anything which to society is not acceptable. I highly recommend this book. It certainly shows how the author is touched by many different people and how those people affected his life. Thanks for writing this book I could definitely relate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    INSPIRATIONAL and INSIGHTFUL

    Being a gay man in the south, same area Rich grew up, I can relate to everything he went through. This book has been very inspirational to me to help me understand who I am and where I am going. Through my decernment of self discovery, I have learned that I dont have to hide who I really am.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    A Must Read for every gay person in America

    This is truly an excellent read. Every gay person in America will relate to some portion of the story. For those of us not in the military learning how much our ¿Brothers & Sisters¿ have to endure to keep us ALL free is overwhelming and we must all participate in the fight to lift ¿don¿t ask don¿t tell¿. But we all share the same experiences of the fundamentalist parts of self-discovery and coming out ¿ especially those of us in the South.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    My Review of Secrets

    When I read this book I had no idea the impact it would have on me. Although I could not identify with the military part of Rich Merritt's life I could identify in all areas of his experiences with Bob Jones University. I am the gay son of an independant fundamental Baptist minister and Rich's very well written experiences brought back a flood of memories that I had cleverly tucked away. I found this book to be delightful to read. I know there are plenty of gay men with the same story (at least from the 'Christian' perspective) but finding it in print so eloquently and honestly written has been enthralling and therapeutic. Regardless of what anyone's story is I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    A book that is in high regarded of personal growth.

    A coming of age with God and self. A honest account of a growth of Christian man journey from self loathing to acceptance of self. A book that I could not put down. Read and grow...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    A poignant account of self discovery

    To say I related to this book would be an understatement. At times I had to check the cover to make sure I wasn¿t reading my own Memoir. I never went to a devout catholic school, I never served in the armed forces and as far as I know I have never worked in the porn industry. All this said Rich Merritt shares with his readers the trials and tribulations of life in all three of these difficult and at times excruciatingly harsh worlds. His story is both much needed and long overdue in today¿s society where homosexuals are still not considered completely equal. He touches on so many situations and issues that many of us have gone through and is living proof that there is a light at the end of the long desolate tunnel towards acceptance. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Rich¿s encounters through his innocent and at times devilish eyes. I thank you Rich for writing and sharing your story with both today¿s and future generations. You are truly a pioneer in more communities and social groups then you will ever know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1